RGC Public Lectures - Developing Hong Kong into a Global FinTech Hub

Two leading scholars have been invited to deliver public lectures organized by the Research Grants Council. Details of the lectures are as follows:

Topic Speaker Time
What technologies are driving FinTech forward
(Please click HERE to view the video)
Prof Yiu Siu Ming
(Professor of the Department of Computer Science of the University of Hong Kong)
2:30 pm - 3:30 pm
Hong Kong as a Smart Global City Prof Shi Wenzhong
(Head and Chair Professor of the Department of Land Surveying and Geo-Informatics of the Hong Kong Polytechnic University)
3:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Venue: Lecture Hall, Hong Kong Science Museum (Location Map)
Language: Cantonese
Admission: Free


First Session

Topic: What technologies are driving FinTech forward
Speaker: Prof Yiu Siu Ming
Date/Time: 10 October 2020 (Saturday) 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm


Brief introduction:

Developing Hong Kong into a global fintech hub is critical to maintaining Hong Kong’s leading position in finance. What exactly is fintech? More importantly, what fintech technologies should Hong Kong develop to make itself stand out in the competition? In his talk titled “What technologies are driving fintech forward?”, Professor Yiu will provide insights to these questions and share with the audience what can be done to nurture high-end fintech professionals and attract young talent (including secondary school leavers) into this area.

About the Speaker:

SM Yiu is currently a Professor in the Department of Computer Science of the University of Hong Kong. He is also the Deputy Director of the recently established HKU-SCF FinTech Academy, the Director of the FinTech and Blockchain Laboratory, and the Associate Director of the Center for Information Security and Cryptography (CISC) of the department. He was selected three times (2016, 2017, 2019) by Clarivate Analytics as one of the highly cited researchers in Computer Science. He is also among the top 1% researchers in the University of Hong Kong for eight consecutive years (2011 – 2019). He was the conference chair/co-chairs of flag-ship international conferences and one of the three representatives from Hong Kong in the steering committee of ASIACRYPT (the flag-ship cryptographic conference in Asia). Besides fundamental research, Prof Yiu also has a start-up company in algo-trading using AI technologies and has been a consultant/advisor for companies in the area of FinTech and cyber security. He is also a devoted teacher and has been selected for the teaching award recipient once from HKU, twice from the Faculty of Engineering and seven times from the department.

 

Second Session

Topic: Hong Kong as a Smart Global City
Speaker: Prof Shi Wenzhong
Date/Time: 10 October 2020 (Saturday) 3:30 pm - 4:30 pm


Brief introduction:

Professor Shi, in his talk titled “Hong Kong as a Smart Global City”, will highlight the territory’s great potential for becoming an international leading innovation centre in urban-informatics, with a comprehensive overview of its existing research strengths related to urban geo-informatics, including GIScience, remote sensing and satellite positioning, artificial intelligence, urban planning, urban policy and geography, as well as urban and regional studies.

Buildings with confirmed COVID-19 cases in the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay AreaBuildings with confirmed COVID-19 cases in the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area 3D model of some buildings in Hong Kong Island and Kowloon3D model of some buildings in Hong Kong Island and Kowloon Order quantity and regional distribution of a Hong Kong freight company within two monthsOrder quantity and regional distribution of a Hong Kong freight company within two months Indoor and outdoor integrated point-to-point 3D navigation (Hong Kong Polytechnic University campus)Indoor and outdoor integrated point-to-point 3D navigation (Hong Kong Polytechnic University campus) Analysis of the distribution distance of buildings within 1200 metersAnalysis of the distribution distance of buildings within 1200 meters

About the Speaker:

Professor Shi is Head of Department of Land Surveying and Geo-Informatics, Otto Poon Charitable Foundation Professor in Urban Informatics, Chair Professor in GISci and remote sensing, Director of Research Institute in Smart Cities, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University. He obtained his doctoral degree from University of Osnabrück in Vechta, Germany in 1994.

Professor Shi’s current research interests are in the areas of urban informatics for Smart Cities, GISci and remote sensing with focusing on analytics and quality control for spatial big data, object extraction and change detection from satellite images and LiDAR data, integrated mobile mapping technology, and 3D and dynamic GISci modelling.

Professor Shi served as President of Commission II for International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (2008-2012), President for Hong Kong Geographic Information System Association (2001-2003). He also serves as an editorial board member for a number of international journals. He has published more than 400 scientific articles (with over 200 SCI papers) and 15 books. He received a number of prestige awards, including an award from International Society of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing and Natural Science Award from the State Council, China.

