Home > RGC Public Lectures > 25 September 2016 - RGC Public Lectures - Life Quality of Elders

RGC Public Lectures - Life Quality of Elders

Two leading scholars have been invited to deliver public lectures on Life Quality of Elders organized by the Research Grants Council with the Hong Kong Central Library on 25 September 2016 (Sunday). Details of the lectures are as follows:

Topic Speaker Time
Life Stories of Wise Elders: Lived Elderly Wisdom in the Hong Kong Chinese Context

Dr Esther Oi Wah Chow (Associate Professor, Department of Applied Social Sciences, City University of Hong Kong)

2:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Neuroprotective Traditional Chinese Medicine Relieve the Progression of Parkinson's Disease

Professor Min Li (Professor, School of Chinese Medicine, Hong Kong Baptist University)

3:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Venue: Lecture Theatre G/F, Hong Kong Central Library (Location Map)
Language: Cantonese
Free admission on a first-come, first-served basis.

For enquires, please contact us at 2524 3987 or rgc@ugc.edu.hk.

First Session

Topic: Life Stories of Wise Elders: Lived Elderly Wisdom in the Hong Kong Chinese Context
Speaker: Dr Esther Oi Wah Chow
Time: 25 September 2016 (Sunday) 2:30pm - 3:30pm


Brief introduction:

Consistent with the lifespan perspective, individuals create unique life stories capturing their authentic identity. They continue to tell and revise their remembered past as they age. The objective of this presentation is to demonstrate how individual trajectories of psychological well-being can be understood in life context: individuals' life stories reveal how they are both constructed and being re-constructed of developmental forces over time. In-depth interviews were conducted to tap into the wisdom-related experiences of 16 participants, who were nominated as wise elders based on the findings of an exploratory study of conceptions of elderly wisdom. Three main themes were identified: values and life philosophies, pragmatics of life and individual attributes. Critical life experience and reflection were keys for elders to attain life wisdom in creating positive well-being across adulthood. Characteristics of individuals' life stories, such as, degree of coherence, level of integration, and meaning-making, have implications for well-being.


About the Speaker:

Dr Esther Chow is CADENZA fellow, an associate professor and the Programme Leader of Bachelor of Social Sciences (Social Work), City University of Hong Kong. She is a registered social worker and a social work educator with extensive clinical and research experiences in social gerontological practice. After receiving her master and doctoral degree from University of Hong Kong, she has recently completed a postgraduate diploma and a master degree in Narrative therapy and community work from the University of Melbourne and Dulwich Centre, Australia in narrative practice. She has collaborated with not-for-profit organizations to conduct knowledge transfer activities on evidence-based practice. Her current research interests include narrative practice, life adversities and wisdom, self-help and mutual-aid, spirituality and recovery, resilience and culture.

 

Tree of Life

Forrest of Life (1)

Group members were talking about their tree of life during sessions

Forrest of Life (2)

 

Second Session

Topic: Neuroprotective Traditional Chinese Medicine Relieve the Progression of Parkinson's Disease
Speaker: Professor Min Li
Time: 25 September 2016 (Sunday) 3:30pm - 4:30pm


Brief introduction:

Parkinson's disease (PD) is a common neurodegenerative disease in the elderly with the mean onset age around 60 to 70. Intense loss of dopaminergic neurons in the substantia nigra pars compacta is the main pathological feature of PD. The prevalence of PD in China is the top of the world, and it is estimated that more than 6.5 million people will suffer from PD in 2030. The prevalence of PD among aged ≧65 is about 1-2% in Hong Kong. Although there is no disease called PD in traditional Chinese medicine (TCM), there are plenty of herbal formulas or relieving methods focusing on the PD-like symptoms, such as resting tremor, rigidity, bradykinesia and loss of postural reflexes. PD is considered as a combination of -deficiency of origin- and -excess of superficiality- based on TCM theory. TCM plays important roles in relieving the side effect of western medicine as well as slowing down the progression of PD by TCM clinical practice holistically (i.e. syndrome differential treatment principle 辨證論治). Currently, lots of basic and clinical research studies have suggested that TCM and its active components could promote the clearance of neurotoxic protein aggregates by inducing autophagy which protects dopamine neurons in PD. The speaker will introduce her group-s latest research findings on the neuroprotection of TCM for treating PD.


