Kwok-yin WONG

Vice President (Education)
Chair Professor of Chemical Technology
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Professor Kwok-yin Wong is Vice President (Education), Patrick S.C. Poon Endowed Professor in Applied Chemistry and Chair Professor of Chemical Technology at The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU). He obtained his BSc (Hons) and PhD degrees in Chemistry from The University of Hong Kong in 1981 and 1986 respectively. He was a Postdoctoral Research Fellow at the California Institute of Technology in the United States of America from 1986 to 1987. He joined the Department of Applied Biology and Chemical Technology of the then Hong Kong Polytechnic in 1990 as a Lecturer. He was promoted to Full Professor in 1995 and Chair Professor in 2005. He was a Visiting Professor in the Department of Chemistry of McGill University in 2004-2005. He has served as the Head of Department of Applied Biology and Chemical Technology from 2005 to 2009, the Dean of Faculty of Applied Science and Textiles from 2008 to 2015, and the Associate Vice President (Research Support) from 2016-2020 at PolyU. Professor Wong is also the Director of the State Key Laboratory of Chemical Biology and Drug Discovery at PolyU and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry of the United Kingdom.

Professor Wong's areas of research include electrochemistry, green chemistry, biosensors and antibiotic development. He has published over 240 journal articles in international Science Citation Index journals and is the holder of five international patents. A number of his works have been highlighted in the Chemical & Engineering News and Analytical Chemistry of the American Chemical Society and the Asia Materials of the Nature Publishing Group. He was awarded the Natural Science Award (Second Class) for his work on biosensor development by the Ministry of Education of China in 2013.

Professor Wong is the Vice Chairperson of the Expert Panel on the Designation of Designated Local Research Institution of the Innovation and Technology Commission of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government.