Home > Funded Research > Layman Summaries > Funding Result > Fifth Round > Theme-based Research Scheme - Fifth Round Layman Summaries of Projects Funded

Theme-based Research Scheme - Fifth Round Layman Summaries of Projects Funded

Theme 1: Promoting Good Health
Project Title: Molecular Basis for Interspecies Transmission and Pathogenesis of Middle East Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus
Project Coordinator: Prof Patrick Chiu-yat WOO (HKU)

Abstract
Global health threats due to emerging infectious agents are exemplified by HIV, influenza virus, SARS coronavirus (CoV) and Ebola virus. Compared to other viruses, CoVs are grossly understudied. The recent emergence of MERS-CoV has alerted the public and WHO, who considered MERS-CoV "a threat to the entire world". Unlike SARS which rapidly died off after the intermediate amplification animal hosts were identified and segregated from humans by closure of wild animal markets in Southern China, the MERS epidemic has persisted for at least two years with a scary fatality rate of >30%. In the past ten years, our group has been taking a lead internationally in discovering and characterizing novel CoVs in animals and human. We identified the largest number of CoVs globally, including SARS-CoV, human CoV HKU1, SARS-CoV-like bat CoVs and most importantly, Tylonycteris bat CoV HKU4 and Pipistrellus bat CoV HKU5 (BatCoV HKU4/5), which are closely related to MERS-CoV and have formed the foundation for identifying the animal origin of MERS-CoV. Our contributions have revolutionized CoV research and provided the ground for in-depth mechanistic studies on CoVs. In the past 24 months we have accumulated several lines of pilot results that lead to the present studies. We have discovered a MERS-CoV-like CoV from bats, even closer to MERS-CoV than BatCoV HKU4/5. We have set up an animal model for MERS-CoV. We have defined novel mechanisms for MERS-CoV evasion of host defense. Built on these findings and unique resources, here we will address three important issues on MERS-CoV. We will identify the evolutionary paths leading to emergence of MERS and mechanisms of interspecies transmission. We will delineate molecular mechanisms by which MERS-CoV evades innate immunity. Lastly, we will characterize pulmonary and extrapulmonary replication and pathogenesis of MERS-CoV. Our Consortium of Coronavirus Research of the State Key Laboratory for Emerging Infectious Diseases has world-leading and budding coronavirologists, and the team leader is a member of the CoV Study Group of the International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses, with excellent connections with coronavirologists internationally. Our laboratory is well-equipped with BSL3 animal facilities. The correct mix of critical mass of excellent researchers, available infrastructure and well established collaborations with researchers from the Middle East and China will allow us to break new grounds for MERS-CoV research. By identifying new intermediate viruses and hosts and new disease mechanisms, our studies will offer insights to prevention, diagnosis and treatment of MERS and future emerging CoVs.


Theme 1: Promoting Good Health
Project Title: Centre for Research into Circulating Fetal Nucleic Acids
Project Coordinator: Prof Dennis Yuk-ming LO (CUHK)

Abstract
Prenatal diagnosis is an integral part of obstetrics. Non-invasive prenatal testing based on circulating fetal DNA analysis has resulted in a paradigm shift in antenatal care. In 1997, the project coordinator first discovered the presence of cell-free fetal DNA in the circulation of pregnant women. In 2008, this research group was awarded funding for an Areas of Excellence (AoE) project (AoE/M-04/06). The funding enabled the team to make non-invasive DNA-based prenatal testing a clinical reality by developing a Down syndrome test that has subsequently been adopted in many countries. Another significant achievement was the non-invasive decoding of the fetal genome by maternal plasma DNA analysis. In the present proposal, we plan to bring together the same multidisciplinary team of pathologists, laboratory scientists, obstetricians, bioinformaticians and public health specialists, to solve the key unmet diagnostic needs in prenatal medicine. Specifically, we plan to develop the next generation tools for the analysis of cell-free nucleic acids and to study the biology and pathological characteristics of cellfree fetal nucleic acids that have not been unravelled to date. The novel tools and new biological insights will be directed towards the overall goal of developing approaches for the assessment of pregnancy-associated pathologies, such as single gene diseases, fetal demise and preeclampsia. The implications and benefits of non-invasive prenatal testing will be explored by an ethical, legal and social arm of our team. Knowledge and knowhow will be widely disseminated through training of postgraduate students and research personnel, as well as through educational workshops for the obstetrics and laboratory medicine professions.


