Home > About the RGC > RGC Public Lectures > 18 December 2016 - RGC Public Lectures - Belt and Road

RGC Public Lectures - Belt and Road

Two leading scholars have been invited to deliver public lectures on Belt and Road organized by the Research Grants Council with the Hong Kong Central Library on 18 December 2016 (Sunday). Details of the lectures are as follows:

Topic Speaker Time
The Belt and Road Initiative and Free Trade

Mr Kelvin Kwok (Assistant Professor, Faculty of Law, The University of Hong Kong)

2:30 pm - 3:30 pm

The Belt and Road Initiative: Viewing Through the Prism of New Economic Geography Theory

Professor Xiangdong Wei (Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences and Professor, Department of Economics, Lingnan University)

3:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Venue: Lecture Theatre G/F, Hong Kong Central Library (Location Map)
Language: Cantonese
Free admission on a first-come, first-served basis.

For enquires, please contact us at 2524 3987 or rgc@ugc.edu.hk.

First Session

Topic: The Belt and Road Initiative and Free Trade
Speaker: Mr Kelvin Kwok
Time: 18 December 2016 (Sunday) 2:30pm - 3:30pm


Brief introduction:

The lecture will focus on one of the co-operation priorities under the Belt and Road Initiative, namely the promotion of "unimpeded trade" between China and other Belt and Road countries. The speaker will explore the importance of the Belt and Road Initiative to China's economic development, in terms of providing new export destinations and access to low-cost supplies and labour for Chinese manufacturers. The speaker will then further explore the legal and economic issues pertaining to trade liberalisation and antitrust enforcement, how they relate to the implementation of the "unimpeded trade" objective of the Belt and Road Initiative, and the strategic considerations for China in dealing with other Belt and Road countries.


About the Speaker:

Mr Kelvin Kwok is an Assistant Professor of Law at The University of Hong Kong and a practising barrister at Des Voeux Chambers. He specialises in competition law in both academia and practice. Academically, he teaches competition law and publishes internationally on the subject. He has practical experience handling competition law matters involving dispute resolution, exclusion/exemption-related applications, and advisory work. He regularly gives CPD talks and accepts media interviews on competition law. He serves on the Bar Association's Special Committee on Competition Law, the Consumer Council's Competition Policy Committee, and the Hong Kong Competition Association's Executive Committee, and as a Non-Governmental Advisor to the International Competition Network.

 

Second Session

Topic: The Belt and Road Initiative: Viewing Through the Prism of New Economic Geography Theory
Speaker: Professor Xiangdong Wei
Time: 18 December 2016 (Sunday) 3:30pm - 4:30pm


Brief introduction:

China's Belt and Road Initiative has attracted a lot of attention around the world. Many critics comment that this is more a political than an economic endeavor of China to counteract American's "Pivot to Asia" strategy or "Trans-Pacific Partnership" free trade agreement, which are viewed to contain the rising power of China both politically and economically. Others also raise the question about that true purpose of this initiative: whether it is mainly used by China to dump its labour-intensive pollution prone manufacturing industries to other developing countries and to help digest the serious over-capacity of China's industrial sector. So far, few attempts have been made to use economic theories to analyze its potential economic benefits to China and the world economy properly. The speaker will intend to use the "new Economic Geography" theory --- a theory that has been developed only 25 years ago and starts to attract more and more attention from the main-stream economists in the recent years to explain what this initiative can do to foster the development of the world economy and help reduce income gaps between rich and poor. The analysis shows that unlike the previous globalization movement that has made the world economic activities more concentrated in a few mega economic powerhouses in the developed and emerging economies, this initiative helps to decentralize economic activities and hence reduce income gaps across different regions in the world due to its paramount emphasis on building a better connected world through infrastructure investment and reducing trade and cultural barriers.