研究資助局公眾講座 - 發展香港成為全球金融科技樞紐

由研究資助局舉辦之公眾講座邀請了兩位專家學者介紹其研究成果。有關講座的詳情如下:

講題 講者 時間
推動金融科技的發展重要技術
(請點擊這裡觀看影片)
姚兆明教授
(香港大學計算機科學系教授)
下午2:30 - 3:30
發展香港成為環球智慧城市 史文中教授
(香港理工大學土地測量及地理資訊學系系主任及講座教授)
下午3:30 - 4:30

地點:香港科學館演講廳﹝位置圖
語言:粵語
費用:免費入場


第一節講座
講題:推動金融科技的發展重要技術
講者:姚兆明教授
日期/時間:2020年10月10日(星期六)下午2:30 - 3:30


講座簡介:

發展香港成為全球金融科技樞紐是維持香港在金融領域領先地位的關鍵方向。 金融科技到底是什麼? 更重要的是,香港應發展什麼金融科技使香港在這場競爭中脫穎而出?姚兆明教授將以「推動金融科技的發展重要技術」為題,對這些問題提供一些見解,並與觀眾分享如何培養高端金融科技專業人士和吸引年輕人才(包括高中畢業生)進入這一領域。

講者簡介:

姚兆明是香港大學計算機科學系的教授。他亦是最近成立的「香港大學 - 渣打香港150週年慈善基金金融科技學院」的副總監,該部門金融科技和區塊鏈實驗室的主任及信息安全和密碼學中心(CISC)的副主任。他曾三度(2016、2017、2019)被Clarivate Analytics選為全世界計算機科學領域被廣泛引用的研究人員之一。他也是連續九年(2011年至2019年)香港大學排名前1%的研究人員之一。他曾是一些重要旗艦國際會議的會議主席/聯席主席,也是ASIACRYPT (亞太區密碼學旗艦會議指導委員會香港的三位代表之一)。除了基礎研究,姚教授還擁有一家使用人工智能技術進行算法交易的初創公司,並且一直是金融科技和網絡安全領域公司的顧問。他還是一位敬業的老師,曾被香港大學,工程學院(兩次),以及該系(七次)選為教學獎獲得者。

 

第二節講座
講題:發展香港成為環球智慧城市
講者:史文中教授
日期/時間:2020年10月10日(星期六)下午3:30 - 4:30


講座簡介:

史文中教授將以「發展香港成為環球智慧城市」為題,綜合概述本地城市地理信息學相關研究優勢,包括地理信息科學、遙感及衛星定位、人工智能、城市規劃、城市政策及地理、城市及區域研究等,展示香港作為城市信息學國際領先創新中心的巨大潛力。

粵港澳大灣區有COVID-19確診病例記錄的建築物粵港澳大灣區有COVID-19確診病例記錄的建築物 香港島與九龍部分建築物三維模型香港島與九龍部分建築物三維模型 兩個月內香港某貨運公司的訂單數量與區域分佈兩個月內香港某貨運公司的訂單數量與區域分佈 室內外結合的點對點三維導航 (香港理工大學校園)室內外結合的點對點三維導航 (香港理工大學校園) 1200米內建築物分佈距離分析1200米內建築物分佈距離分析

講者簡介:

現為國際歐亞科學院院士、潘樂陶慈善基金城市信息學教授、地理資訊科學與遙感講座教授、香港理工大學智慧城市研究院院長、土地測量及地理資訊學系系主任,武漢大學-香港理工大學空間資訊聯合實驗室主任。曾任國際攝影測量與遙感學會第二專業委員會主席、香港地理資訊學會主席,擔任多個國際學術期刊的編委。

於1994年在德國Osnabrueck大學獲博士學位。是英國皇家測量師學會會士(Fellow)、香港測量師學會會士、教育部“長江學者”講座教授、國家傑出青年科學基金(B類)獲得者、國家測繪地理資訊局“科技領軍人才”。

曾獲國家自然科學獎(二等獎)、測繪科技進步獎(特等獎)、國際攝影測量與遙感學會獎、美國攝影測量與遙感學會獎等。主持國家自然科學基金重點、香港創新技術基金專案等。

主要研究領域包括:城市資訊學與智慧城市、地理資訊科學與遙感、空間大資料智慧分析與品質控制、遙感影像AI變化檢測及目標識別、基於LiDAR和影像資料的移動測圖與三維建模。發表國際學術期刊論文250多篇,其中SCI收錄210多篇,出版著作15部。