Home > RGC Public Lectures > 14 July 2018 - RGC Public Lectures - Cancer Therapy: Immunotherapy and Medicine

RGC Public Lectures - Cancer Therapy: Immunotherapy and Medicine

Two leading scholars have been invited to deliver public lectures organized by the Research Grants Council on 14 July 2018 (Saturday). Details of the lectures are as follows:

Topic Speaker Time
Cancer Immunotherapy – An Epic Trilogy of Serendipity, Skepticism and Scientific Breakthrough

Professor Brigette Ma (Professor of the Department of Clinical Oncology of the Chinese University of Hong Kong)

2:30 pm - 3:30 pm

The tumor microenvironment on ovarian cancer progression and the potential target-based therapy

Dr David Chan (Assistant Professor of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology of the University of Hong Kong)

3:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Venue: Lecture Hall, Hong Kong Science Museum (Location Map)
Language: Cantonese
Free admission on a first-come, first-served basis.

For enquires, please contact us at 2524 3987 or rgc@ugc.edu.hk.

First Session

Topic: Cancer Immunotherapy – An Epic Trilogy of Serendipity, Skepticism and Scientific Breakthrough
Speaker: Professor Brigette Ma
Time: 14 July 2018 (Saturday) 2:30pm - 3:30pm


Brief introduction:

Cancer Immunotherapy is to fight cancer with the patience's own immune system, and it has potential to induce long-lasting benefits without intolerable side effects in the human host. The development of cancer immunotherapy has gone through many trials and tribulations since Dr William Coley's serendipitous discovery in the 1890s, and for many years it has been sidelined to the fringes of mainstream oncology. Professor Ma will deliver a talk on "Cancer Immunotherapy – An Epic Trilogy of Serendipity, Skepticism and Scientific Breakthrough" to take the audience through a journey from the view of a cancer doctor to witness the renaissance of cancer immunotherapy in nasopharyngeal and other cancers.


About the Speaker:

Dr Brigette Ma is currently Professor and Honorary Consultant at the Department of Clinical Oncology, The Chinese University of Hong Kong; Honorary Professor, Department of Health Technology and Informatics, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University; Medical Director of the Phase I Clinical Trial Centre (Oncology), The Chinese University of Hong Kong. She received her Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery with Honours at Monash University, Melbourne, Australia, and was awarded Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians (2001), Fellow of Hong Kong College of Physicians (2004), and Doctor of Medicine (2014). She received post-graduate training at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Institute, Melbourne, and the Princess Margaret Hospital, Toronto. She has published extensively on novel systemic therapies in head and neck cancer, colorectal cancer and early phase clinical trials. Notably, she was the Principal Investigator of a multinational clinical trial of an immune checkpoint inhibitor in nasopharyngeal cancer in 2014, a study which was sponsored by the USA National Cancer Institute Cancer Therapy Evaluation Program (NCICTEP, Bethesda). This result of clinical trial has been reported in 2017 offers a new therapeutic option in patients with advanced nasopharyngeal cancer. Sub-studies are supported by Research Grants Council.

Since March 2017, Dr Ma has been a member of the US National Cancer Institute Head and Neck Steering Committee on Clinical Trial Planning for Nasopharyngeal Cancer, where she serves as a co-Chair in the Widely Metastatic Group for the development of new cancer immunotherapy trials. Dr Ma is a Faculty member of European Society of Medical Oncology (ESMO) in Gastrointestinal Cancer, and member of the ESMO Consensus Working Group for the management of metastatic colorectal cancer. She has been a member of the Joint Scientific Committee for Phase 1 Clinical Trials. She has served as Chair/ member of the Scientific/ Organizing committees of local and international conferences, notably, the American Association of Cancer Research, the European Society of Medical Oncology.

 

 

Second Session

Topic: The tumor microenvironment on ovarian cancer progression and the potential target-based therapy
Speaker: Dr David Chan
Time: 14 July 2018 (Saturday) 3:30pm - 4:30pm


Brief introduction:

Ovarian cancer is one of the most lethal gynecologic malignancies worldwide. Different from other solid tumors, ovarian cancer is an intra-abdominal tumor in which the presence of ascites enables metastatic dissemination and correlates with poor prognosis. Malignant ascites provide a key reservoir of growth factors and nutrients to augment ovarian cancer aggressiveness. Dr Chan will give a talk titled "The tumor microenvironment on ovarian cancer progression and the potential target-based therapy" to share how all these factors are being studied to identify new principles leading to novel therapeutic avenues.


About the Speaker:

Dr. David Wai Chan is currently an Assistant Professor of the Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology, LKS Faculty of Medicine, The University of Hong Kong. After receiving his PhD in molecular oncology from Monash University, Australia, he had completed postgraduate training at Peter MacCallum Cancer Institute in Melbourne, and Department of Pathology, the University of Hong Kong. He's particularly interested in blood cancers, liver cancers, childhood bone cancers, breast cancers and gynaecological malignancies. His current research interests include functional characterization of tumor suppressors and oncogenes and delineation of the related cellular signaling pathways which contribute to the tumorigenesis of gynaecological malignancies. He is particularly interested in the impacts of cancer cell metabolism and tumor microenvironment on ovarian cancer metastasis, development and chemoresistance. He has published 52 papers in high impact international journals such as Gastroenterology, EMBO, Clinical Cancer Research, Theranostics, Oncogene, and J Pathol etc. Dr. Chan currently serves on the editorial board of numerous high impact journals e.g. Journal of Ovarian Research, PlosOne, Cancer Medicine and Frontiers of Pharmacology of Anti-Cancer Drugs. He is also a reviewer for a number of international journals.

