Home > Funded Research > Layman Summaries > Funding Result > Seventh Round > Theme-based Research Scheme 2017/18 (Seventh Round) Layman Summaries of Projects Funded

Theme-based Research Scheme 2017/18 (Seventh Round) Layman Summaries of Projects Funded

Theme 1: Promoting Good Health
Project Title: Translational Studies for Elucidating the Tumor Heterogeneity and Molecular Evolution in Metastatic Gastrointestinal Tract Cancers for Personalized Medicine
Project Coordinator: Prof Maria Li LUNG (HKU)

Abstract
The primary cause of cancer deaths is attributed to the development of treatment-refractory metastasis. The challenge is to elucidate the basis for tumor metastasis and heterogeneity and the evolution of drug resistance that contribute to the deadly progression of cancers. Armed with the synergistic expertise and strategic specimens needed, we aim to decipher the molecular landscape for metastatic esophageal tumors utilizing matched primary tumors and their metastatic lymph node tumors, as well as liquid biopsies. The rare circulating tumor cells (CTCs) in the blood, which are the “seeds” for metastasis, offer the opportunity for non-invasive real-time monitoring of cancers to capture the molecular heterogeneity evolving in drug-resistant tumors under selective treatment pressure and to more accurately reflect tumor heterogeneity that may be missed from the original tumor tissues. Blood-based cancer diagnostics provide real-time insight to monitor patients and to enable physicians to optimize cancer treatments of evolving tumors for targeted intervention. Molecular genotyping and next-generation sequencing (NGS) approaches will identify key cancer mutations and other genetic aberrations to guide targeted treatment of metastasis. Utilizing archived formalin-fixed paraffin-embedded (FFPE) tissues from good and poor responders to chemoradiation treatment will provide predictive biomarkers for chemoresponsiveness. The detection of CTCs as early predictive biomarkers for tumor relapse is of vital importance to patients with advanced metastatic cancers in clinical trials and will guide targeted therapies to improve treatment outcomes for metastatic disease. Ex vivo short-term culture of CTCs and establishment of patient-derived xenografts will provide invaluable opportunities for clinical applications to test drug sensitivity, as well as for basic studies to elucidate the functional basis for metastasis. The potential use of CTCs for improving tumor treatment is a strategic opportunity for personalized therapeutics. Gastrointestinal tract (GIT) cancers account for ~22% of cancer deaths in Hong Kong. The focus of our studies will be on esophageal cancer. This proposed study of GIT cancers in Hong Kong using several integrative and novel approaches aimed to elucidate key drivers for tumor metastasis, heterogeneity, and evolution of chemoresistance will allow us to translate our findings into the clinic to improve diagnosis and patient stratification and identify actionable targets for precision medicine. These studies will help to establish real-time analysis and accelerate the technology translation to the clinic to improve metastatic cancer control. Our strategic findings will enhance personalized treatment of Hong Kong cancer patients and improve their overall survival and quality of life.


Theme 1: Promoting Good Health
Project Title: Functional Bone Regeneration in Challenging Bone Disorders and Defects
Project Coordinator: Prof Ling QIN (CUHK)

