## **Appendix**

## Task Force on the Review of Research Grants Council (Phase I)

## **Terms of Reference**

- 1. To oversee the implementation of Phase I of the RGC Review;
- 2. To report progress and findings of the study to the Research Group and the UGC; and
- 3. To submit comments and recommendations on findings to the Research Group and the UGC.

## **Membership List**

Convenor	
Professor Rick Rylance	Director, Institute of English Studies, School of Advanced Study,
	University of London, UK
Members	
Professor Jean-Pierre	Honorary Professor,
Bourguignon	The Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques (Bures-sur-Yvette, France),
	Directeur de recherche émérite,
	Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS),
	France
Professor Che Ting Chan	Daniel CK Yu Professor of Science,
	Executive Director of HKUST Jockey,
	Club Institute for Advanced Study,
	The Hong Kong University of Science and
	Technology,
	Hong Kong
Professor Rita Colwell	Distinguished University Professor,
	University of Maryland,
	USA
Professor Dennis Yuk Ming	Associate Dean (Research), Faculty of Medicine,
Lo	Director of the Li Ka Shing Institute of Health
	Sciences, Li Ka Shing Professor of Medicine,
	Professor of Chemical Pathology and
	Associate Director, State Key Laboratory in
	Oncology in South China,
	The Chinese University of Hong Kong,
	Hong Kong

Professor Joshua Ka-ho Mok	Vice-President and Lam Man Tsan Chair Professor of Comparative Policy, Lingnan University, Hong Kong
Professor Mark Wainwright	Immediate Past Vice-Chancellor & President and Honorary Visiting Emeritus Professor, University of New South Wales, Australia
Dr Richard Armour	Secretary-General, University Grants Committee, Hong Kong
<u>Secretary</u> Mr David Leung	Deputy Secretary-General (2), University Grants Committee, Hong Kong