Home > Funded Research > Layman Summaries > Funding Result > Third Round > Theme-based Research Scheme - Third Round Layman Summaries of Projects Funded

Theme-based Research Scheme - Third Round Layman Summaries of Projects Funded

Theme 1: Promoting Good Health
Project Title: Systematic Development of Molecular Targets for Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma
Project Coordinator: Professor Kwok-wai Lo (CUHK)

Abstract
The distinct occurrence and highest global incidence of Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma (NPC) in South China has crowned this deadly malignancy as the "Cantonese Cancer". NPC is a major health-care problem in Hong Kong, where it is also the most prevalent cancer in our middle-aged workforce population. Despite advances in current radio-chemotherapy, poor clinical outcome remains the major concern in >60% of newly diagnosed NPC patients, who are usually presented with advanced stage disease. The key problems of these patients are distant failure and lack of efficient treatment for recurrent diseases. New clinical interventions to treat the disease, prolong disease-free survival and improve quality of life of patients are therefore of strategic importance.

A comprehensive understanding of genetic changes involved in NPC tumorigenesis is expected to offer the basis for research to develop promising disease control strategies for this cancer. Systematic discovering driver genetic lesions and apprehending how they contribute to transformation and progression of NPC are essential information to underpin reliable biomarkers and novel molecular targets for therapy; the cornerstone of developing patient-specific personalized medicine. In this application, we propose to decode the DNA sequence of entire NPC genome and thereby catalogue the whole spectrum of genomic changes involved in NPC tumorigenesis by massive parallel genome sequencing. Our team will systematically define the driver mutations and identify key "molecular targets" through large-scale whole genome and transcriptome sequencing, bioinformatic analysis and extensive validation in microdissected primary NPC samples using our newly developed technologies. Functional studies will confirm the oncogenic activities and biological significances of candidate driver mutations. To translate the genomic findings to specific NPC biomarkers, statistical analysis will be conducted to determine the clinical correlation between somatic variants and patients' clinical outcome. Importantly, candidate molecular targets and relevant tumour dependency can be elucidated for their therapeutic potentials in our unique panel of in vitro and in vivo NPC models. The finding will provide important novel biomarkers and therapeutic targets for developing personalized cancer treatment strategies. We expect this project would make strategic breakthrough in molecular genetics of NPC and contribute significant impact to the control of this common cancer.


Theme 1: Promoting Good Health
Project Title: An Integrated Trans-omics Approach to Diabetic Cardio-renal Complications: From Novel Discoveries to Personalized Medicine
Project Coordinator: Professor Ching-wan Ronald Ma (CUHK)

Abstract
Diabetes is a major health problem worldwide, including in Hong Kong. Most of the healthcare burden from diabetes is associated with the management of diabetic complications, in particular, cardiovascular and renal complications. Diabetes is the major cause of end-stage renal disease (ESRD), and increases the risk of cardiovascular disease (CVD) by 3-4 fold. Asian patients with type 2 diabetes (T2D) are particularly prone to renal complications when compared to patients of European origin. Only few genetic markers have so far been identified to predict diabetic cardiovascular-renal complications. Discovery of novel genetic or other biomarkers for diabetic complications can help identify at risk subjects for intensive risk factors management, advance our understanding of disease pathogenesis, revolutionize care and provide novel targets for drug development. In this Grand Challenge, we aim to utilize the unique resource from the Hong Kong Diabetes Registry, with more than 10,000 patients with T2D with detailed biochemical assessment of risk factors and documentation of medication history, who have been prospectively followed up for a mean duration of 8 years, with an accrual of 4,000 events of cardiovascular and renal complications. We will utilize a multi-omic approach and use new-generation sequencing (NGS) and other technologies to conduct a comprehensive evaluation of the genome, epigenome and transcriptome of diabetic patients with complications and diabetic patients free of complications despite long duration of disease. We will utilize advanced bioinformatics analysis to integrate findings from these different approaches. Insights from this multi-faceted investigation will be compared to findings from animal models of diabetic complications. We will use bioinformatics, in vitro experiments and animal models to characterize the functional significance and regulatory pathways of novel genes identified from the genomic studies. In addition to novel biological discoveries, we aim to translate our findings and examine the clinical significance of these novel biomarkers, as well as their interactions with different treatments on disease outcomes. Finally, we will leverage on the existing healthcare infrastructure and detailed clinical information available to establish an expanded diabetes registry and biobank with contribution from major diabetes centres across Hong Kong for large-scale replication of any novel biomarkers discovered. This resource will be a first-of-its-kind. In sum, the translation of our genomic discoveries to clinical care will consolidate Hong Kong as a centre for innovative biomedical research and chronic care excellence.