Abstract
The world population is ageing. According to the Hong Kong Census and Statistics Department, people aged 65 or above will rise significantly from 15% to 36% by 2064. Ageing is associated with many musculoskeletal problems, including primary or secondary osteoporosis (OP), osteoarthritis (OA), and chronic tendon-bone insertion disorder or injury, which often lead to bone fractures, joint deformity and disability. Our current research focuses on these skeletal disorders and injuries with limited repair and healing potential, including osteoporotic fracture, avascular osteoneocrosis (AVN) around joints with extremely high incidence of OA, and tendon-bone insertion reconstruction. A significant reduction in quantity and quality of stem cells, especially bone marrow stem cells (BMSCs), are the most common features in these disorders. Substantial costs are involved in surgeries and subsequent rehabilitations for these severe musculoskeletal conditions and injuries that imposes huge socioeconomic and healthcare burden to the patient, family, healthcare system, and society in Hong Kong and worldwide. Therefore, our collaborative and multidisciplinary research focuses on enhancing treatment outcome of these skeletal disorders or injuries by augmenting the regenerative potential of autologous BMSCs and mobilizing circulating stem cells to bone defects for bone regeneration. To enhance osteogenesis, we will investigate the recruitment of circulating stem cells, mobilization of local BMSCs onto surface of the implanted biomaterials, and cell-matrix signalling with modulation of biophysical stimulation. To achieve our study objectives for targeting above mentioned musculoskeletal problems, this project will be divided into three stages: 1) Osteogenic modulation of BMSCs for skeletal tissue engineering; 2) Investigation on the treatment efficacy of implanted innovative biomaterials and postoperative non-invasive biophysical modulation for maximizing the osteogenic efficacy using our well-established preclinical animal models; 3) Completion of the required biosafety testing for Class III medical implants for product registration and prepare for subsequent clinical trials. Our efforts will focus not only on high quality scientific research but also or more importantly, the research and development (R&D) of effective treatment protocols or strategies for achieving functional bone regeneration of challenging bone disorders. Ultimately, our innovative functional biomaterials and treatment protocols will benefit our patients with a significant reduction on healthcare burden both locally and internationally.


Theme 2: Developing a Sustainable Environment
Project Title: Creation of rechargeable electron-fuels for stationary power supplies and electric vehicles
Project Coordinator: Prof Tianshou ZHAO (HKUST)

Abstract
This theme-based research aims to address the challenges preventing the widespread use of renewable energy. We propose to develop a novel energy storage system that incorporates electrically rechargeable liquid fuels known as e-fuels. This system mainly consists of an e-fuel charger that electrochemically converts electricity into e-fuels, which in turn can be converted back into electricity using an e-fuel cell for end use. The e-fuel charger has no site limitation and can convert intermittent wind and solar power into e-fuels. These e-fuels can be stored indefinitely without quality degradation and transported to wherever needed safely and easily. The electricity generated by e-fuel cells can be integrated into the grid. Unlike any of the existing rechargeable battery technologies that operate on either charge or discharge, the e-fuel storage system can simultaneously store and release electricity, thus forming a stand-alone renewable power supply to power off-grid communities. The stand-alone e-fuel cell even holds the potential to propel next-generation vehicles, offering not only a safer driving experience, but also a refueling time akin to that of gasoline.

To realize this transformative technology, through an integrated theoretical, numerical, and experimental approach, we will create inexpensive and energy-dense e-fuels, conduct crosscutting characterizations and diagnostics of cell operation to identify and eliminate performance-limiting factors at different length scales, and perform multi-scale modeling to achieve the optimal cell design. Ultimately, this research will result in an electricity-fuel-electricity conversion system with unprecedented efficiencies exceeding 80%. The e-fuel storage technology offers an excellent solution not only for grid-scale and micro-grid energy storage, but also for off-grid and distributed energy system power supplies.


Theme 2: Developing a Sustainable Environment
Project Title: Photochemical air pollution in highly urbanized subtropical regions: from micro environments to urban-terrestrial-oceanic interactions
Project Coordinator: Prof Tao WANG (PolyU)

Abstract
Chemical reactions initiated by sunlight produce a variety of gaseous and particulate pollutants, which adversely affect human health and crops and alter climate. Ozone (O3) is a key indicator of the severity of the photochemical pollution and has been regulated worldwide. Yet it is a persistent problem in many urban areas, together with other photochemical pollutants including secondary organic aerosol (SOA). Although it is known that the photochemical pollutants are formed by reactions of oxides of nitrogen (NOx) and volatile organic compounds (VOCs) and that radicals play a key role, recent research has revealed key gaps in understanding the sources and processes of radicals and VOCs and the interactions of emissions from urban/industrial areas, vegetation and oceans. Addressing these issues is crucial in mastering the mechanisms of ozone and SOA production and formulating effective mitigation strategies for urbanized subtropical and vegetated regions.

