Home > RGC Public Lectures > 5 December 2015 - RGC Public Lectures - Social Mobility and Youth Advancement in Hong Kong Society

RGC Public Lectures - Social Mobility and Youth Advancement in Hong Kong Society

Two leading scholars have been invited to deliver public lectures on Social Mobility and Youth Advancement in Hong Kong Society organized by the Research Grants Council with the Hong Kong Central Library on 5 December 2015 (Saturday). Details of the lectures are as follows:

Topic Speaker Time
Identities of Youth in Hong Kong: Values, Well-being and Views

Professor Chui Wing Hong (Professor, Department of Applied Social Sciences, City University of Hong Kong)

2:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Educational Experiences, Spiritual Health and Life Satisfaction of Hong Kong Secondary Students with Diverse Cultural Backgrounds

Dr Celeste Yuen Yuet Mui (Associate Professor and Associate Head, Department of Education Policy and Leadership, Hong Kong Institute of Education)

3:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Venue: Lecture Theatre G/F, Hong Kong Central Library (Location Map)
Language: Cantonese
Free admission on a first-come, first-served basis.

For enquires, please contact us at 2524 3987 or rgc@ugc.edu.hk.

First Session

Topic: Identities of Youth in Hong Kong: Values, Well-being and Views
Speakers: Professor Chui Wing Hong
Time: 5 December 2015 (Saturday) 2:30pm - 3:30pm


Brief introduction:

Evident in recent incidents, particularly over the year, there is a pressing need to understand the thinking of youths in terms of their views on social mobility and advancement in Hong Kong. Responding to the void, using a sample of tertiary-educated post-90s younger adult cohorts, this study attempts to conceptualize their identity formation, cherished values, sense of well-being, and views within a framework that elucidates their lifeworlds in Hong Kong's sea of changing landscapes and developments.


About the Speaker:

Professor Chui Wing Hong is Professor in the Department of Applied Social Sciences at City University of Hong Kong. He was a former outreach social worker who worked with at-risk and delinquent youth in Hong Kong before completing his master's and doctoral degree in the University of Cambridge. His research interests lie in youth studies, delinquency, and criminology.

 

Youth Voice

Long and Winding Road

Youth in Decision-making

 

Second Session

Topic: Educational Experiences, Spiritual Health and Life Satisfaction of Hong Kong Secondary Students with Diverse Cultural Backgrounds
Speaker: Dr Celeste Yuen Yuet Mui
Time: 5 December 2015 (Saturday) 3:30pm - 4:30pm


Brief introduction:

Due to the long standing examination-oriented school culture and the neglect of personal spiritual health, our findings show that Hong Kong mainstream Chinese secondary students have relatively low levels of life satisfaction, a lack of sense of purpose in life and disconnected relationships when compared with their South Asian peers. This lecture discusses how educators, policy makers, parents, spiritual educators and students should collaborate to ensure their curriculum is responsive and relevant to the real needs of the youths.


About the Speaker:

Dr Celeste Yuen Yuet Mui is Associate Professor and Associate Head in the Department of Education Policy and Leadership, the Hong Kong Institute of Education. She began her career as a teacher and had served as a manager and supervisor in both primary and secondary schools for many years. She was a visiting scholar at the UCL-Institute of Education, England and Guangzhou Teacher Institute, China. She lectures in effective educational leadership, diversity, special education and intercultural sensitivity. She has authored and coordinated related courses. Her research areas include curriculum, citizenship, subjective well-being, spiritual health and student engagement with school and civil society. She earned her doctorate from the Institute of Education, University of London and has been actively engaged in researching Chinese immigrant and South Asian minority education and policy in Hong Kong. She has led more than 18 research projects funded by the Education Bureau (Hong Kong), HSBC, Oxfam Hong Kong, the Research Grants Council of Hong Kong and the Hong Kong Institute of Education. Her research findings have attracted much media attention and contributed to public policy debates.

