Home > RGC Public Lectures > 18 July 2015 - RGC Public Lectures - Climate Changes

RGC Public Lectures - Climate Changes

Two leading scholars have been invited to deliver public lectures on Climate Changes organized by the Research Grants Council with the Hong Kong Science Museum on 18 July 2015 (Saturday). Details of the lectures are as follows:

Topic Speaker Time
Impact of Climate Change on Air Quality of Pearl River Delta Region

Dr. K.S. Lam (Associate Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University)

2:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Sea-level Change in the Past, Present and Future: Implications to Hong Kong

Professor Yongqiang Zong (Professor, Department of Earth Sciences, The University of Hong Kong)

3:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Venue: Lecture Hall, Hong Kong Science Museum (Location Map)
Language: Cantonese
Free admission on a first-come, first-served basis.

For enquires, please contact us at 2524 3987 or rgc@ugc.edu.hk.

First Session

Topic: Impact of Climate Change on Air Quality of Pearl River Delta Region
Speakers: Dr. K.S. Lam
Time: 18 July 2015 (Saturday) 2:30pm - 3:30pm


Brief introduction:

Climate change and air quality deterioration are two critical challenges that human beings are facing. Climate change induces changes in air temperature, intensity of extreme weather events, and in the amount and pattern of precipitation. Air quality depends directly or indirectly on weather conditions. Therefore, local and regional air quality is sensitive to climate change. Up to the present time, few scientists in Europe and America have investigated the sensitivity and found that climate change may affect air quality by altering transport processes, atmospheric chemical reactions, and pollutant emissions. It is proposed to study the changes in surface ozone and aerosol in the future when air temperature rises through integrating the results of insitu experiments, fixed station observations and numerical models. In-situ experiments will be carried out in some strategic places of Pearl River Delta Region in different seasons to record the boundary meteorological conditions and the concentrations of air pollutants. Meteorological and air quality observation data at a few selected fixed stations will be collected. Recent and future climate and air quality will be simulated by using a 3-D, regional climate-chemistry model system WRF-CHEM. The approach is to conduct four numerical experiments to achieve the proposed objectives. The first experiment will simulate one year period: 2008 for present day conditions (base case). The second experiment will simulate one future year 2050 under no emission growth. The third experiment will repeat the second experiment with emission growth (IPCC, A2 rapid economic growth scenario). The fourth experiment will simulate a few high pollution days in 2050 under different emission scenarios. The aforementioned filed data will be used for model validation and bias identification. Then the simulated data will be analyzed to characterize the current relationship between temperature rise and future surface ozone/aerosol in Pearl River Delta Region.


About the Speaker:

Dr. K.S. Lam is currently an Associate Professor working in Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at The Hong Kong Polytechnic University. Dr. Lam acquired both his bachelor and doctor degree from The University of Hong Kong. In recent years, he has been teaching subjects related to occupational health and safety, indoor air quality, applied mathematics and statistics. Dr. Lam has been doing research in areas related to meteorology, air quality and climate change. His research covered stratospheric ozone depletion, climate change impact and urban heat island. Research methodology includes long term ground monitoring, remote sensing and numerical modelling. He has built and operated a background-air monitoring station in Hok Tsui in 1993. He has been monitoring total ozone and solar ultraviolet radiation over Hong Kong since 1995. He specializes in air quality monitoring instruments and numerical modeling. He is the Principal Investigator of the second climate change impact study conducted by Hong Kong Environmental Protection Department. Dr. Lam has great interest in meteorology. He was the ex-Chair of the Hong Kong Meteorological Society.

