Home > About the UGC > Message from Chairman of UGC

Message from Chairman of UGC

Trudy Banta

The University Grants Committee ("UGC") was established back in 1965 and has emerged to become an important pillar in Hong Kong's higher education sector. I feel privileged and honoured to chair this body of prominence and renowned credibility.

The UGC serves as a buffer between the Government and the educational institutions. It also plays the role of independent professional advisor to the Government on the funding and development of the higher education sector. Whilst the UGC has a duty to protect the academic freedom and institutional autonomy of the educational institutions, as publicly funded organisations, the institutions must also be responsible and accountable to the public.

The "Aspirations for the Higher Education System in Hong Kong" report published by the UGC in December 2010 set out a suggested direction for the future development of the higher education sector. The report makes a number of recommendations which will facilitate UGC-funded universities in their pursuit of excellence in teaching and research for the benefit of Hong Kong, and the UGC will continue to take forward these recommendations in collaboration with the universities and in consultation with the government.

As highlighted in the report, the future of Hong Kong's higher education sector lies in its ability to stay relevant in the process of internationalization and the rapid development of the Mainland China. The UGC firmly believes that internationalization should be one of the central themes of all UGC-funded universities, and will work closely with the Government and the universities in making progress on this important initiative.

I look forward to receiving your steadfast support in our future endeavors.



Carlson TONG, SBS, JP
Chairman, University Grants Committee

主頁 > 關於教資會 > 教資會主席的話

教資會主席的話

Trudy Banta

大學教育資助委員會(教資會)於1965年成立,是香港高等教育界的重要支柱。我深感榮幸能夠擔任此重要且負盛名的機構的主席。

教資會是政府與教育院校之間的橋樑,就高等教育界所需經費及發展事宜,向政府提供獨立專業的意見。教資會有責任保障院校的學術自由及院校自主,與此同時,得到公帑資助的院校亦須向公眾負責及問責。

教資會於2010年12月公布的《展望香港高等教育體系》報告提出了高等教育界未來的發展方向並作出了一系列建議。報告的建議有助教資會資助大學在教與學方面追求卓越,惠及香港的發展。教資會會繼續與大學協作及徵詢政府意見以落實這些建議。

誠如報告所指,香港高等教育界的未來端賴界別能否緊貼國際化以及中國內地急速的發展以保持適當的地位。教資會堅信所有教資會資助大學應視國際化為其主要目標之一,並會與政府和大學緊密合作,以推進在此重要領域的發展。

我期望各界繼續全力支持教資會的工作。



大學教育資助委員會主席
唐家成, SBS, JP