Hong Kong (HK) and the adjacent Pearl River Delta (PRD) are situated on the South China coast and are one of the most populated and economically vibrant regions in China. Rapid consumption of fossil fuel and a congested urban setting has deteriorated the air quality at both the roadside and on the regional scale. Despite concerted efforts of the HK and Guangdong governments, photochemical pollution has not improved as evidenced by high concentrations of nitrogen dioxide (NO2) at Hong Kong’s roadsides and rising ozone levels in the whole region. Previous studies in the HK-PRD region have focused on urban/industrial areas, but there has been no comprehensive research investigating the problem in an urban-terrestrial-oceanic and micro-meso-synoptic paradigm, which is necessary for understanding and mitigating ozone and other secondary pollutants.

Here we propose to study the fundamental oxidation chemistry of complex mixtures of emissions from urban (traffic)/industrial, terrestrial/biogenic and ocean sources, and to recommend the best strategies to control the photochemical pollution. It develops/applies cutting-edge laboratory, field, and modeling techniques and improves the predictive capability of the modeling system in complex geographical settings like HK-PRD. We will also investigate how the chemistry and dynamics of vehicular exhaust affect roadside air quality – a topic that is not yet well studied but may affect current policy on traffic pollution. This project is in line with China’s research and control priority on air pollution, especially on the worsening photochemical problem, and locally supports the implementation of HK’s Clean Air Plan. Overall, our goal is to conduct world-class research and to strategically support developing a green Mega Bay Area, China, and Asia.


Theme 4: Advancing Emerging Research and Innovations Important to Hong Kong
Project Title: Big Data for Smart and Personalized Air Pollution Monitoring and Health Management
Project Coordinator: Prof Victor On-kwok LI (HKU)

Abstract
We are all entitled to live with dignity in a clean environment. With big data technologies, it is possible to collect complex, heterogeneous, high resolution, personalized, and synchronized urban air pollution, human activity, health condition, well-being, and behavioral data, enabling the generation of smart (real-time and interactive), personal alert and advice to improve the health and well-being of individual citizens, creating new business opportunities and competitive advantage for the IT and health industry in HK and beyond. There are five major challenges. FIRST, urban air quality data is sparse, rendering it difficult to provide timely personalized alert and advice. SECOND, collected data, especially those involving human inputs, such as health perception, are often missing and erroneous. THIRD, data collected are heterogeneous, and highly complex, not easily comprehensible to facilitate individual or collective decision-making. FOURTH, the causal relationships between personal air pollutants exposure (specifically PM(2.5,1.0) and NO2) and personal health conditions, and health (well-being) perception, of young asthmatics and young healthy citizens in HK, are yet to be established. FIFTH, one must determine if information and advice provided can effect behavioral change. To overcome these challenges, our FIRST novelty is to develop a big data framework based on deep learning to estimate smart personalized air quality. Our SECOND novelty includes the deployment of mobile pollution sensor platforms to substantially improve the accuracy of estimated and forecasted air quality data, and the collection of activity, health conditions and perception data, accounting for human in the loop. Our THIRD novelty is the development of visualization tools, and comprehensible indexes which correlate personal exposure with four other types of personal data, to provide timely, personalized pollution, health and travel alerts and advice. Our FOURTH novelty is determining causal relationship, if any, between personal pollutants, PM(2.5,1.0), NO2 exposure and personal health conditions, and also personal health perceptions, based on clinical experiments of 250 young asthmatics and 250 young healthy citizens in HK. An exposure model is developed, trained and verified with real data collected by 250 young asthmatics to further conduct population-based time series health study on 90% of asthmatics in HK. Our FIFTH novelty is an intervention study to determine if smart data, presented via our proposed system, will induce personal behavioral change. Our novel big data technologies and analytical approaches create a unique framework for personalized air pollution monitoring and e-health management, easily transferrable to and applicable in other domains and countries.

