Home > RGC Public Lectures > 9 September 2017 - RGC Public Lectures - Food Safety and Health

RGC Public Lectures - Food Safety and Health

Two leading scholars have been invited to deliver public lectures organized by the Research Grants Council on 9 September 2017 (Saturday). Details of the lectures are as follows:

Topic Speaker Time
Genome Sequence Database for the Identification of Foodborne Pathogens in Hong Kong

Professor Kwan Hoi-shan (Research Professor of the School of Life Sciences at the Chinese University of Hong Kong)

2:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Food Safety and Health: Source and Cause of Foodborne Poisoning

Dr Jennifer Wan Man-fan (Associate Professor of the School of Biological Sciences at the University of Hong Kong)

3:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Venue: Lecture Theatre G/F, Hong Kong Central Library (Location Map)
Language: Cantonese
Free admission on a first-come, first-served basis.

For enquires, please contact us at 2524 3987 or rgc@ugc.edu.hk.

First Session

Topic: Genome Sequence Database for the Identification of Foodborne Pathogens in Hong Kong
Speaker: Professor Kwan Hoi-shan
Time: 9 September 2017 (Saturday) 2:30pm - 3:30pm


Brief introduction:

Foodborne disease is a common public health issue around the world. Genome sequencing of foodborne pathogenic bacteria is the golden standard for foodborne outbreak investigation. Professor Kwan will give a lecture entitled “Genome Sequence Database for the Identification of Foodborne Pathogens in Hong Kong”, to introduce the first genome sequence database (including Salmonella Typhimurium and Vibrio parahaemolyticus) and analytical platform on Hong Kong foodborne pathogens. The platform facilitates the monitoring of trends of foodborne outbreaks and clinical investigations; and has contributed to the resolution of the German Escherichia coli outbreak in 2011.


About the Speaker:

Professor Kwan Hoi Shan has been teaching in The Chinese University of Hong Kong since 1984. He is the director of Food Research Centre (CUHK), professor of School of Life Sciences (CUHK), and honorary professor of the School of Chinese Medicine (CUHK). Professor Kwan was awarded the Bronze Bauhinia Star (BBS) for his meritorious public and community service, particularly his contribution in promoting food safety and quality assurance. He served as the Chairman of the Expert Committee for Food Safety of Food and Environmental Hygiene Department, the Chairman of the Accreditation Advisory Board of Hong Kong Accreditation Service. He is currently a member of the Chinese Medicines Board of Chinese Medicine Council of Hong Kong, Chinese Medicine Development Committee, Committee on Reduction of Salt and Sugar in Food and Scientific Committee on Enteric and Infections and Foodborne Diseases of Centre for Health Protection. His research interests include molecular biotechnology, genetics and genomics of enteric bacteria, edible and medicinal fungi, medicinal plants and marine animals. His funding sources include Department of Health, Industrial Support Fund, Research Grants Council (RGC) Earmarked Grants, The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust, Research Fund for the Control of Infectious Diseases and Research Grants Council (RGC) Central Allocation Vote. He has published over 200 refereed papers and abstracts in international journals and conference.

 

Analytical workflow in an outbreak of a foodborne pathogen

Hong Kong foodborne pathogen genome database and analysis platform

Hong Kong foodborne pathogen genome database and analysis platform

 

Second Session

Topic: Food Safety and Health: Source and Cause of Foodborne Poisoning
Speaker: Dr Jennifer Wan Man-fan
Time: 9 September 2017 (Saturday) 3:30pm - 4:30pm


Brief introduction:

Anyone could be infected by foodborne diseases by consuming contaminated food, which may cause illness, disability and even death. Food poisoning often results from eating food contaminated with toxins. These toxins can be from natural plants, harmful bacteria, viruses, chemicals or industrial contaminants. As such, food safety is essential to good nutrition and health. Dr Wan will deliver a talk on “Food Safety and Health: Source and Cause of Foodborne Poisoning”, to introduce different sources of food-related toxins and to highlight the importance of education in public health nutrition and safe food handling as a key measure for disease prevention.


About the Speaker:

Dr Jennifer Wan is an Associate Professor at the University of Hong Kong. She has over 20 years teaching experience with the Food and Nutritional Science BSc program. Her teaching expertise includes of clinical nutrition, functional food, food toxicology, public health nutrition, and Chinese medicine and medicated diet. Her research interests include dietary lipids and cancer, food toxicology, systems biology and Chinese medicine. Dr Wan obtained her Ph.D. from the University of Southampton, UK, and her Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) medical degree from the TCM University of Beijing. Her postdoctoral training and previous appointments were held at the Harvard Medical School, USA. She has been the chairperson of the Hong Kong Food Science and Technology Association, and presently serves as an advisor for the Hong Kong Nutrition Association and for the Food Safety Expert Panel Committee of the Hong Kong Government of the SAR.