Theme 2: Developing a Sustainable Environment
Project Title: Smart Solar Energy Harvesting, Storage, and Utilization
Project Coordinator: Professor Ching-ping Wong (CUHK)

Abstract
The fast-growing demand for energy and the recognition of man-made global climate change underscore the urgency of developing clean and renewable energy resources to replace fossil fuels. Harvesting energy directly from sunlight by using photovoltaics (PV), photocatalysis, artificial photosynthesis, and other enabling technologies is a promising way to meet such requirements. As an alternative to conventional PV cells based on crystalline silicon wafer, vacuum-deposited CIGS and CZTS thin-film PV cells as well as solution-processed inorganic and organic thin-film PV cells offer processing advantages that will likely enable low-cost, high-throughput, and large-area PV production. Furthermore, the development of efficient and smart energy storage systems is imperative to effectively ensure reliable energy supply and increase the penetration of solar energy utilization. To sustainably utilize solar energy, intelligent power distribution grids need to be locally developed for solar energy generation, storage, and utilization at affordable cost and with enhanced security of supply through flexible transition between grid interconnected and islanded operating modes. All of these issues are in line with the strategic objectives on sustainable development outlined by the Hong Kong Government in 2005.

The proposed research scheme is aimed at the aforementioned strategic objectives through exploring various approaches in solar energy harvesting, storage, and utilization, to increase solar penetration to 10% in a selected campus building microgrid system under grid interconnected operation, and more importantly explore the feasibility of enhancing local security and independency of electricity supply of the microgrid through solar enabled islanded operation by end of 2017. The merit of this scheme lies in the fact that solar energy harvesting, storage, and utilization are holistically considered and thereafter they will be meticulously investigated. Accordingly the research topics covered by this scheme include: (1) the development of high-performance vacuum deposited thin-film PV devices and modules with new materials and processing techniques, particularly based on earth-abundant materials; (2) the establishment of an interdisciplinary research platform for fundamental research in solution-processed thin-film PV devices and modules based on inorganic and organic active materials, as well as the development of novel light-trapping schemes for efficiency enhancement; (3) the exploration of novel metal-oxides and organic dyes for chemical fuels production via artificial photosynthesis and photocatalysis; (4) the development of new materials and processing approaches for high energy-density batteries and supercapacitors, so as to realize a hybrid storage system; (5) the development of advanced strategies to integrate, manage, and control various subsystems based on information and communication technology (ICT) infrastructure and protocols, so as to enhance the performance and security of solar-enabled microgrids under various operating modes; (6) the practical demonstration of microgrid (MG) operations based on intelligent control and integration of PV modules, smart storages and loads and other technologies in a laboratory and selected campus building systems under interconnected and islanded modes.

Hong Kong has demonstrated its uniqueness and strengths in development of high-performance PV technologies, but not yet in the development of smart electricity storage and distributed grid systems. The proposed theme aims to strengthen the competitive edge of Hong Kong in solar energy technologies and their market penetration by combining the newly developed PV modules with the intelligent system integration. It is anticipated that the theme will not only create an interdisciplinary research platform for fundamental studies on solar energy harvesting, storage, and utilization, but also advocate applied research (e.g. development of flexible PVs) that leads to technology transfer to industry. The impact of the theme will be reflected in excellent R&D personnel training and generation of publications in leading journals, invited lectures at international conferences and intellectual properties that will benefit high-tech industry. All these will eventually lead to the formation of an area of excellence as well as to the substantial technology transfer of solar energy technologies in Hong Kong and beyond.