Theme 2: Developing a Sustainable Environment
Project Title: Smart Urban Water Supply Systems (Smart UWSS)
Project Coordinator: Prof Mohamed S GHIDAOUI (HKUST)

Abstract
Urban water supply systems (UWSS) are the lifeline of 3 billion people globally; however, these vital systems are aging and fraught with deficiencies and inefficiencies. The World Bank estimates the monetary value of the lost water worldwide is about US$15 billion/year. Pipe failures can paralyze businesses and cause devastating urban floods. Worldwide, UWSS are challenged by urban growth and climate change. Yet current methods to diagnose leakages and defects in complex underground UWSS are highly inadequate.

Water infrastructure has been highlighted as a critical issue nationally-in the 2011 "No. 1 document" issued by the Chinese Central Government; in the 2011 "Green Quality Living in Greater Pearl River Delta" study; and in the 2008 "Total Water Management" and 2015 "Water Intelligent Network (WIN)" policies of the HK government. Indeed, HK has committed HK$23 billion to the rehabilitation and replacement of its water supply infrastructure. Many other countries are long overdue for massive UWSS upgrades (e.g., the American Water Works Association estimates that at least US$250 billion is needed in the USA alone).

The design and management of UWSS is currently limited by the range and resolution of data collection in the relatively inaccessible buried pipelines. Current methods fail to provide the diagnostic resolution needed for many practical problems. We propose a comprehensive theme-based research program involving theoretical, laboratory and field studies to develop a new diagnostic paradigm for water supply network monitoring and fault detection. We will study the sensing of actively generated waves that travel at high speeds (km/s) in the fluid in the pipe and to electronically capture wave echoes. The resulting data will be processed with advanced transient-based inverse methods and algorithms to pinpoint and characterize leaks, blockages and weak pipes. The theories will be evaluated in a field test bed in HK; a general pilot-scale demonstration experimental test bed will be developed for testing hydraulic transient behavior in UWSS.

We have assembled an internationally-recognized, cross-disciplinary research team to conduct the proposed research in close collaboration with the Water Supplies Department (WSD) of HK. The findings will enable timely detection of UWSS defects and proactive mitigation measures and will crucially contribute to the sustainable development of HK through water conservation.


Theme 2: Developing a Sustainable Environment
Project Title: Understanding Debris Flow Mechanisms and Mitigating Risks for a Sustainable Hong Kong
Project Coordinator: Prof Charles Wang-wai NG (HKUST)

Abstract
The risk of natural terrain landslides in Hong Kong is increasing due to urban encroachment on steep natural hillsides and more frequent extreme weather events. Disruptions caused by the landslides after the rainstorm on 7 June 2008, in particular debris flows, are vivid examples. In fact, the June 2008 rainstorm triggered many debris flows affecting developments including highways. The North Lantau Expressway, which is the sole vehicular access to the airport, was blocked by a debris flow for 16 hours. Unlike in many other regions, Hong Kong poses to engineers the challenges of heavy intensive rainfalls of over 2,000 mm per year, very steep slopes, densely populated areas and high land costs. All these challenges prevent the adoption of conventional and empirically based protective measures used in other parts of the world. A novel, safe and economical solution is urgently needed.

To reduce debris flow risks and to provide a safe and sustainable environment for economic growth in Hong Kong, a university-led industrial collaborative project will engage engineers, a computer scientist, an environmental scientist, an ecologist, and representatives from the Hong Kong Institution of Engineers.

This research project will adopt a holistic approach to tackle scientific challenges and to address the risk of debris flows in Hong Kong. It comprises of research studies in the following three inter-related key areas:

(a) Landslide material characterisation from micro to macro-scales and innovative monitoring techniques. The study aims to characterize typical Hong Kong debris flow materials at both particulate and continuum levels, from micro to macro-scales. A novel three-dimensional (3D) imaging system mounted on an unmanned aerial vehicle will be developed to capture high-resolution aerial images of inaccessible hillsides for establishing a terrain model for geomorphological appraisal and debris mobility assessment.