主頁 > 研究資助局公眾講座 >2017年9月9日 – 研究資助局公眾講座 - 食物安全與健康

研究資助局公眾講座 - 食物安全與健康

由研究資助局舉辦,是次公眾講座訂於2017年9月9日(星期六) 舉行,並邀請了兩位專家學者介紹其研究成果。有關講座的詳情如下:

講題 講者 時間
用於香港食源性病原體疫情調查的基因組序列數據庫

關海山教授(香港中文大學生命科學學院研究教授)

下午2:30 - 3:30

食物安全與健康:食物中毒的來源與原因

溫萬芬博士(香港大學生物科學學院副教授)

下午3:30 - 4:30

地點:香港中央圖書館地下演講廳﹝位置圖
語言:粵語
即場免費入座,座位先到先得

有關查詢,請致電2524 3987或電郵至 rgc@ugc.edu.hk 與我們聯絡。

第一節講座
講題:用於香港食源性病原體疫情調查的基因組序列數據庫
講者:關海山教授
時間:2017年9月9日(星期六) 下午2:30 - 3:30


講座簡介:

食源性疾病是一個全球常見的公共衞生問題。食源性致病菌的基因組測序是食源性疾病疫情調查的黃金標準。關海山教授會以「用於香港食源性病原體疫情調查的基因組序列數據庫」為題,介紹香港食源性病原體構建的第一個基因組序列數據庫(當中包括鼠傷寒沙門氏菌和副溶血性弧菌)和分析平台。平台有助監測食源性疾病疫情和臨床調查,亦曾為解決二○一一年德國大腸桿菌疫情作出貢獻。


講者簡介:

關教授自1984年起任教於香港中文大學,現任食品研究中心主任、生命科學學院教授及中醫學院名譽教授。關教授曾擔任食物環境衞生署食物安全專家委員會主席及香港認可處認可諮詢委員會主席;現任香港中醫中藥管理委員會中藥組委員、中醫中藥發展委員會委員、降低食物中鹽和糖委員會委員及衛生防護中心腸道傳染及食物傳播疾病科學委員會成員。關教授熱心參與公共及社會服務,表現傑出,尤其致力促進食物安全和質素保證,貢獻良多,獲頒授銅紫荊星章。 關教授一直致力於分子遺傳及基因組學方面的前沿熱點研究,其興趣主要涵蓋病原細菌、食用及藥用真菌、藥用植物和海洋珍貴動物相關的分子遺傳機制及基因組信息探索。相關課題項目多年來受到各方面的慷慨資助,其中包括研究資助局、創新科技署、裘槎基金會、衛生署、香港賽馬會慈善信託基金和控制傳染病研究基金等。關教授的學術研究成果豐碩,在國際期刊和會議上發表過超過200篇學術論文,涵蓋蕈菌、微生物學、分子生物技術及中藥等方面的研究。

食源性病原體疫情調查的分析工作流程

香港食源性病原體基因組序列數據庫和分析平臺

十個鼠傷寒沙門氏菌本地分離株的基因組比較

 

第二節講座
講題:食物安全與健康:食物中毒的來源與原因
講者:溫萬芬博士
時間:2017年9月9日日(星期六) 下午3:30 - 4:30


講座簡介:

任何人都有機會因進食受污染的食物而感染食源性疾病,而導致疾病、殘疾甚至死亡。食物中毒通常源於攝入受毒素污染的食物,這些毒素可能來自天然植物、有害細菌、病毒、化學物質或工業污染物等。因此,食物安全對於維持良好的營養和健康至關重要。溫萬芬博士會以「食物安全與健康:食物中毒的來源與原因」為題,介紹不同來源的食物毒素,並強調教育作為一個預防疾病的關鍵措施在公共衞生營養和食物的安全處理方面的重要性。


講者簡介:

溫萬芬博士是香港大學生物科學學院的副教授。她在食品和營養科學理學學士課程方面有超過20 年的教學經驗。她的教學專長包括臨床營養,功能食品,食品毒理學,公共衛生營養,中醫藥和藥物飲食。她的研究興趣包括膳食脂質與癌症的關係,食物毒理學,系統生物學和中醫藥。溫博士先後取得了英國南安普敦大學的博士學位及北京中醫藥大學中醫學院醫學的學士學位。她曾在哈佛大學醫學院完成博士後培訓以及進行研究工作。她曾擔任香港食品科學與技術協會主席,現任香港營養學會顧問和香港特區食物安全專家委員會委員。