Membership of the University Grants Committee and
Co-opted Membership of Sub-Committees/Sub-Groups
(for the Period July 1998 - June 2001)

University Grants Committee
Dr Edgar W K Cheng, JP (until January 1999) Head, Central Policy Unit, The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
Dr Alice Lam, JP (from February 1999) Former Managing Director, Hang Seng Bank, Hong Kong
Mr Victor Cha Mou-zing (from April 1999) Managing Director, HKR Asia Pacific Pte Ltd
Prof Cheng Yin-cheong Professor and Centre Director, The Centre for Research and International Collaboration, The Hong Kong Institute of Education, Hong Kong
Prof Sir Colin Dollery (until March 2000) Professor Emeritus, University of London, UK and Senior Consultant, SmithKline Beecham Pharmaceuticals, UK
Mr Henry H L Fan, JP (until March 1999) Barrister-at-Law; Managing Director of CITIC Pacific Ltd, Hong Kong
Prof Albert R George John F. Carr Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Director, Center for Manufacturing Enterprise, Cornell University, USA
Prof Alan D Gilbert (until July 2000) Vice-Chancellor, The University of Melbourne, Australia
Prof Charles Kao, CBE (from April 1999) Chairman and CEO, ITX Services Ltd, Hong Kong
Dr David Korn (from April 2000) Senior Vice-President for Biomedical and Health Sciences Research, Association of American Medical Colleges, USA
Mr Jacland C L Lai (until March 1999) Headmaster, Diocesan Boys' School, Hong Kong
Dr Eddy Li Sau-hung, BBS (until March 2001) Managing Director, Campell International (Holdings) Ltd
Dr York Liao, JP Executive Director, Varitronix Ltd, Hong Kong
Dr Lo Ka-shui, JP (until November 2000) Deputy Chairman & Managing Director, Great Eagle Holdings Ltd, Hong Kong
Prof Michael M Loy (from April 2001) Dean, School of Science, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong
Prof Lu Yongxiang President, Chinese Academy of Sciences, People's Republic of China
Prof Diana P S Mak (until March 2000) Head, Department of Applied Social Studies,
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
Mrs MAK CHEN Wen-ning (from April 1999) Principal, Queen Elizabeth School Old Students' Association Secondary School, Hong Kong
Prof William F Massy President, The Jackson Hole Higher Education Group; and Professor of Education and Business Administration, National Center for Post-Secondary Improvement at Stanford University, USA
The Lord Oxburgh, KBE, FRS Rector, Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine, London, UK
Dr Steven Poon Kwok-lim, JP (from April 2001) Managing Director, Bright World Enterprise Limited, Hong Kong
Prof Helen F H Siu (until March 2001) Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, Department of Anthropology, Yale University, USA
Prof Brian W Smith, AO (until March 1999) Emeritus Professor and Former Vice-Chancellor, University of Western Sydney, Australia
The Lord Sutherland, FBA, FRSE Principal and Vice-Chancellor, University of Edinburgh, UK
Prof dr Frans A van Vught Rector Magnificus of the University of Twente,
The Netherlands
Mr Peter Wang Kin-chung (until March 2001) President, Tristate Holdings Ltd, Hong Kong
Prof Wee Chow Hou Professor of Business Policy, Faculty of Business Administration, The National University of Singapore, Singapore
Prof Paul Wong (from April 2000) Dean, College of Arts, Sciences & Letters,
University of Michigan, Dearborn, USA
Prof Richard Y C Wong, SBS, JP Director, School of Business,
The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Dr Simon S Wong (from April 2001) Consultant, Applied Science & Technology Research Institute, The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
Dr Vivian Wong Taam Chi-woon, JP (from April 2001) Chief Executive, Queen Mary Hospital, Hong Kong
Dr Anne Wright, CBE Chief Executive, University for Industry, UK
Prof Kenneth Young Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Dean of Graduate School,
The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Co-opted Members
Medical Sub-Committee
Prof Allan M Z Chang
(from September 1998)
Prof Ke-ji Chen
(from October 1998)
Mr Donald Chia, JP
(until August 2000)
Prof W I R Davies
(until November 2000)
Dr Ka-kit Hui
(from April 2001)
Prof Christina W Y Hui-Chan
Prof Nancy Y Ip
(from April 2001)
Prof Lam Wah-kit
Prof Tak H Lee
Prof P C Leung, OBE, JP
Prof Ann E Mackenzie
Prof Sir Keith Peters
(from April 2000)
Prof John Wong
Resource Planning Sub-Committee &
Management Review Steering Group (until December 1999)
Mr Tim Lui, JP
Teacher Education Sub-Committee
Prof Cheng Kai-ming, SBS, JP
Mrs Judy Chua, BBS, JP
(until May 2001)
Prof Gary A Griffin
(from March 1999)
Prof Virginia Richardson
(until August 1998)
TLQPR Review Steering Group (until March 1999)
Prof Joshua Wong
Postgraduate Education Sub-Group (until December 1999)
Prof Christopher B Howe, MBE
Public Relations Sub-Group
Prof Po S Chung, JP
(from June 2001)
Prof C F Ng
(from July 1999)
Go to Top