Home > RGC Public Lectures > 21 April 2012 - Cloud Computing

RGC Public Lectures - Cloud Computing

Two expert scholars have been invited to deliver public lectures on cloud computing organized by the Research Grants Council with the Hong Kong Science Museum on 21 April 2012 (Saturday). Details of the lectures are as follows:

Topic Speaker Time
Cloud Computing and its Security

Professor David Wai-lok Cheung (Professor, Department of Computer Science; Director, Center for E-Commerce Infrastructure Development, The University of Hong Kong)

2:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Open Innovation under Cloud Service Environment

Professor W.B. Lee (Chair Professor and Director, Knowledge Management and Innovation Research Center, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University)

3:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Venue: Lecture Hall, Hong Kong Science Museum (Location Map)
Language: Cantonese
Free admission on a first-come, first-served basis.

For enquires, please contact us at 2524 3987 or rgc@ugc.edu.hk.

First Session

Topic: Cloud Computing and its Security
Speakers: Professor David Wai-lok Cheung
Time: 21 April 2012 (Saturday) 2:30pm - 3:30pm

Brief introduction:

What is Cloud Computing? It is a new paradigm to deliver computing applications or computing processing power as a service rather than as a product. Users of cloud computing do not need to buy additional computer or software, instead they make subscription to a computing service. For example, people subscribe to a photo album service from Flickr or use the storage service provided by Dropbox.

Google, Amazon, Microsoft and many service providers have turned their huge infrastructure into a cloud computing environment and are aggressively recruiting businesses to run applications on their platforms. Many top-tier IT vendors have been promoting cloud computing as a new service model. This lecture will explain this new computing paradigm, and discuss its impactand different understandings of this technology. Apart from a general introduction, security and privacy issues of cloud computing will also be discussed. Serious concern has been raised, and corporate users would need to protect their data running on the cloud computing platform from the “untrusted” service provider. Observations and some research findings will be covered.

 

 

Second Session

Topic: Open Innovation under Cloud Service Environment
Speaker: Professor W.B. Lee
Time: 21 April 2012 (Saturday) 3:30pm - 4:30pm

Brief introduction:

“Serendipity” is a 2001 romantic comedy in which the two leading characters met by chance and changed their destiny. In science and industry, a lot of important discoveries and useful invention are thought also due to serendipity that is, discovering things you did not intend to (like penicillin, rubber, Post-it, etc). Recently computer scientists begin to realize that there are many relationships and coincident events that are not down to chance alone. The process that new knowledge can be discovered and accelerated from the mining of what seemingly unrelated information and patterns is a fascinating and challenging research. Success of chance discovery depends on the dynamic clustering and interactions of a huge amount of human, physical and digital resources.

The emerging Cloud Computing Platform not only provides a flexible and scalable computing and storage resource, but also revolutionizes how new business and services can be created and delivered. Knowledge will also be delivered as a core service (KaaS). The higher form of service and business innovation calls for intensive social interaction, openness and collaboration. Nowadays, innovation is no longer confined within an enterprise or done solely in-house. Open innovation draws on both internal and external knowledge of an organization to develop new business products, solutions and services. More companies are systematizing serendipity in the internet as an important factor in innovation. Typical examples include Crowdsourcing and Cloud Marketplace, etc. The widespread application of Cloud Service Environment enables exchange of data among suppliers, employees and clients and which at the same time generates various information and social network that pave the way for unprecedented opportunities for open innovation.

主頁 > 研究資助局公眾講座 > 2012年4月21日 - 雲端運算

研究資助局公眾講座–雲端運算

由研究資助局與香港科學館合辦,是次公眾講座訂於2012年4月21日(星期六)下午舉行,並邀請了兩位專家學者介紹其研究成果。有關講座的詳情如下:

講題 講者 時間
雲計算及其安全性

張偉犖教授(香港大學計算機科學系教授及電子商貿基建研究中心總監)

下午2:30 - 3:30

雲端服務平台下之開放式創新

李榮彬教授(香港理工大學工業及系統工程學系講座教授、知識管理及創新研究中心總監)

下午3:30 - 4:30

地點:香港科學館演講廳﹝位置圖
語言:粵語
即場免費入座,座位先到先得

有關查詢,請致電2524 3987或電郵至 [email protected] 與我們聯絡。

第一節講座
講題:雲計算及其安全性
講者:張偉犖教授
時間:2012年4月21日(星期六),下午2:30 - 3:30

講座簡介:

什麼是雲計算?它是一個提供計算應用及計算功能的新模式。雲計算的用家只須購買適用的計算服務,而無須購置額外的電腦及應用軟件。例如:你可以通過註冊,便可享用Flickr的「相片簿」功能,也可以應用Dropbox的「網絡貯存」功能,而無須安裝任何額外軟件。

谷歌、亞馬遜、微軟等國際級資訊科技公司都先後把她們龐大的資訊基建重整成可以提供雲計算服務的平台,許多領先的資訊科技公司都大力提倡雲計算這個服務模式。我們將會介紹雲計算這個模式及闡述它的影響,並會探討如何在雲計算平台上保護資料安全及私隱等問題。安全性及私隱保護是目前推廣雲計算應用的最大障礙,很多商業機構在積極計劃引入雲計算的應用的同時,都面對著資訊安全和私隱保障的困難。我們將介紹雲計算資料安全及私隱保障的一些基本原理,並討論在這個問題上的一些研究結果。

 

第二節講座
講題:雲端服務平台下之開放式創新
講者:李榮彬教授
時間:2012年4月21日(星期六),下午3:30 - 4:30

講座簡介:

《美國奇緣》(Serendipity)是一部2001年的浪漫喜劇,劇中男女主角因緣邂逅,改變了他們的命運。在科學與工業裡,有很多重要的發現或有用的發明(例如盤尼西林、橡膠或易貼紙等)往往同樣是機緣湊巧,而非著意尋找而來。最近很多電腦科學家開始認識到,很多關聯偶合事件的發生,不純粹由於機會或概率而出現。如何從一大堆看來毫不相關的信息及模式中發掘出新的知識,是令人著迷及富挑戰性的研究。偶發或創新成功的可能性(例如新藥物研發)有賴於幕後龐大的人力、物力和數字化資源的投入。

雲端運算平台的面世,不單只為用戶提供彈性和可擴充的運算及儲存的資源,更帶來了新一代商業及服務模式的巨變,使知識的提供成為服務的核心(Knowledge as a Service (KaaS))。更高形式的創新需要密集的社會互動性、開放性和協作性。如今,創新已不再局限於企業的內部完成。開放式創新是如何善用一個組織的內部和外部的知識,開發出新的業務、產品和服務。越來越多的公司亦開始研究如何把「偶然的巧合」在互聯網加強碰撞來增加創新的機會,例如群眾外判(Crowdsourcing)和雲市集(Cloud Marketplace)等。隨著雲端運算平台的普及,不同的供應商、企業員工及客戶分享大量數據的同時亦將產生各樣的資訊及社交網絡,為開放式創新帶來前所未有的機遇。