 

 

Second Session

Topic: Sea-level Change in the Past, Present and Future: Implications to Hong Kong
Speaker: Professor Yongqiang Zong
Time: 18 July 2015 (Saturday) 3:30pm - 4:30pm


Brief introduction:

One of the consequences of global warming is the rise of sea level. As predicted by the recent IPCC report, global mean sea level has risen for about 20cm for the 20th century and will rise for further 26-55cm or 52-98cm by the end of the 21st century. Without any doubt, this rise of sea level will pose a serious threat to coastal communities worldwide and to Hong Kong. However, sea-level change has a strong regional pattern, with places experiencing significant deviations from the global mean change. Thus, to help local communities be better prepared for this potential threat, scientific studies on regional sea-level change are urgently needed. Based on a number of recent studies in the South China Sea region, this presentation will start with an overview of climate change and sea-level fluctuations throughout some important geological periods, and explain the underlying causes for sea-level change and methods for sea-level studies. It will be followed by showing some results and a summary of the sea-level history for the South China Sea region. The sea-level history will help us understand the two fundamental geological processes which determine the trajectory of changes in coastal environment of the region in the past, present and future. With the above knowledge in mind, the potential impacts of future sea-level rise on Hong Kong's society can be evaluated, including impacts on the coastal environment, major engineering projects and storm flood hazards. Finally, this presentation will lead the audience to analyze why we must not allow global temperature to rise for more than 2oC within the 21st century and why climate warming will have greater impacts on human society than climate cooling in the issue of sea-level change.


About the Speaker:

Before gaining a PhD degree in Durham University, UK, in 1993, Professor Yongqiang Zong had self-taught in marine geology while working in a butcher shop of Guangzhou and studied coastal environmental change in a research institute of China. Between 1993 and 2008, he worked as a postdoctoral research assistant, lecturer and senior lecturer in Durham University, teaching environmental science courses and researching sea-level change. Since 2008, he has served in the University of Hong Kong as an Associate Professor and Professor, coordinating the development of the multidisciplinary major in Environment Science. During his 20 or so years of academic career, he has studied extensively in the fields of monsoon climate change, sea-level and coastal change, and environmental archaeology, as well as developed laboratory techniques using microfossils and organic geochemical methods for palaeo-environmental studies.

 

If global temperature is allowed to rise for more than 2oC within the 21st century, sea level may rise for 3 to 5 m. Significant area of the reclaimed land in Hong Kong (shaded in blue) will be flooded by the sea.

Coral reefs emerged about 5 m above sea level are evidence of a high sea level during the last interglacial, during which global temperature was 1.5oC warmer than the present.

Many existing mangrove wetlands and centres of biodiversity will be lost by the rising sea level.

主頁 > 研究資助局公眾講座 >2015年7月18日 – 研究資助局公眾講座-氣候變化

研究資助局公眾講座-氣候變化

由研究資助局與香港科學館合辦,是次公眾講座訂於2015年7月18日(星期六) 下午舉行,並邀請了兩位專家學者介紹其研究成果。有關講座的詳情如下:

講題 講者 時間
氣候變化對珠江三角洲地區的空氣質素影響

林嘉仕博士 (香港理工大學土木及環境工程學系副教授)

下午2:30 - 3:30

海平面在過去、現在和將來的變化以及對香港的影響

宗永強教授 (香港大學地球科學系教授)

下午3:30 - 4:30

地點:香港科學館演講廳﹝位置圖
語言:粵語
即場免費入座,座位先到先得

有關查詢,請致電2524 3987或電郵至 [email protected] 與我們聯絡。

第一節講座
講題:氣候變化對珠江三角洲地區的空氣質素影響
講者:林嘉仕博士
時間:2015年7月18日(星期六),下午2:30 - 3:30


講座簡介:

氣候變化和空氣質素惡化是人類正面臨的兩個嚴峻挑戰。氣候變化會改變空氣溫度、極端天氣的強度,以及降雨量和降雨模式。天氣狀況能直接或間接地影響空氣質素。因此,地方及區域性的空氣質素都對氣候變化十分敏感。至目前為止,只有少數歐美科學家對其敏感性作出研究,並發現氣候變化有可能透過粒子的運輸過程、大氣化學反應和污染物排放的改變而影響空氣質素。因此建議未來應結合現場實驗數據、固定站的觀測和數據模型的結果,以研究因空氣溫度上升而引致的地面臭氧和煙霧變化。現場實驗將會在珠江三角洲的一些策略性地區進行,並於不同的季節測量及記錄邊界層的氣象狀況及空氣污染物的濃度;另外,也會收集數個選定固定站的氣象和空氣質素觀測數據。近期和未來的氣候和空氣質素則會運用三維立體區域性氣候及化學模型系統(WRF-CHEM)進行模擬。此方法是希望透過四個數值實驗來達至其研究目標:第一個實驗將以2008年作為模擬期來代表現今的狀況(稱為基礎狀況);第二個實驗將模擬2050年於無排放量增長下的狀況;第三個實驗會重複第二個實驗但是於有排放量增長下的狀況(即政府間氣候變化專門委員會A2經濟快速增長的情況下);而第四個實驗將模擬在2050年數個不同排放狀況下的高污染日。上述提交的數據將會被用於模型驗證和偏差鑑定。接着,模擬數據將會加以分析,以研究目前珠江三角洲溫度上升與未來地面臭氧或煙霧變化的關係。