主頁 > 獲資助研究項目 > 摘要 > 主題研究計劃撥款結果 > 第七輪計劃 > 二○一七/一八年度主題研究計劃(第七輪)獲資助之研究項目摘要

二○一七/一八年度主題研究計劃(第七輪)獲資助之研究項目摘要

主題1: 促進健康
項目名稱: 闡明轉移性胃腸道癌細胞的異質性和分子進化過程以促進其個 體化醫療的研究
項目統籌人: 龍李梅瑞教授(港大)

摘要

癌症病人死亡的主要原因是難以治療的癌細胞轉移。我們面臨的重大挑戰在於全面闡述在癌症進展過程中癌細胞轉移機理和異質性,以及耐藥性演化的過程。我們將利用現有科研隊伍的專長和收集的策略性實驗樣本包括食管原發癌組織,淋巴轉移組織以及食道癌患者的液體活檢組織,以揭示轉移性食管癌的分子變化。作為癌症轉移的種子,病人血液中稀少的循環腫瘤細胞可以用來無創性實時監測癌症治療過程中經受選擇性壓力下耐藥癌細胞出現的分子演化過程,從而更加準確地反映出癌細胞的異質性。該異質性有可能在分析原發癌組織過程中被忽略。以血液樣本為基礎的癌症診斷方法可以為實時監測病人癌症發展進化過程提供手段,為臨床醫生對演化中的腫瘤提供優化治療的依據。分子基因分型和新一代測序技術能夠檢測到重要的基因突變和其他類型的基因變異,為治療轉移癌提供目標和依據。我們將利用以往保存的福爾馬林固定的石蠟包埋癌組織樣本,來檢測對放化療反應不良和反應良好病人之間基因變異的差別、從而找到生物分子標記以用於預測放化療的治療效果。在臨床實驗中,對於晚期癌症轉移的病人來說,利用循環腫瘤細胞作為早期預測腫瘤復發的生物分子標記物十分重要,可以為治療提供理論依據從而改善臨床治療效果。循環腫瘤細胞的短期體外培養以及建立患者衍生異種移植物將為臨床藥物敏感性測試和癌症轉移的基礎科學研究提供極為有價值的工具。血液循環腫瘤細胞具有極大潛力能夠提高癌症治療效果,為個體化治療提供了策略性機遇。因消化道癌而致命的病人佔香港癌症死亡人數的百分之二十二。我們研究的重點在食道癌。我們針對香港消化道癌症進行的整合性及開創性的研究其目的在於闡明癌症轉移的重要推動力、癌症異質性和化療耐藥性的進化過程。該研究結果將會被應用在臨床提高癌症診斷和病人分層,及為精準醫療提供可操作的目標。這些研究將有利於建立實時監控的分析方法,加速技術產業向臨床工具的轉化,從而控制癌症轉移。這些策略性的研究結果將促進香港癌症病人的個體化治療,並提高癌症病人的生存率和改善生存質量。


主題1: 促進健康
項目名稱: 難愈骨疾病和骨缺損的功能性再生研究
項目統籌人: 秦嶺教授(中大)

摘要

目前全球人口在急速老齡化。根據政府統計處數據,預計至2064,香港本地65歲以上的人口比例將由目前的15%升至36%。老齡化將伴隨許多骨科疾病的發生,如原發性或繼發性骨質疏鬆、骨性關節炎和慢性腱骨止點疾患或損傷,它們將相應的導致骨折、關節變形和殘疾的發生。因此本項目研究將致力於對上述難治癒的骨科疾患和損傷治療策略的研發。我們發現罹患這些骨科疾病的患者通常具有如下特徵:即自身幹細胞尤其是骨髓間充質幹細胞(BMSCs)數量明顯不足且成骨分化能力嚴重下降,這往往導致手術及術後康復費用支出巨大,最終給患者本人及家庭、醫療衛生系統和包括香港在內的各個國家/地區帶來巨大醫療挑戰和社會經濟壓力。基於此,我們將建立起跨學科多方協作模式,擬通過增強患者自體BMSCs再生能力和誘導幹細胞遷移至骨缺損處的方式以促進對這些難治癒骨疾患的臨床治療效果。本項目中,我們將分別研究循環幹細胞的募集、局部組織中BMSCs在植入生物材料表面的遷移和在生物物理刺激下提升成骨細胞-基質信號通路,有效實現骨再生。為解決上述難治癒的骨疾患難題,本項目開展將分為三個階段來執行:1)用於骨骼組織工程的BMSCs成骨分化調節;2)為優化幹細胞成骨分化能力,採用非侵入式生物物理刺激手段促進體內骨再生,有效實現術後康復,並利用動物模型對我們設計的研發方案和可植入式新型生物材料的治療有效性進行評估;3)對本項目中開發的醫療三類植入器械完成註冊檢驗評估,以便後續的臨床測試。總之,本項目不僅關注高質量的基礎研究,還致力於難治癒骨疾患治療手段的建立、開發和應用,期待我們研發的功能性生物材料和提出的治療策略將有利於提升患者的療效,同時也極大程度上減輕我們醫療保障系統的龐大支出。