(b) Investigation of debris flow mechanisms. A state-of-the-art geotechnical centrifuge and a newly constructed large-scale in-situ flume using advanced instrumentation will be used in conjunction with a novel numerical model, which considers fluid-solid and solid-solid interactions, for simulations of debris flows. Field monitoring and physical model tests of debris flows will be conducted to provide data for calibration of the new debris flow numerical model.

(c) Risk mitigation measures. The use of multiple flexible barriers as a debris-resisting structure to mitigate the risk of debris flows will be studied for heavy rainfall and steep topography conditions in Hong Kong to validate the newly developed design guidelines.

The project will have an immediate impact on both local and international practice. It will lead to sustainable and proven mitigation measures, enhanced cost-effectiveness and more environmentally friendly maintenance and remediation works in Hong Kong and countries such as Canada, USA, Central and South Americas, Italy, Norway, the UK, and Malaysia, where debris flows are a constant threat. The scientific advancements and technologies from this project will also have impacts on the prevention and mitigation of snow avalanches and submarine landslides, mine tailing dams and food processing in which an improved fundamental understanding of particulate flows is also vital.


Theme 3: Enhancing Hong Kong's Strategic Position as a Regional and International Business Centre
Project Title: Safety, Reliability, and Disruption Management of High Speed Rail and Metro Systems
Project Coordinator: Prof Kwok-leung TSUI (CityU)

Abstract
Large network systems for electricity transmission, passenger transport, supply chain management, internet connectivity, finance and other applications may be increasing in complexity faster than we can ensure their safe, reliable and efficient operation. Monitoring technologies have developed just as rapidly, yielding large quantities of data. Massive challenges loom, however, in the synthesis of monitoring techniques with effective ways to mine the resulting data for information that can be acted on quickly and effectively.

Hong Kong has a reputation for innovation, dependability, efficiency and accountability in business services. Our proposal seeks to extend Hong Kong's advantages by establishing it as a center of expertise in the safety, reliability, and efficient management of complex network systems. We will focus specifically on high-speed rail (HSR) and urban (metro) train systems. It is anticipated that project results will be transportable to other complex network systems.

Our world-class team has expertise in the rapidly developing interconnected fields of remote sensing and monitoring, real-time probabilistic and statistical analysis of large,high-velocity data streams, and decision-theoretic techniques for economical operation of safe, reliable engineering systems. The proposed research is in two areas: ensuring the safety and reliability of HSR and metro engineering systems; and ensuring the safe and efficient management of passenger capacity, demand, scheduling and pricing. We will also prescribe decision processes for disaster management and rescheduling in the event of disruptions.

In the first area, engineering systems, we focus on safety and reliability of rails, wires and cables and locomotive components. We apply anomaly detection, failure discrimination, fault diagnostics and reliability degradation modeling to derive optimal maintenance schedules and supply chain management of critical components and spare parts. In the second area, people movement and capacity management, we will create strategies to forestall emergencies and respond to them when they occur. We will focus on fire safety, avoiding overcrowding scenarios, and optimal scheduling, pricing and revenue management. For post-disruption scenarios we focus on timetable adjustment and rolling stock and crew rescheduling.

主頁 > 獲資助研究項目 > 摘要 > 主題研究計劃撥款結果 > 第五輪計劃 > 第五輪主題研究計劃獲資助之研究項目摘要

第五輪主題研究計劃獲資助之研究項目摘要

主題1: 促進健康
項目名稱: 中東呼吸綜合症冠狀病毒跨種傳播和致病機制的分子基礎
項目統籌人: 胡釗逸教授(港大)