講者簡介:

林嘉仕博士於香港大學獲得其學士和博士學位,目前為香港理工大學土木及環境工程學系副教授。近年,他先後任教有關職業健康及安全、室內空氣質素、應用數學及統計學的科目。林博士一向致力有關氣象、空氣質素和氣候變化的研究。他的研究牽涉平流層的臭氧損耗,氣候變化的影響和熱島城市效應,研究方法包括長期地面監察、遙距感應及數值模擬。1993年,他在鶴咀設立了一個背景空氣監測站,並負責其運作。由1995年開始,他一直監測香港的臭氧總量及太陽紫外線的輻射量。他特別擅長於空氣質素監測儀器及數值模擬的研究,是香港環境保護署第二次氣候變化影響研究的主要研究者。林博士亦是香港氣象學會的前任主席,對氣象學深感興趣。

 

第二節講座
講題:海平面在過去、現在和將來的變化以及對香港的影響
講者:宗永強教授
時間:2015年7月18日(星期六),下午3:30 - 4:30


講座簡介:

海平面上升是全球氣候暖化的後果之一。正如政府間氣候變化專門委員會最近所作的預測,全球平均海平面在二十世紀已上升約20釐米,到二十一世紀末,還要繼續上升26-55 釐米,或52-98釐米。這樣的海平面上升顯然會給香港以及世界各地生活在海岸地區的人帶來災害性的影響。然而,海平面變化具有強烈的區域性,世界不同區域的海平面變化會差異很大。因此,我們急須進行科學研究,瞭解不同地區海平面變化的情況,以便說明這些地區的居民做好準備,應付海平面上升可能帶來的威脅。以最近南中國海區域一些研究結果為基礎,這次演講首先從檢驗過去一些重要地質時期的氣候和海平面變化歷史開始,探討促使海平面變化的機制和介紹研究海平面變化的一些方法,然後展示一些在南中國海區域的最新研究結果。這些結果會說明我們認識決定南中國海區域在過去、現在和將來海岸變化方向的兩個重要的地質過程。有了這些認識,我們就可以分析海平面上升將會對香港帶來什麼影響,這包括對海岸環境、填海工程以及風暴潮的影響。最後,這次演講會與聽眾一起分析:為什麼我們不能夠讓全球氣溫在二十一世紀內出現高於2°C的上升,和為什麼從海平面變化的角度看,全球變暖比全球變冷對人類影響更大。


講者簡介:

宗永強教授于1993年在英國杜倫大學獲得博士學位。在這之前,他在廣州一家肉菜市場工作時自學了海洋地質學課程。後來在廣州地理研究所工作,並參與了海岸環境變化的研究。從1993到2008年,他在杜倫大學當博士後研究助理、講師和高級講師,從事環境科學方面的教學和海平面變化的研究。2008年以來,他在香港大學擔任副教授和教授,並主持了多學科的環境科學主科的發展。在這二十多年的科研生涯裡,他在季風氣候變化、海平面與海岸變化,以及環境考古學方面進行了廣泛的研究。他還為古環境研究發展了微體古生物和有機地球化學等研究方法。

如讓全球氣溫在二十一世紀內上升2°C以上,海平面將會上升3至5米。香港將會有很多填海土地(圖中藍色的地方)被海水淹沒。

圖中所見比現今海面高出5米的珊瑚礁是在上個間冰期高海面時形成,當時全球氣溫比現在高出1.5°C。

許多具有豐富多樣生物的紅樹林濕地將會因海面上升而消失。