主題2: 建設可持續發展的環境
項目名稱: 用於可再生能源供電站及電動汽車的電燃料儲能技術基礎研究
項目統籌人: 趙天壽教授(科大)

摘要

本項目以實現可再生能源規模利用為目標,旨在開發一種新型儲能系統,其儲能介質為可反復充放電的液體燃料,即電燃料(e-fuel)。該系統主要包括電燃料充電裝置及電燃料電池。電燃料充電裝置可將電能轉化為電燃料加以存儲。將充電完畢的電燃料注入電燃料電池,即可實現電能的釋放。電燃料充電裝置不受地域和地理的限制,可以在任何時刻和位置將間歇、不穩定的光電和風電轉化為電燃料。可再生能源一經轉化為電燃料,即可實現長期穩定的存儲,並像汽油一樣,可便捷地運往任何需要的區域隨時使用。電燃料電池產生的電能是穩定且連續的,可併入電網使用。與現有不能同時充、放電的電池技術不同,電燃料儲能系統的充、放電過程各自獨立,可同時進行,因此,電燃料電池還可作為獨立電源,適用於電網未覆蓋的地區。此外,這種獨具風格的電燃料電池有望成為下一代電動汽車的動力裝置。這種電燃料電池汽車具有高效、安全性高、加油快捷等優點。

為了實現這一前沿技術,我們採用理論、建模與實驗相結合的方法開展研究,將研發出低成本、高能量密度電燃料,並在不同尺度上進行電燃料充電裝置及電燃料電池的性能表徵及診斷研究,找出並消除影響性能的制約因素,同時通過多尺度建模與優化以實現儲能系統的最優設計。最終,本項目所開發的電燃料儲能系統預期可達到高於80%的能量轉化效率,該系统不僅可用於電網、微網,而且可作為離網用戶、分佈式能源系統的供電電源。


主題2: 建設可持續發展的環境
項目名稱: 亞熱帶城市群區域大氣光化學污染:從微環境到城市- 陸地-海 洋的相互作用
項目統籌人: 王韜教授(理大)

摘要

在大氣中由太陽光引起的光化學反應會導致各種氣態和顆粒態的污染物的生成,對人體健康、農作物的生長和氣候變化都會有嚴重的影響。臭氧(O3)是大氣光化學污染程度的關鍵指標,全球各個國家均已制定相關標準對其進行控制。然而,臭氧及其他二次污染物(包括二次有機氣溶膠SOA等)仍然是目前許多城市地區持久未決的重要污染問題。我們已知道光化學污染物主要是由氮氧化物(NOx)和揮發性有機化合物(VOC)經過一系列反應形成的,並且大氣自由基在其中發揮著關鍵作用。但最近的研究顯示科學界對大氣自由基和揮發性有機物的來源及其反應過程認識仍存在較大不足,對城市/工業區、森林植被和海洋排放的多種污染物的複雜相互作用認識還不清楚。解決這些科學問題對掌握臭氧和SOA生成機制、及為亞熱帶複雜環境地區制定有效的空氣污染控制策略至關重要。