摘要

隨著人類免疫缺陷病毒(HIV)、流感病毒 (influenza virus)、嚴重急性呼吸道綜合症(SARS)冠狀病毒和伊波拉病毒 (Ebola virus) 等新發傳染病病毒在人類中的出現和爆發,人類全球性公共衛生環境面臨著嚴重的威脅。與其他新發病毒相比,冠狀病毒的研究最為薄弱。人類新型中東呼吸綜合症(MERS)冠狀病毒的爆發給全球性公共衛生環境以及世界衛生組織敲響了警鐘:人類新型中東呼吸綜合症冠狀病毒已被列為"威脅全人類健康的新型病毒"。與SARS不同的是,MERS在人類中的傳播與爆發更為複雜。人類SARS冠狀病毒來源於中國南方野生動物市場,野生動物所攜帶的冠狀病毒從野生動物傳播到人類,通過關閉野生動物市場,隔斷人與攜帶冠狀病毒的野生動物接觸,人類SARS冠狀病毒在人類中的傳播與爆發很快消失。與SARS不同,MERS在人類中的傳播可以持續兩年,而且MERS的死亡率高於百分之三十。我們的研究小組已經在人和動物中發現了許多國際未報道的新種冠狀病毒,並對發現的新種冠狀病毒進行了深入的鑒定與分析。在鑒定監測新冠狀病毒方面,我們已經開展了十餘年的研究。目前為止,我們所發現的新冠狀病毒數量是全球之冠。例如,我們的團隊已經發現並報道了人類SARS冠狀病毒,人類冠狀病毒HKU1,以及在蝙蝠中發現的類SARS冠狀病毒。更為重要的是最近鑒定與發現的扁顱蝠屬蝙蝠冠狀病毒HKU4和伏翼屬蝙蝠冠狀病毒HKU5(統稱為蝙蝠冠狀病毒HKU4和HKU5)。我們研究發現,蝙蝠冠狀病毒和MERS冠狀病毒的親緣關係很接近,這為鑒定尋找人類MERS冠狀病毒的動物傳染源頭建立了良好基礎,同時也為進一步深入研究冠狀病毒的致病機制建立了很好的平台。在過去的兩年裡,我們針對MERS 冠狀病毒開展了一系列的探索性實驗並已經取得了良好的實驗結果。首先,我們在蝙蝠中發現了一株與人類MERS冠狀病毒極其相似的冠狀病毒,和蝙蝠冠狀病毒株HKU4和HKU5相比,這株病毒株與MERS冠狀病毒的親緣關係更近。其次,我們建立了一個用於研究MERS冠狀病毒感染的動物模型。最後,我們同時發現了MERS冠狀病毒逃逸宿主防禦的新機制。基於以上新的發現和研究基礎上,我們針對MERS冠狀病毒提出三個重要的研究方向:第一,我們將致力於研究MERS冠狀病毒的進化機制,從而研究MERS冠狀病毒的傳播途徑和在人與動物之間的跨種傳播的機制。第二,我們將探索MERS冠狀病毒逃逸天然免疫系統的分子機制。第三,我們將研究MERS冠狀病毒在宿主的肺部及肺部以外器官的複製和致病的機理。我們的冠狀病毒研究小組隸屬於新發傳染病國家重點實驗室,已是國際領先的研究隊伍並孕育了諸多的冠狀病毒學家,研究組組長是病毒分類學國際委員會冠狀病毒研究組的成員,和其他國際冠狀病毒學家保持著良好的聯繫。而且,我們實驗室有進行危險病原動物試驗的生物安全三級實驗室。綜上所述,堅實的研究基礎、良好的研究環境以及與中東和中國的研究人員建立的良好合作關係,為我們順利開展MERS冠狀病毒的研究提供了優越的條件。通過鑒定MERS冠狀病毒的宿主和中間宿主,研究其新的致病機制,我們的研究將為MERS冠狀病毒以及將來可能出現的新的冠狀病毒的預防、診斷和治療提供很好的啟示作用。


主題1: 促進健康
項目名稱: 母體血漿胎兒核酸研究中心
項目統籌人: 盧煜明教授(中大)

