Home > About the RGC > RGC Public Lectures > 18 December 2016 - RGC Public Lectures - Belt and Road

RGC Public Lectures - Cyber Security

Two leading scholars have been invited to deliver public lectures on Cyber Security organized by the Research Grants Council on 7 May 2017 (Sunday). Details of the lectures are as follows:

Topic Speaker Time
Cyber Security issues in Internet of Things

Dr Lucas Chi-Kwong Hui (Associate Professor of the Department of Computer Science, The University of Hong Kong)

2:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Beware of Your Location Privacy and Integrity in Social Networks

Dr Haibo Hu (Assistant Professor of the Department of Electronic and Information Engineering, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University)

3:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Venue: Lecture Hall, Hong Kong Science Museum (Location Map)
Language: Cantonese
Free admission on a first-come, first-served basis.

For enquires, please contact us at 2524 3987 or rgc@ugc.edu.hk.

First Session

Topic: Cyber Security issues in Internet of Things
Speaker: Dr Lucas Chi Kwong Hui
Time: 7 May 2017 (Sunday) 2:30pm - 3:30pm


Brief introduction:

In the foreseeable future, the Internet of Things (IoT) devices will be put in wider use. Huge amount of data will be generated, stored and transmitted in the process. Security breaches in the IoT will pose a significant problem. The speaker will deliver a talk to raise public awareness. He will use examples to illustrate the security problems and potential solutions related to the IoT.


About the Speaker:

Dr Lucas Chi Kwong Hui is the founder and Honorary Director of the Center for Information Security and Cryptography (CISC) and concurrently an Associate Professor of the Department of Computer Science at The University of Hong Kong. Dr. Hui received his BSc and MPhil degrees in computer science from The University of Hong Kong and his MSc and PhD degrees in computer science from the University of California, Davis. Besides actively publishing more than one hundred internationally referred research papers, he is also involved in consultation work in security systems and in industrial collaboration projects. Dr. Hui's research interests include different areas in information security, including authentication services, network security, mobile network security, smart grid security, security system design involving hardware and software, computer forensics, cryptography and electronic commerce. He is steering committee member of AsiaCrypt, organized many international conferences (ICS 2014, ProvSec 2014, ICICS 2012, AsiaCCS 2011, etc) and has been program committee of many international conferences.

 

Second Session

Topic: Beware of Your Location Privacy and Integrity in Social Networks
Speaker: Dr Haibo Hu
Time: 7 May 2017 (Sunday) 3:30pm - 4:30pm


Brief introduction:

Location-based services have a growing necessity against location cheating by ensuring location trustworthiness. Some online businesses and emergency services require verification of users’ geographic location. Such a requirement generates a new problem named “spatio-temporal attestation”. The speaker will give a talk to introduce novel solutions to “spatio-temporal attestation” while retaining location privacy.


About the Speaker:

Dr Haibo Hu is an Assistant Professor of the Department of Electronic and Information Engineering at The Hong Kong Polytechnic University and Deputy Programme Leader of BSc (Hons) in Information Security. As Principal Investigator, he has received over 6 million HK dollars of external research grants from Hong Kong RGC, ITC, and National Natural Science Foundation of China. He has published over 60 research papers in refereed journals, international conferences, and book chapters, including ACM SIGMOD, TODS, IEEE TKDE, TPDS, ICDE, VLDB. He has been awarded 3 US patents and 1 pending patent on security and privacy.

 

Location is key to your daily life

主頁 > 關於研資局 > 研究資助局公眾講座 > 2016年12月18日 – 研究資助局公眾講座 - 一帶一路

研究資助局公眾講座 - 網絡安全

由研究資助局舉辦,是次公眾講座訂於2017年5月7日(星期日) 舉行,並邀請了兩位專家學者介紹其研究成果。有關講座的詳情如下:

講題 講者 時間
物聯網的網上安全問題

許志光博士(香港大學計算機科學系副教授)

下午2:30 - 3:30

社交網絡中的位置驗證與私隱

胡海波博士(香港理工大學電子及資訊工程學系助理教授)

下午3:30 - 4:30

地點:香港科學館演講廳﹝位置圖
語言:粵語
即場免費入座,座位先到先得

有關查詢,請致電2524 3987或電郵至 [email protected] 與我們聯絡。

第一節講座
講題:物聯網的網上安全問題
講者:許志光博士
時間:2017年5月7日(星期日) 下午2:30 - 3:30


講座簡介:

在可見的未來,物聯網設備將被更廣泛使用,過程中會產生、儲存及輸送大量資料,因此物聯網的安全漏洞將會是個重要問題。講者藉此講座以提高市民的認知,並引用例子說明物聯網的安全問題和解決方法。


講者簡介:

許志光博士是香港大學計算機科學系副教授,香港大學信息安全與密碼學中心的創始人和名譽主任。他在香港大學計算機科學系獲學士和碩士學位,在加州大學戴維斯分校獲博士學位。主要研究方向:信息安全,認証服務,網絡安全,加密及電子商貿。近年來在國際上發表了一百多篇論文,並與產業界合作完成了多個項目。多次任信息安全領域應用研究項目的首席調查員,多次組織國際學術會議 (ICS 2014, ProvSec 2014, ICICS 2012,AsiaCCS 2011, 等),並擔任程序委員會委員。

 

第二節講座
講題:社交網絡中的位置驗證與私隱
講者:胡海波博士
時間:2017年5月7日(星期日) 下午3:30 - 4:30


講座簡介:

適地性服務能驗證用戶的地理位置,以防範位置欺騙,其必要性與日俱增。部分網上商店和緊急服務均要求使用者驗證其地理位置,由此衍生出一個名為「時空證言」的新問題。講者將介紹在應對「時空證言」的同時,能如何保護用戶地理位置私隱的新方案。


講者簡介:

胡海波博士現為香港理工大學電子及資訊工程學系助理教授,資訊安全課程副主任。作為項目負責人主持了多項國家自然科學基金、香港研究資助局及香港創新科技署創新及科技基金的研究項目,總金額超過港幣600萬。在國際數據管理領域頂級會議和期刊,包括ACM SIGMOD, TODS, IEEE TKDE, TPDS, ICDE, VLDB等發表60余篇學術論文及專著章節,其中以第一作者身份發表20余篇。擁有3項美國專利及1項在批申請。

位置在數碼時代中的重要意義