香港及珠三角地區位於華南沿海,是中國人口最多、經濟最活躍的地區之一。大量的能源消耗和擁擠的城市建設使得城區路邊環境和區域尺度空氣質量的不斷惡化。儘管香港和廣東省政府採取了共同的努力,控制和削減了大多數污染物的源排放,但光化學污染的狀況並沒有得到明顯的改善,特別是香港城區路邊二氧化氮(NO2)濃度仍然較高,且區域範圍的臭氧濃度仍呈現持續上升趨勢。此前在香港-珠三角大氣污染的研究多側重於城市和工業區域,在複雜環境條件下城市-陸地-海洋體系的相互作用及微環境-區域尺度的耦合影響對掌握和控制臭氧及其他二次污染物十分重要,但該方面的研究十分匱乏。

本項研究致力於構建一個綜合研究體系,針對城市交通/工業、陸地生態和海洋來源的混合污染物的大氣氧化過程開展高水平的基礎研究,基於科學發現建議控制光化學污染的最佳策略。本項目將開發和應用最前沿的實驗室、外場觀測和模式模型等技術手段,改善和提高不同空氣質量模型系統在複雜地形和環境條件下(如香港-珠三角地區)空氣質量預報預測能力;本項目還將致力於揭示在城市路邊環境中機動車尾氣的大氣化學和動力學過程的耦合作用對路邊空氣質量的影響,探討對當前交通污染控制措施的改進。研究目前嚴重的光化學污染,不僅是當前國際大氣環境領域的前沿科學問題,也符合國家對大氣複合污染的研究和綜合防治的迫切需求。本項目的整體目標是開展世界前沿的基礎科學研究,項目研究成果將為本港清潔空氣計劃的實施和我國中長期大氣污染調控策略的制定提供重要的科學依據,從而支撐綠色粵港澳大灣區和綠色中國乃至綠色亞洲的建設和長久環境質量的改善。


主題4: 促進對香港起重要作用的新興研究及創新項目
項目名稱: 大數據為本智能及個人化空氣污染監測和健康管理
項目統籌人: 李安國教授(港大)

摘要

每個人都有權享受清潔環境並有尊嚴地生活。借助大數據技術,可以收集複雜,多樣化,高分辨率,個人化和同步的城市空氣污染,個人活動,健康狀況,幸福感和行為數據,從而產生智能(實時和互動)及個人化健康提示和建議,以改善公民健康和幸福感,為香港及其他地區的資訊科技和健康產業創造嶄新商機和競爭優勢。此項研究有五項挑戰。第一,城市空氣質量數據稀疏,難以及時提供個人化的提示和建議。第二,收集到的數據,尤其涉及人為輸入的,如個人健康評估,往往出現錯漏。第三,收集到的數據往往多樣化,複雜,不容易理解,不便利個人或集體根據數據直接作決策。第四,有關香港的年輕哮喘病患者和年輕健康公民的個人空氣污染物暴露(尤其是直徑小於或等於2.5微米和1.0微米顆粒物)與個人健康狀況和健康生活質素(幸福感)的因果關係尚未確立。第五,提供智能資訊及相關建議是否能影響個人生活行為有待確立。要克服這些挑戰,此研究第一項創新是創建一個深度學習大數據框架,以此提供智能個人化空氣質量估算。第二個創新是採用移動污染傳感器平台,大幅度提高估算和預測空氣質量的精準度;以及收集個人活動,健康狀況和健康評估數據,並矯正人為輸入數據。第三個創新是設計可視化工具,將個人污染暴露及其他四種個人數據相連結,以容易理解的指標呈視用者,以提供及時和個人化的空氣污染,健康和出行活動提示建議。第四個創新是向香港250名年輕哮喘病患者及250名年輕健康市民進行臨床研究,確定個人污染物暴露,即個人受直徑小於或等於2.5微米和1.0微米顆粒物和二氧化氮暴露,和個人健康狀況及個人健康生活質素評估之間的因果關係。從250名香港年輕哮喘病患者收集到的真實數據將用作暴露模型的開發,訓練和驗證,以進一步向香港九成哮喘病患者展開人口時間序列健康研究。第五個創新是智能資訊介入性研究,以確定我們提出之大數據系統所提供的智能數據是否能引發個人行為轉變。此嶄新大數據技術及分析方法為個人化空氣污染監測和電子健康質素管理創造獨特跨學科框架模型,隨時可轉用於其它領域及城市。