Home > RGC Public Lectures > 15 September 2012 - Genomic and Personalized Medicine

RGC RGC Public Lectures - Genomic and Personalized Medicine

Two leading scholars have been invited to deliver public lectures on Genomic and Personalized Medicine organized by the Research Grants Council with the Hong Kong Science Museum on 15 September 2012 (Saturday). Details of the lectures are as follows::

Topic Speaker Time
Cancer Genomics and Personalized Medicine

Professor Nathalie Wong (Professor, Department of Anatomical and Cellular Pathology, The Chinese University of Hong Kong)

2:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Personalized Medicine for Cardiovascular Diseases

Professor Hung-Fat Tse (William M W Mong Professor in Cardiology, Department of Medicine, Li Ka Shing Faculty of Medicine, The University of Hong Kong)

3:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Venue: Lecture Hall, Hong Kong Science Museum (Location Map)
Language: Cantonese
Free admission on a first-come, first-served basis.

For enquires, please contact us at 2524 3987 or rgc@ugc.edu.hk.

First Session

Topic: Cancer Genomics and Personalized Medicine
Speaker: Professor Nathalie Wong
Time: 15 September 2012 (Saturday) 2:30pm - 3:30pm

Brief introduction:

Cancer is a major public health problem worldwide. In Hong Kong, cancer remains the leading cause of disease-related deaths and a major concern of the health care system. With the number of new cases continuing to rise, it is expected that cancer will remain at the forefront of all disease incidences and mortalities in Hong Kong and Asian regions in the forthcoming years. In addition, the sharp rising incidence of many cancer types in China and Asian nations, it is foreseeable that there will be an increasing in the social and economic burden on Asian societies. Nevertheless, cancer is also a disease of the genome. Despite its dismal prognosis, cancer is in actual fact a particularly promising area for personalized medicine. Recent clinical trial studies have clearly demonstrated the potential use of gene mutations in predicting responses to therapy and a way by which cancer patients can be accurately selected for specific treatment regime. In sum, genome information underpins the development of personalized medicine as a driver of medical progress.
mysteries.

 

 

Second Session

Topic: Personalized Medicine for Cardiovascular Diseases
Speaker: Professor Hung-Fat Tse
Time: 15 September 2012 (Saturday) 3:30pm - 4:30pm

Brief introduction:

Cardiovascular diseases (CVD) are leading global cause of morbidity and mortality. Despite recent advances in the management of cardiovascular risk factors such as hypertension, diabetes, dyslipidemia and obesity, the prevalence of CVD continues to increase worldwide. It is well established that the level of circulating blood lipids is one of the cardiovascular risk factors strongly associated with risk of coronary artery disease. In addition to lifestyle and environmental factors, blood lipid levels are under tighter genetic control than the related CVD. In fact, genome-wide association scan (GWASs) studies show that comorbid traits such as dyslipidaemia and abdominal obesity are more strongly controlled by genetic factors than their related diseases. Recent study discovered that genetic polymorphism involved in the regulation of gene expression at chromosome 1p13 loci can affect the expression of sortilin 1 and thus the serum level of blood lipid-low-density lipoprotein cholesterol (LDL-C). This change in the serum LDL-C level conferred a significantly increased risk of CVD. This study emphasizes that GWASs can offer novel insight into the complex pathophysiology of human diseases that might translate into new approaches to personalized medicine for prevention, diagnosis and treatment of CVD.

主頁 > 研究資助局公眾講座 > 2012年9月15日 - 基因體醫學及個人化治療

研究資助局公眾講座–基因體醫學及個人化治療

由研究資助局與香港科學館合辦,是次公眾講座訂於2012年9月15日(星期六)下午舉行,並邀請了兩位專家學者介紹其研究成果。有關講座的詳情如下:

講題 講者 時間
癌症基因與個人化醫療

王昭春教授(香港中文大學病理解剖及細胞學系教授)

下午2:30 - 3:30

心血管疾病個人化醫療

謝鴻發教授(香港大學李嘉誠醫學院內科學系講座教授、蒙民偉基金明德教授(心臟學))

下午3:30 - 4:30

地點:香港科學館演講廳﹝位置圖
語言:粵語
即場免費入座,座位先到先得

有關查詢,請致電2524 3987或電郵至 rgc@ugc.edu.hk 與我們聯絡。

第一節講座
講題:癌症基因與個人化醫療
講者:王昭春教授
時間:2012年9月15日(星期六),下午2:30 - 3:30

講座簡介:

癌症是現時全球主要的公共衛生問題,亦是香港主要的致命疾病之一,每年平均約有一萬二千人因癌症而死亡。隨著新症個案持續上升,預計未來數年癌症將成為香港及亞洲區發病個案最高的致命疾病。現時大部分癌症治療方案都不太理想,然而,隨著人類基因組序列的完成及分子醫學的發展,癌症治療進入了一個新紀元。癌症基本上是一種基因組的疾病,最近臨床試驗研究清楚指出某些基因突變,有助更準確預測病人對治療的反應和選擇具體的治療方案。因此,基因組信息研究對發展個人化醫療及進行標靶治療具推動作用。是次講座將介紹基因組分析的主要工具及其在醫學的應用實例。

 

第二節講座
講題:心血管疾病個人化醫療
講者:謝鴻發教授
時間:2012年9月15日(星期六),下午3:30 - 4:30

講座簡介:

心血管疾病是全球發病率和死亡率最高的疾病。儘管現今已應用先進及完備的臨床疾病監控系統,高危患者如高血壓和肥胖的病人,心血管疾病的發病率仍不斷提高。一致公認,血脂水平與冠狀動脈疾病的風險息息相關。除了生活方式和環境因素外,遺傳基因對血脂水平有更緊密的影響。事實上,全基因組關聯掃描(genome-wide association scan studies,GWASs)研究發現,血脂異常、腹部肥胖等因素與其相關疾病相比,更受其遺傳因素影響。最近的一項研究發現,在染色體1p13位點的基因多態性能遺傳影響sortilin 1的基因調控表達,從而影響血液脂質-低密度脂蛋白膽固醇(LDL-C,即所謂「壞」膽固醇)的水平。這種LDL-C水平變化顯著增加心血管疾病的風險。講座將會闡述有關研究,強調GWASs是一種研究人類疾病的新方法,有助了解複雜的病理變化,實現心血管疾病的個人化預防、診斷和治療。