About the Speaker:

Professor Min Li is a Chinese medicine expert and the director of Teaching and Research Division in the School of Chinese Medicine, Hong Kong Baptist University. She obtained a bachelor's degree from Henan University of Chinese Medicine in 1985, a master's degree from Guangzhou University of Chinese Medicine in 1988 in China, and a PhD degree from School of Medicine, Tokai University in 2001 in Japan. Currently, Prof. Li is also a director of Mr. & Mrs. Ko Chi-Ming Centre for Parkinson's Disease Research and an associate director of Clinical Division in the School of Chinese Medicine, Hong Kong Baptist University. Prof. Li was awarded as the distinguished female Chinese medicine practitioner by the China Association of Chinese medicine in 2007. Prof. Li-s research is focus on the investigation of the neuroprotective effects and molecular mechanisms of Chinese medicine on the neurodegenerative diseases including Parkinson's disease (PD) and Alzheimer's disease (AD), clinical study of the efficacy and safety of Chinese medicine in treatment of PD and AD, as well as on the discovery of natural autophagy inducers for neurodegenerative diseases from Chinese medicine. Prof. Li has been the Editor-in-Chief and member of the editorial board of 20 professional books; she has also published over 100 scientific papers, over 130 posters or oral presentations in the international conferences and obtained several US patents.

 

Corynoxine B (Cory B) from Chinese Medicine Gouteng induced Autophagy in Neuronal Cells

Cory B promoted degradation of pathogenic α-syn species via inducing autophagy

Molecular mechanism of Cory B, mTOR-independent but Beclin-1-dependent manner

Cory B promotes Beclin 1-HMGB1 interaction

主頁 > 研究資助局公眾講座 >2016年9月25日 – 研究資助局公眾講座 - 長者生活質素

研究資助局公眾講座 - 長者生活質素

由研究資助局與香港中央圖書館合辦,是次公眾講座訂於2016年9月25日(星期日) 下午舉行,並邀請了兩位學者介紹其研究成果。有關講座的詳情如下:

講題 講者 時間
睿智長者生命故事:在香港環境下的長者生命智慧

周愛華博士(香港城市大學應用社會科學系副教授)

下午2:30 - 3:30

中醫藥的神經保護作用可延緩老年性神經退行性疾病柏金遜症的退化過程

李敏教授(香港浸會大學中醫藥學院教授)

下午3:30 - 4:30

地點:香港中央圖書館地下演講廳﹝位置圖
語言:粵語
即場免費入座,座位先到先得

有關查詢,請致電2524 3987或電郵至 rgc@ugc.edu.hk 與我們聯絡。

第一節講座
講題:睿智長者生命故事:在香港環境下的長者生命智慧
講者:周愛華博士
時間:2016年9月25日(星期日) 下午2:30 - 3:30


講座簡介:

每個人都會從自己的生命視角,創造出獨特的生命故事。隨著年齡的增長,他們會不斷反思及修正自己記憶中的過往。本講座的目的是展示如何從生命角度去瞭解個人的心理健康軌跡。個人生命故事可以揭示,隨著時間推移是如何在成長的各種壓力下得到建構及重建。在深層訪問當中,16位較早前在長者智慧概念計劃中被選為「睿智長者」的受訪者再次接受訪問,其有關生命智慧的經驗得以記錄下來。訪問結果顯示了三個主題:價值及生命哲學、生命的務實性,以及個人的特性。關鍵的生活經驗和反思對於長者在人生過程中創造出正面心理健康的智慧至關重要。個人故事中的特質,如連貫性,整合度,意義建構等,均對健康有所影響。


