Home > RGC Public Lectures > 26 April 2014 - RGC Public Lectures - Sustainable Built Environment

RGC Public Lectures - Sustainable Built Environment

Two leading scholars have been invited to deliver public lectures on Sustainable Built Environment organized by the Research Grants Council with the Hong Kong Science Museum on 26 July 2014 (Saturday). Details of the lectures are as follows:

Topic Speaker Time
Pathways towards a Sustainable Built Environment

Prof Mee Kam NG (Department Vice-chairman, Department of Geography and Resources Management, The Chinese University of Hong Kong)

2:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Urine holds the key to the cities of the future

Prof Guang-Hao CHEN (Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)

3:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Venue: Lecture Hall, Hong Kong Science Museum (Location Map)
Language: Cantonese
Free admission on a first-come, first-served basis.

For enquires, please contact us at 2524 3987 or rgc@ugc.edu.hk.

First Session

Topic: Pathways towards a Sustainable Built Environment
Speakers: Professor Mee Kam Ng
Time: 26 July 2014 (Saturday) 2:30pm - 3:30pm


Brief introduction:

Typical modern 'development' razes nature and communities to accommodate economic growth. A sustainable built environment, however, dances with, rather than conquers nature. The built form is developed to highlight the natural landscape, enhancing its various ecological functions. To be truly sustainable, the built environment should be designed and planned to nurture communities, fostering healthy and resilient human relationships that in turn add character to enrich a place. Building a sustainable environment requires a vision that goes beyond 'mere growth' - it is a challenge, an exploration and a learning process for people to live harmoniously with one another in nature in the long run.

Hence, various physical infrastructures in cities need to be designed to accommodate natural changes in the ecosystem, to minimize resource consumption and to bring back biodiversity to the urban realm. These require new skills, inspire new ways of managing urban living and provide new job opportunities at the local level. Local economic activities are essential to sustain the livelihood of individuals and families in neighbourhoods and communities, an important part of sustainable social development. Economically secured families are the fundamental building blocks of cohesive community. The art of place-making, producing a built environment that is accessible, sociable, comfortable, enjoyable, entertaining and full of life and activities, helps strengthen such communities and the long-term sustainability of a place.

Such nature-cum-people-centred development calls for a fundamental re-conceptualization of the relationships between 'economic growth' and 'long-term development'. It challenges 'growth machine' institutions to also practise joined-up holistic thinking in the development process - to tackle multiple problems, to achieve multiple purposes through creative and out-of-the-box solutions that adhere to the fundamental principles of respecting nature and nurturing human relationships.


About the Speaker:

Mee Kam Ng is Vice-Chairman of the Department of Geography and Resource Management, the Director of the Urban Studies Programme, Associate Director of the Institute of Future Cities and the Hong Kong Institute of Asian Pacific Studies at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. She is a member of the Royal Town Planning Institute, a fellow of the Hong Kong Institute of Planners and academic advisor of the Hong Kong Institute of Urban Design. She has completed over 20 research projects and published widely on planning, governance and sustainability issues in Pacific Asia. Her publications have earned her six Hong Kong Institute of Planners' Awards. She has delivered over 20 international speeches and 55 local presentations, including four public lectures in the Central Library. At the international level, she has been consultant to the United Nations, the European Union and the Municipal Government of Shenzhen. She is an associate editor for the Current Research on Cities supplement section of the Elsevier Ltd journal "Cities" and a member of the editorial board of Town Planning Review, Planning Theory and Practice, DisP - The Planning Review and City, Culture and Society, and Business Strategy and the Environment.

 

 

Second Session

Topic: Urine holds the key to the cities of the future
Speaker: Professor Guang-Hao Chen
Time: 26 July 2014 (Saturday) 3:30pm - 4:30pm


Brief introduction:

Water is an important resource that is vital to all living creatures on earth. The availability of clean water is the key to the development of civilization. However, with the world's ever-increasing population and urbanization, huge amounts of domestic wastewater are produced every minute. This is causing serious problems (e.g. eutrophication, toxic algae blooms) for aquatic environments worldwide due to the high content of nitrogen, phosphorus and other nutrients in wastewater, thus greatly limiting the availability of water as a resource. Unfortunately, conventional centralized wastewater treatment cannot meet the requirements of the rapidly expanding cities due to its limited capacity. In addition, its low recovery rate leads to the waste of precious resources. Recent studies have found that the majority of nutrients in wastewater actually come from urine. In fact, urine contributed 80% of nitrogen and 50-80% of phosphorus in domestic wastewater although it accounts for less than 1% of the total volume. Separating urine from other wastewater streams at the source and treating them independently could thus greatly improve the efficiency of downstream wastewater treatment by lowering the nutrient loading. On the other hand, the separated urine, as a concentrated nutrient solution, can be directly applied in agriculture as a fertilizer or it can be used for resources recovery. Urine separation and its related treatment processes have been recognized as the future of domestic wastewater treatments.

This lecture aims to introduce the public to the significance, necessity, and practical potential of urine separation, and the research advances that have been made in this area. It will also discuss the impacts of urine separation on our daily lives and city developments. In addition, the lecture will introduce a novel urine separation, treatment and resources recovery system developed by researchers at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. This system integrates the concept of seawater toilet flushing with the high population density of high-rise buildings, as in Hong Kong.