摘要
產前診斷是產科服務必不可缺的的重要部分。基於母體血漿迴圈胎兒去氧核糖核酸(DNA)分析的無創性檢測突破了傳統模式,已帶來了產前診斷的革新和巨變。1997 年,專案統籌負責人,盧煜明教授,率先在孕婦的外周血漿中發現了遊離胎兒 DNA 的存在。2008 年,該研究團隊獲得了大學教育資助委員會卓越學科領域計畫 (AoE) 的資助 (AoE/M-04/06),研發了唐氏綜合症的無創檢驗方法,並成功應用於臨床診斷,逐步被多個國家所採用。這實現了基於 DNA 分析的無創性產前診斷技術從科學研究到臨床檢測的重大飛躍。另外,該團隊利用母體血漿 DNA 分析,破解了胎兒全基因組圖譜,是另一項顯著的研究成果。在此申請項目中,我們計畫組建由病理學家、實驗科學家、產科專家、生物資訊學家以及公共衛生專家等多學科研究團隊,共同解決產前領域的關鍵問題,以滿足臨床診斷的需要。尤其是研發用於分析遊離核酸的新一代技術,探索目前了解甚微的遊離胎兒核酸的生物學以及病理學特性。利用此項嶄新技術與生物學見解,致力于達成妊娠相關疾病(如單基因遺傳疾病、胎兒死亡、妊娠毒血症等)的無創診斷目標。無創性產前檢測的意義及益處也將從倫理、法律以及社會學等多角度探索分析。通過培養研究生與研究人員,通過予產科專家和醫學檢驗從業人員的教育工作坊,我們的研究成果帶來的知識資訊與檢驗技術也將進一步廣泛傳播,令更多人士受惠。


主題2: 建設可持續發展的環境
項目名稱: 智慧型城市供水系統
項目統籌人: 招捷達教授(科大)

摘要

城市供水系統是全球30多億人的生命線。然而因系統老化、運行低效和功能不足等問題,世界銀行估計全球每年因管網滲漏、爆裂而造成的爆裂而造成的用水流失約為150億美元。嚴重的爆水管導致市區水浸,癱瘓商業活動。面對城市化和氣候變化帶來的挑戰,很多國家都迫切需要改善它們的供水系統。

水利基建是全國性的重要議題,在2011年發表的《中央一號文件》、2011年的關於「綠色大珠三角地區優質生活圈」的研究工作,以及香港政府2008年的「全面水資源管理」和2015年的「智管網」政策中均是重點。美國水務工程協會估計,單是改善美國的供水系統就需要耗費2500億美元。香港政府亦已投資約230億港元,進行水管更換及修復計劃。

由於城市供水管網一般都敷設於地底,難以直接進入,系統的設計和維修都受到探測方法所限制。目前的探測和數據收集方法難以準確判斷滲漏的範圍和位置。因此,我們提出一個主題研究項目,去開發一套嶄新的城市供水管網故障識別與檢測系統。項目將包括理論研究,模型試驗與現場測試。研究成果可用於實時診斷與檢測城市供水管網系統的缺陷,並提供積極的解決方案。為此,我們組織了一個國際性的跨學科精英研究團隊來開發新一代的智慧型城市供水系統。

本主題研究提出在待測管道中產生高速的(速度大約每秒1公里)水壓力波,然後利用高靈敏度傳感器採集水壓力波的反饋信息。收集到的數據將會透過先進的水動力學的反演法分析,從而確定水管中存在的滲漏、阻塞和水管管壁變弱的位置和特徵。這些理論與方法將會首先在香港的一個現場試驗系統進行測試與驗證。另外,我們將會建立一個多用途的中試規模的實驗系統來示範城市管道系統水流及水壓的瞬變現象與過程。

我們在進行本主題項目研究時,將與香港水務署緊密合作。研究符合香港政府的「智管網」政策,成果將為香港的可持續發展,特別在水資源節約與保護方面,作出重大的貢獻。


主題2: 建設可持續發展的環境
項目名稱: 香港泥石流流動機理及風險控制
項目統籌人: 吳宏偉教授(科大)

摘要

香港山多平地少,人口稠密,城市不斷向陡峭的天然坡地發展,加上極端天氣日益頻繁,因此,香港的山地滑坡和泥石流風險與日俱增。2008年6月7日香港特大暴雨所誘發的多處山体滑坡和山泥傾瀉所造成的災害仍歷歷在目。受泥石流影響,香港國際機場的唯一陸上通道 - 大嶼山高速公路被泥石流中斷達16小時。與其它地區不同的是,香港的泥石流防治受到各種特殊條件的挑戰,包括超過2000毫米的高強年降雨量、陡峭的山坡、密集的人口以及昂貴的地價。因此,世界上其它地方採用的基於經驗方法的傳統泥石流防護措施並不適用於香港。目前急需研究開發適用於香港的安全、經濟、新型的解決方案。