 

Holding press conference to disseminate the project findings with media

Promoting social integration of cultural diversity in Hong Kong organized by the HK Outstanding Students' Association

A Taste of University Life: An experience learning for project students

主頁 > 研究資助局公眾講座 >2015年12月5日 – 香港的社會流動性與青年發展

香港的社會流動性與青年發展

由研究資助局與香港中央圖書館合辦,是次公眾講座訂於2015年12月5日(星期六) 下午舉行,並邀請了兩位專家學者介紹其研究成果。有關講座的詳情如下:

講題 講者 時間
香港青少年的自我身份認同:價值觀、對生活的滿足感及看法

崔永康教授(香港城市大學應用社會科學系教授)

下午2:30 - 3:30

香港不同中學生群體的教育經驗、心靈健康與個人整體生活滿足感

袁月梅博士(香港教育學院教育政策與領導學系副教授兼副系主任)

下午3:30 - 4:30

地點:香港中央圖書館地下演講廳﹝位置圖
語言:粵語
即場免費入座,座位先到先得

有關查詢,請致電2524 3987或電郵至 rgc@ugc.edu.hk 與我們聯絡。

第一節講座
講題:香港青少年的自我身份認同:價值觀、對生活的滿足感及看法
講者:崔永康教授
時間:2015年12月5日(星期六) 下午2:30 - 3:30


講座簡介:

近年發生的事件,尤以過去一年為甚,顯示我們亟需了解香港青年人對於社會流動和發展的想法。為了解這個尚未為人涉足的領域,我們研究具有大專學歷的九十後青年人,嘗試以一套理念框架,闡述他們的生活世界,探討他們身處不斷變化和發展的香港大潮中,如何構建自我身分認同、所珍惜的各種價值、對生活的滿足感,以及對事物的觀點和立場。


講者簡介:

崔永康博士現任香港城市大學應用社會科學系教授。他在劍橋大學修畢碩士及博士學位前,曾在香港任職外展社工,服務對象是邊緣青少年。崔教授的研究興趣為青少年研究、犯罪行為及犯罪學。

青年的聲音

向前? 向後? 轉左? 轉右?

誰對、誰錯?

 

第二節講座
講題:香港不同中學生群體的教育經驗、心靈健康與個人整體生活滿足感
講者:袁月梅博士
時間:2015年12月5日(星期六) 下午3:30 - 4:30


講座簡介:

我們的研究發現,由於香港教育長期側重操練學生應付考試,忽視個人心靈健康,因此香港主流中學的華人學生與南亞裔學生相比,生活滿足感較低,缺乏生活目標和人際關係疏離。本講座討論主流華人及南亞裔中學生的幸福感、學業表現及心靈狀況,並探討教育工作者、政策制訂者、家長、生命教育工作者及學生應如何攜手合作,確保所提供的課程能積極回應並切合青少年真正的需要。


講者簡介:

袁月梅博士是香港教育學院教育政策與領導學系副教授兼副系主任。她最初任職教師,其後曾擔任中、小學校監、校董多年,並先後於英國倫敦大學教育學院及中國廣州師範學院出任訪問學者。袁博士講授的課程包括有效的教育領導、多元文化、特殊教育及跨文化教育等,並創辦及統籌相關科目。袁博士的研究領域涵蓋課程、公民身份、個人幸福感、心靈健康,以及學生對學校及公民社會的參與。袁博士於英國倫敦大學教育學院取得哲學博士學位後,一直積極研究內地來港移民及在港南亞少數族裔學生的教育及政策。她曾主持逾18個研究項目,分別由香港教育局、滙豐銀行、香港樂施會,香港研究資助局和香港教育學院資助。袁博士的研究成果廣受媒體關注,並引發不少公共政策辯論。

新聞發佈會與傳媒分享計劃研究成果

出席香港傑出青年學生會主辦的文化並融化區講座

為參與計劃的中學生而設的大學生活體驗日