About the Speaker:

Dr GH Chen obtained his PhD degree in Environmental Engineering from Kyoto University in 1990. He worked in Japan and Singapore before joining HKUST in 1995. Dr Chen is currently Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Coordinator of the Civil and Environmental Engineering Program at HKUST. He also serves as Deputy Director of the HKUST Institute for the Environment and Director of the Wastewater Treatment Lab at the Fok Ying Tung Research Institute of HKUST in Guangzhou. He is an internationally recognized leading researcher in water science and technology. His major research expertise includes sewage treatment, urban water recycle and reuse and surface water quality control. Over the past 10 years, he and his research team have developed about 12 patented wastewater treatment technologies, including the well-known SANI process.

主頁 > 研究資助局公眾講座 >2014年7月26日 – 研究資助局公眾講座–可持續發展的環境

研究資助局公眾講座–可持續發展的環境

由研究資助局與香港科學館合辦,是次公眾講座訂於2014年7月26日(星期六) 下午舉行,並邀請了兩位專家學者介紹其研究成果。有關講座的詳情如下:

講題 講者 時間
可持續發展之道–建築環境

伍美琴教授 (香港中文大學地理與資源管理學系副系主任)

下午2:30 – 3:30

尿液源分離 - 未來城市發展的關鍵

陳光浩教授 (香港科技大學土木及環境工程學系教授)

下午3:30 – 4:30

地點:香港科學館演講廳﹝位置圖
語言:粵語
即場免費入座,座位先到先得

有關查詢,請致電2524 3987或電郵至 [email protected] 與我們聯絡。

第一節講座
講題:可持續發展之道–建築環境
講者:伍美琴教授
時間:2014年7月26日(星期六),下午2:30 – 3:30


講座簡介:

典型的「發展」模式總是以夷平大自然和現有社區等「障礙」來保證經濟的增長。可持續的建築環境並不熱衷於征服自然﹔相反,它要與它共存,以突出天然的景觀及其生態功能。真正可持續的建築環境,在於設計和規劃是否以培育健康的社區,深厚的人際關係和豐富的本土特色為目標。建設可持續發展的建築環境是一項挑戰,須超越經濟的考量,並探索如何能夠與大自然及彼此長治久安地和諧共處。

因此,城市的各種基礎建設應該順應生態系統的自然變化,減少資源消耗和增加市區的生物多樣性。這些都需要新技能和新的城市管理思維,因此亦會為地區提供新的就業機會。本土經濟活動不但可以維持個人和家庭的穩定性,更是社會可持續發展的重要保障。如果再加上地方營造—建設通達、舒適、充滿生機和促進社交的空間—就更能加強這些社區的持續發展。

這種「以自然和以人為本」的發展觀正在挑戰現存的制度,需要我們以整全及多角度的思維,以尊重自然和培育人際關係為基本原則,用創新的方法去解決複雜的相關建築環境議題。


講者簡介:

伍美琴教授為香港中文大學地理與資源管理系副系主任,城市研究課程主任,亞太研究所和未來城市研究所副所長。她是香港規劃師學會院士,英國皇家規劃會和香港城市設計學會會員。她完成的研究共二十多項,著作繁多。她的研究曾六度獲得香港規劃師學會的年獎。伍教授曾多次被邀請到不同國家及本地學校、政府和非牟利組織演講,其中四度獲邀到中央圖書館探討城市可持續發展的議題。伍教授曾參與歐洲聯盟及聯合國的顧問工作。

 

第二節講座
講題:尿液源分離 - 未來城市發展的關鍵
講者:陳光浩教授
時間:2014年7月26日(星期六),下午3:30 – 4:30


講座簡介:

水是資源、能源,是包括人在內所有生物生存的根本。充足的可用水源是人類文明發展的關鍵;然而隨著世界人口的增長和城市化,大量產生的城市生活污水因其高濃度的氮、磷等營養鹽正嚴重威脅著水環境質量,使本已短缺的可用水日益減少。目前集中式的污水處理方式在城市迅速擴張的趨勢中已顯得力不從心,且偏低的回收率造成了資源的極大浪費。研究表明,生活污水中大部分營養鹽來自於尿液。儘管只佔了污水體積的不到1%,尿液卻貢獻了80%的氮和50-80%的磷。因此,將尿液從污水中分離並單獨處理將大大減輕污水處理廠的負荷,提高處理效率。同時,分離出來的尿是一種濃縮的營養液,可直接用於農業生產或資源回收。尿液分離以及相應的污水處理模式是未來城市污水處理的發展方向。

本講座將就尿液分離的重要性、可行性、目前的研究進展以及對居民生活和城市發展的影響進行探討。同時,將介紹香港科技大學在尿液分離處理方面所取得的成果:一套因應本港人口密度大、高樓密集型住房並採用海水沖廁等特點而研發的高效低成本的尿液收集、處理及資源回收體系。


講者簡介:

陳光浩教授於1990年獲日本京都大學環境工程專業博士,在日本和新加坡從事數年研究工作後於1995年加盟香港科技大學(科大)。現任科大土木及環境工程學教授、科大土木與環境工程學課程負責人、科大環境研究院副院長,科大廣州霍英東研究院創新污水處理中心主任,國際水協會(IWA)Fellow、國家自然科學基金-香港RGC聯合基金專案會評專家及多份著名水專業雜誌的主編或副主編等。陳教授長期從事水處理、水循環利用以及水質控制方面的研究,是世界著名的水環境工程學者。他在城市污水處理廠剩餘污泥減量、低能耗膜生物反應器及沿海城市尿液分離回收處理等方面取得了眾多原創性研究成果, 其發明的SANI工藝得到了國際廣泛的認同和好評,並獲創新科技署,渠務署及霍震宇公司的聯合資助於沙田污水廠進行全球首個SANI工藝的大型示範工程。 2012年陳教授和他的研究團隊因此榮獲了5項國際獎項。