講者簡介:

周愛華博士現為流金頌學人,香港城市大學應用社會科學系副教授,社會工作學科之課程主任。她是註冊社會工作者及社會工作教育學者,於長期病患者及其照顧者之康復工作方面有超過20年的臨床及研究經驗。周博士早年獲得香港大學之社會工作學碩士及博士學位,近年並獲南澳洲阿得雷得德維治中心 (Dulwich Centre, Adelaide, South Australia) 及墨爾本大學 (University of Melbourne) 頒授「敘事療法」之國際專業文憑及碩士學位。周博士致力與非牟利機構合作,以「實證為本」方法研究服務成效。近期研究主題包括敘事療法之應用、自助及互助概念之實踐、人生智慧、社會支持與應變能力、抗逆力及靈性介入等。

生命樹

生命樹樹林 (一)

在小組當中,組員們正在分享他們的生命樹

生命樹樹林 (二)

 

第二節講座
講題:中醫藥的神經保護作用可延緩老年性神經退行性疾病柏金遜症的退化過程
講者:李敏教授
時間:2016年9月25日(星期日) 下午3:30 - 4:30


講座簡介:

柏金遜症(Parkinson's disease)的平均病發年齡在60至70歲之間,是一種較為常見的老年性神經系統退化性疾病。中國柏金遜症發病率位居全世界之首,預計2030年將有多達650萬以上的柏金遜症患者。據統計,在香港65歲以上人口大約則平均每100人就有1名柏金遜症患者。柏金遜症的病理改變是以中腦基底神經節中的黑質細胞退化、紋狀體多巴胺神經顯著減少為特點。中醫雖無「柏金遜症」之病名,但自古以來對於以震顫、運動徐緩、肌肉僵硬、姿勢障礙為主要臨床症狀的病證有獨特的臨床治療經驗,認為該病屬於本虛標實之證,運用中醫辨證論治的個體化治療方藥,臨床上在延緩柏金遜症的退化過程和減少西藥的副作用發揮了重要作用,而且大量的實驗和臨床研究也證明了中藥及其有效成分在清除神經毒性蛋白和保護多巴胺神經元等方面發揮重要作用。講者將會介紹中醫治療柏金遜症的臨床經驗和中藥保護多巴胺神經元的最新研究成果。


講者簡介:

李敏教授,醫學博士。為中醫內科學、中藥藥理學、中醫藥治療老年性腦神經退行性疾病專家。目前擔任香港浸會大學中醫藥學院教學科研部主任、中醫課程主任、臨床部副主任和高智明伉儷柏金遜症研究中心主任。李教授1985年獲得中醫學學士學位,1988年獲得中醫學碩士學位,2001年獲得西醫學博士學位。李教授於中國內地、日本和香港從事中醫臨床、教學和研究工作30年,先後從師受教於著名中醫專家鄧鐵濤教授、熊繼柏教授。2007年獲得由中國中醫藥學會頒發的「全國首屆傑出女中醫師」稱號,2013年獲得香港浸會大學優秀教師獎。李教授目前主要從事神經系統退行性疾病包括柏金遜症和阿氏海默症的中醫臨床治療與研究工作,課題組先後開展了中藥複方治療柏金遜症、阿氏海默症的隨機對照雙盲的臨床研究,從天然藥物中篩選小分子天然自噬誘導劑治療神經退行性疾病的分子機制研究及治療老年神經退行性疾病的中藥新藥研發工作。

中藥鉤藤的活性化合物Cory B誘導神經細胞自噬

Cory B 通過誘導自噬促進病理性α-syn蛋白的降解

Cory B的分子作用機制,Cory B的分子作用通路是不依賴於mTOR而依賴於Beclin-1

Cory B 促進Beclin 1-HMGB1 的相互作用