Home > RGC Public Lectures > 7 July 2012 - Cosmology and Astrophysics

RGC Public Lectures - Cosmology and Astrophysics

Two leading scholars have been invited to deliver public lectures on Cosmology and Astrophysics organized by the Research Grants Council with the Hong Kong Science Museum on 7 July 2012 (Saturday). Details of the lectures are as follows:

Topic Speaker Time
New Developments in Cosmology

Professor Chu Ming-chung (Professor, Department of Physics, The Chinese University of Hong Kong)

2:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Microwave Observations of the Moon

Professor Chan Kwing-lam (Professor, Department of Mathematics; Director, Center for Space Science Research, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)

3:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Venue: Lecture Hall, Hong Kong Science Museum (Location Map)
Language: Cantonese
Free admission on a first-come, first-served basis.

For enquires, please contact us at 2524 3987 or rgc@ugc.edu.hk.

First Session

Topic: New Developments in Cosmology
Speakers: Professor Chu Ming-chung
Time: 7 July 2012 (Saturday) 2:30pm - 3:30pm

Brief introduction:

In recent years, advances in cosmological observation have led to large volume of precision data. As a result, physicists have gained tremendous insight into the content and evolution of the universe. For example, the precision measurement of cosmic microwave background – remnant radiations from the Big Bang – brings to the scientific community wealth of information about the condition of the universe 13.7 billion years ago. The confirmation that the universe is full of invisible matter and energy – dark matter and dark energy, tells us that normal matter that we are familiar with contributes a negligible fraction to the total mass-energy of the universe! These breakthroughs have brought surprises and stimulated new theories and research. In this talk, I will give a survey of the new developments in cosmology and highlight some of the outstanding mysteries.

 

 

Second Session

Topic: Microwave Observations of the Moon
Speaker: Professor Chan Kwing-lam
Time: 7 July 2012 (Saturday) 3:30pm - 4:30pm

Brief introduction:

Ground-based microwave observations of the moon had been made even before the space age, but the spatial resolutions were generally poor. China’s Chang’E-1 (CE-1) was the first spacecraft that carried a microwave radiometer (MRM) to study the moon in circumlunar orbit. Microwaves originate from layers below the surface and contain information about the physical properties of the lunar regolith (the loose surface layer formed by meteoric bombardment). Lunar surface samples from the Apollo era have shown that the regolith contains a notable amount of helium-3, a potentially ideal reactant for producing fusion energy. One of the objectives of the MRM on CE-1 was to determine the thickness of the regolith so that the amount of helium-3 within can be estimated. The MRM data of CE-1 were made available for scientific analysis in early 2010, and a number of groups including one at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) have been working on this task since that time. In collaboration with the National Astronomical Observatories (Chinese Academy of Sciences), the HKUST group developed a procedure so that maps corresponding to noontime and midnight can be constructed. Relevant research has been presented in various countries and regions. In this talk, the findings and interpretations of the presently available results will be discussed.

主頁 > 研究資助局公眾講座 > 2012年7月7日 - 宇宙學與天體物理

研究資助局公眾講座–宇宙學與天體物理

由研究資助局與香港科學館合辦,是次公眾講座訂於2012年7月7日(星期六)下午舉行,並邀請了兩位專家學者介紹其研究成果。有關講座的詳情如下:

講題 講者 時間
宇宙學新世紀

朱明中教授(香港中文大學物理系教授)

下午2:30 - 3:30

嫦娥一號對月球的微波觀測

陳炯林教授(香港科技大學數學系教授、太空科學研究中心主任)

下午3:30 - 4:30

地點:香港科學館演講廳﹝位置圖
語言:粵語
即場免費入座,座位先到先得

有關查詢,請致電2524 3987或電郵至 rgc@ugc.edu.hk 與我們聯絡。

第一節講座
講題:宇宙學新世紀
講者:朱明中教授
時間:2012年7月7日(星期六),下午2:30 - 3:30

講座簡介:

近年天文學家在宇宙學觀測取得重大進展,獲得大量精密數據,從而大大促進人類對宇宙演化的理解。例如微波背景輻射的精確測量:這些宇宙大爆炸的餘暉隱藏有137億年前的訊息;暗物質及暗能量的發現,使我們知道科學家熟知的各種原子及基本粒子,原來對宇宙整體的演化只佔微不足道的角色。這些重大突破都帶來更多新問題,亦催生新的理論及研究計劃。本講座將簡介宇宙學的新發展及一些重要懸案。

 

 

第二節講座
講題:嫦娥一號對月球的微波觀測
講者:陳炯林教授
時間:2012年7月7日(星期六),下午3:30 - 4:30

講座簡介:

在美國阿波羅探月計劃年代之前,科學家已經在微波波段觀察月球,但是當時解像度相當之低。中國的嫦娥一號(CE-1)是第一顆載有微波探測儀在繞月軌道觀察月球的太空船,在距離月球表面二百公里的高度,作出了精細的觀察。微波源於月球表面以下,載有月壤物理性質的資訊(月壤是月球表面經隕石對月球長年撞擊以致粉碎的一層塵土)。從阿波羅計劃帶回的月球樣本分析得知,月壤含有可觀數量的氦-3元素,是一種相當理想的核聚變燃料。CE-1微波探測儀的科學目標之一是量度月壤的厚度以估計氦-3的總存量。CE-1的微波數據在2010年初對科學界發放。香港科技大學的太空科學研究小組自此即投入對有關數據的分析工作,並與中國科學院國家天文台的月球科學中心合作,得出的成果在2010年歐洲行星科學大會上公佈之後,被美國國家航天局、歐洲行星學會等數十個國家和地區的科學媒體廣泛轉載。本講座將會較詳細地介紹我們對CE-1微波數據的分析方法和結論。