主页 > 研究资助局公众讲座 > 2018年7月14日 – 研究资助局公众讲座 - 癌症治療:免疫治療与药物

研究资助局公众讲座 - 癌症治療:免疫治療与药物

由研究资助局举办,是次公众讲座订于2018年7月14日(星期六) 举行,并邀请了两位专家学者介绍其研究成果。有关讲座的详情如下:

讲题 讲者 时间
癌症免疫治疗 ─ 史诗式三部曲之偶然、怀疑和科研突破

马碧如教授(香港中文大学臨床肿瘤学系教授)

下午2:30 - 3:30

肿瘤微环境对卵巢癌的进展及其潜在的靶向治疗

陈卫博士(香港大学妇产科学系助理教授)

下午3:30 - 4:30

地点:香港科学馆演讲厅〔位置图
语言:粤语
即场免费入座,座位先到先得

有关查询,请致电2524 3987或电邮至 rgc@ugc.edu.hk 与我们联络。

第一节讲座
讲题:癌症免疫治疗 ─ 史诗式三部曲之偶然、怀疑和科研突破
讲者:马碧如教授
时间:2018年7月14日(星期六) 下午2:30 - 3:30


讲座简介:

癌症免疫治療是以患者的免疫系统对抗癌症,它不会对人体造成难以忍受的副作用,并有潜力发挥长远效益。自廉姆科利医生在1890年代偶然发现癌症免疫治療后,此治疗方法的发展已经歷很多考验及艰难时刻,多年来它被主流癌症治療边缘化。马教授以「癌症免疫治疗 ─ 史诗式三部曲之偶然、怀疑和科研突破」为题,从肿瘤科医生的角度出发,带领听众见证免疫治療在鼻咽癌及其他癌症的復兴。


讲者简介:

马碧如医生现为香港中文大学臨床肿瘤学系教授及荣誉顾问医生;香港理工大学医療科技及资讯学系荣誉教授;香港中文大学一期臨床研究中心医学总监(肿瘤学);她于莫纳什大学医学院(澳大利亚墨尔本)以荣誉毕业,2001年成为皇家澳大利西亚内科肿瘤科与内科内科医学院院士,2004年获香港内科医学院院士及香港中文大学医学博士,她曾在墨尔本彼得麦克卡勒姆癌症中心及多倫多玛嘉烈医院外科肿瘤科接受学士后训練。她的学术文章涵盖头颈癌、大肠癌及早期臨床研究的新治愈性治療。最显著例子,是她于2014年以主研究员身份領导一个有关免疫检查点抑制剂多国鼻咽癌臨床试验,这研究由美国国家癌症研究所癌症治療的评价计划(CTEP)赞助,有关结果已于2017年公布,为鼻咽癌后期患者提出一个新的治療方案,研资局亦有支持相关研究。

马医生自2017年3月出任美国国家癌症研究所鼻咽癌臨床试验计划头颈類指导委员会委员,妑同时兼任新癌症免疫治療臨床试验发展扩散组别的聯合主席。马医生是欧洲肿瘤内科学会胃肠肿瘤委员会成员及欧洲肿瘤内科学会扩散大肠癌治療共識工作组组员,香港中文大学、香港大学及医管局一期臨床试验聯合科学委员会,且出任本地及国际会议科学/组委员成员,包括兩大国际会议 --- 美国癌症研究学会年会及欧洲肿瘤内科学会年会。

 

第二节讲座
讲题:肿瘤微环境对卵巢癌的进展及其潜在的靶向治疗
讲者:陈卫博士
时间:2018年7月14日(星期六) 下午3:30 - 4:30


讲座简介:

卵巢癌是世界最致命的妇科恶性肿瘤之一。与其他肿瘤不同,卵巢癌是一种腹腔内肿瘤,由于腹水的存在,容易引致转移性播散,发展难以预测。恶性腹水提供生长因子和营养,增加卵了巢癌的侵袭性。陈博士会以「肿瘤微环境对卵巢癌的进展及其潜在的靶向治疗」为题,分享研究人员如何透过探索和研究这些因素,开发新的治疗途径。


讲者简介:

陈卫博士现时是助理教授任职于香港大学李嘉诚医学院妇产科学系和癌症研究中心。他毕业于澳大利亚莫纳什大学,曾于澳大利亚Peter MacCallum癌症中心和香港大学李嘉诚医学院病理学系接受博士后培训。他目前的研究兴趣包括肿瘤抑制因子和癌基因的功能特征描述以及有助于妇科恶性肿瘤发生的相关细胞信号通路的描述。他对肿瘤细胞代谢和肿瘤微环境对卵巢癌转移,发展和化疗耐药的影响特别感兴趣。他曾在高影响力的国际期刊上发表了52多篇论文,以及担任众多高影响力期刊的编委。