About the Speaker:

Professor Xiangdong Wei is currently the Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences in Lingnan University (LU) and Professor of the Department of Economics. He is also the Director for the Pan Sutong Shanghai-Hong Kong Economic Policy Research Centre and China Economic Research Programme in LU. His main research interests lie in economic development and labour market, in particular in the area of education and human capital investment. He and his colleagues in the above mentioned research Centre/Programme are now also engaging in research on China's belt-and-road initiative.

 

Professor Xiangdong Wei attended a major forum on belt-and-road in Poland in summer 2016

主頁 > 關於研資局 > 研究資助局公眾講座 > 2016年12月18日 – 研究資助局公眾講座 - 一帶一路

研究資助局公眾講座 - 一帶一路

由研究資助局與香港中央圖書館合辦,是次公眾講座訂於2016年12月18日(星期日) 下午舉行,並邀請了兩位學者介紹其研究成果。有關講座的詳情如下:

講題 講者 時間
一帶一路與自由貿易

郭曉暉先生(香港大學法律學院助理教授)

下午2:30 - 3:30

用新經濟地理學理論的菱鏡來透視「一帶一路」倡議

魏向東教授(嶺南大學社會科學院院長暨經濟學系教授

下午3:30 - 4:30

地點:香港中央圖書館地下演講廳﹝位置圖
語言:粵語
即場免費入座,座位先到先得

有關查詢,請致電2524 3987或電郵至 rgc@ugc.edu.hk 與我們聯絡。

第一節講座
講題:一帶一路與自由貿易
講者:郭曉暉先生
時間:2016年12月18日(星期日) 下午2:30 - 3:30


講座簡介:

一帶一路其中一個合作優先方向是促進中國與一帶一路沿線國家之間貿易暢通。講者將探討一帶一路對中國經濟發展的重要性、有關貿易自由化和反壟斷執法的法律和經濟問題,及中國在處理與一帶一路國家貿易關係的策略。


講者簡介:

郭曉暉先生是香港大學法學助理教授,亦是德輔大律師事務所(香港)的執業大律師。他專門研究競爭法。在學術上,他教授競爭法,並在國際間刊登有關論文。他在處理與競爭法有關的法律事宜方面具豐富經驗,包括解決糾紛、申請豁除及豁免,及提供相關法律意見。他經常進行演講,並接受媒體訪問。他亦服務於大律師公會的競爭法委員會、消委會競爭政策研究小組及香港競爭事務協會執行委員會,並獲委任為國際競爭網絡的一個非政府顧問。

 

第二節講座
講題:用新經濟地理學理論的菱鏡來透視「一帶一路」倡議
講者:魏向東教授
時間:2016年12月18日(星期日) 下午3:30 - 4:30


講座簡介:

中國的「一帶一路」倡議得到了全球的關注。很多評論認為這更像是中國抗衡美國「回歸亞太」和「跨太平洋戰略經濟夥伴關係協議」— 兩者被認為是美國試圖在政治及經濟上抑制中國掘起的政治而不是經濟策略。其他評論也提出質疑其主要目的是用於中國將其勞工密集型和容易造成污染的企業輸出去其它發展中國家和消化國內過剩產能。目前為止,鮮有人用經濟學的理論來很好的分析它對中國及世界經濟的潛在利益。講者將會嘗試用近25年才發展起來,並愈來愈獲得主流經濟學家注意的「新經濟地理理論」,來分析該倡議如何能促進世界經濟發展和幫助縮小貧富差距。講者的研究發現:和之前的全球化運動導致世界經濟愈來愈集中在幾個發達和新興的超級經濟體不同,這個倡議因為著重通過基建投資和降低貿易壁壘來實現互通而更有益於分散經濟活動,從而減低全球不同地區的收入不均。


講者簡介:

魏向東教授現為嶺南大學社會科學院院長和經濟學系教授,同時也是嶺南大學潘蘇通上海香港經濟政策研究中心和中國經濟研究部主任。他的主要研究領域是經濟發展和勞工市場,尤其是在教育和人力資本投資方面。他和他的同事現在也在從事有關中國的一帶一路倡議的研究。

魏向東教授應邀出席在華沙舉辦的絲路國際論壇