為防治泥石流災害且為香港的經濟發展提供一個安全可持續的環境,本研究項目以大學為主導,並與工業界緊密合作,組成了包括工程學、計算機科學、環境科學、生態學及香港工程師學會代表的跨界跨學科研究團隊,對香港泥石流進行系統科學的研究。

本研究項目包含以下三個聯繫緊密的重要課題:
(1)泥石流物料的宏微觀特性試驗及泥石流現場監測新技術。本課題將測試香港常見泥石流物料從顆粒到連續體、從微觀到宏觀的多尺度力學特性。研發搭載無人機的三維數字地形測量系統,以快速建立高精度的地形模型,對泥石流流動性能進行評估。
(2)泥石流的流動機理研究。本課題將利用先進的土工離心機,並建造一個大型泥石流試驗水槽,配置最先進的監測儀器模擬泥石流。本課題還將發展新型的多尺度泥石流數值模型,用於研究泥石流中固相-液相之間以及顆粒-顆粒之間的相互作用。泥石流現場監測、離心機試驗和試驗水槽測量的數據將用於標定此新型的多尺度數值模型。
(3)泥石流的風險控制措施。針對香港降雨強度大和山坡陡峭的特點,本課題將研究和開發用以阻擋泥石流的多層次柔性防護網,以降低泥石流的風險和危害,並為多層次柔性泥石流防護網的設計指南提供科學數據和試驗驗證。

本研究項目將對香港及世界各地的泥石流防護技術發展產生直接的影響。本研究項目將開發出具有可持續性、可靠性的泥石流防護技術,它的造價更經濟、維護更環保,可推廣應用於香港以及加拿大、美國、中南美洲、意大利、挪威、英國、馬來西亞等容易發生泥石流的國家和地區。本項目對顆粒流的科學發現和技術進步更將進一步提升對防治雪崩、海底滑坡、礦山滑坡及食品加工等過程的認識和研究。


主題3: 加強香港作為地區及國際商業中心的策略地位
項目名稱: 高速鐵路和鐵道系統的安全性、可靠性及應急管理研究
項目統籌人: 徐國良教授(城大)

摘要

服務於電力傳輸、旅客運輸、供應鏈管理、網路連接,金融和其他等方面的大型網路系統呈現愈來愈複雜的趨勢,如何提供安全可靠有效的操作是亟待解決的難題。隨著監控技術的快速發展,大量的資料應運而生。面對新的挑戰,監控技術與高效的資料採擷手段的融合成為了一種快速有效的解決方式。

香港因其創新、獨立、高效和對顧客負責的特點而在服務行業久負盛名。針對香港在複雜網路系統安全性、可靠性和高效管理方面的專業經驗,本提案致力於進一步擴大香港在該領域的優勢。我們將會主要關注高速鐵路系統和城市軌道系統,但我們的研究結果也對其他複雜系統研究有一定的參考價值。

作為一支世界一流的研究團隊,我們的學者遍佈眾多交叉領域,如遙感和監控、大型高速資料流程即時分析與統計、安全高效工程系統的決策理論等。我們提案研究主要涵蓋兩個方面:確保高速鐵路系統和城市軌道系統的安全可靠性和確保乘客客流、需求、車次安排和票價等方面的安全與有效管理。同時,針對災害回應和系統服務中斷後的重排程,我們也會提供決策支持。

第一個方面為工程系統,我們關注軌道、線纜和機車的安全與可靠性。我們將應用異常檢測,故障識別,故障診斷和可靠性退化模型為鐵路系統的重要組塊和閒置部件提供最優的維護計畫和供應鏈管理策略。第二個方面為人員流動和系統性能管理,我們試圖防範於未然,為可能產生的緊急情況提供可行的回應策略。火災安全,避免人群過度擁擠、最優的調度、定價和收入管理是本提案的重點內容。針對系統中斷後的恢復,我們將關注車次表調整、車輛和人員的重排程。