主頁 > 獲資助研究項目 > 摘要 > 主題研究計劃撥款結果 > 第三輪計劃 > 第三輪主題研究計劃獲資助之研究項目摘要

第三輪主題研究計劃獲資助之研究項目摘要

主題1:促進健康
項目名稱:系統性開發鼻咽癌的分子靶標
項目統籌人:羅國煒教授(中大)

摘要
鼻咽癌是中國南方特別常見的致命惡性腫瘤. 其中華南地區的發病率是全球最高, 因此又被稱為"廣東癌"。鼻咽癌在香港是一個主要的醫療保健問題, 在中年勞動力人口中發病最為普遍。儘管現在的放射及化學治療非常進步, 然而超過60%的鼻咽癌患者在初次診斷時已是晚期癌症及預後仍然很差。其中關鍵問題是對癌症擴散和復發缺乏有效治療。因此發展嶄新臨床方案以治療癌症患者,延長其生存期和提高生活質量對控制鼻咽癌非常重要。

全面認識與鼻咽癌致癌機理有關的基因改變對發展有效控制癌症的策略非常重要。系統分析鼻咽癌的驅動基因突變及其對鼻咽癌的轉變和進展的作用等基本信息, 是發展可靠的生物標誌和新的分子靶向治療的依據及個體化治療的基礎。在本研究申請中, 我們計劃使用大規模平行基因組測序方法對鼻咽癌的全基因組DNA序列進行解碼, 由此建立鼻咽癌基因組改變完整目錄。我們的研究組將對原發性鼻咽癌腫瘤組織微切割樣本進行大規模全基因組和轉錄組序列, 生物信息分析及廣泛驗證, 並系統地鑒定驅動突變和關鍵的分子標靶。我們將進行功能研究以確定候選的驅動突變的致癌活性和生物學意義。為了把基因組的發現轉化成鼻咽癌的分子標誌,我們將使用統計分析方法確定基因變異與病人臨床預後的聯繫。在我們建立的獨特的體外模型和鼻咽癌活體模型中研究候選分子標靶與相關腫瘤的依賴更可以闡明體它們的治療潛力。這些發現將為發展癌症個體化治療策略提供重要的新分子標誌和治療標靶。我們預期該項研究計劃將促使鼻咽癌分子遺傳學研究的突破和對控制此常見腫瘤產生顯著深遠的影響。

主題1:促進健康
項目名稱:對糖尿病心血管及腎臟併發症的跨組學基因研究 - 從創新發現至個性化治療
項目統籌人:馬青雲教授(中大)

摘要
糖尿病已成為香港以及全球性的威脅人類健康的主要疾病之一。糖尿病所帶來的醫療負擔,主要是由於對其併發症的治療,尤其是心血管和腎臟的併發症。糖尿病是末期腎病的主要原因,而且,將使心血管疾病的發病風險增高3-4倍。與歐洲的糖尿病人相比較,亞洲糖尿病人更加傾向於罹患腎臟併發症。目前,僅鑑定出極少數的遺傳標記,可用於預測糖尿病的心血管-腎臟併發症。探索和發現新的糖尿病併發症相關的遺傳或其它生物標記,將有助於識別高危人士而對其進行風險因素的強化控制;將進一步提高我們對發病機制的認識及促進治療水平的提升;還將為藥物研發提供新的靶向。面對這個巨大的挑戰,我們將利用"香港糖尿病登記"這一獨特的資源,進行相關的研究和探索。"香港糖尿病登記"收錄了10000多個2型糖尿病病人的資料,包括糖尿病及其併發症相關風險因素的生化指標評估 和藥物治療史的採集。這些病人的平均隨訪時間已經達到了8年,累計發生了4000個心血管及腎臟相關的臨床終點事件。我們將採用多組學的方法、應用新一代測序及其它先進分子生物學技術,在罹患併發症和病程較長但?併發症的糖尿病人之間,研究和比較基因組、表觀基因組及轉錄組的變化和特徵。並且,我們將應用先進的生物信息學方法?這些跨組學基因研究的結果進行綜合分析;所獲得的結果還將與糖尿病併發症動物模型的研究結果進行比較。我們還將利用生物信息學、體外實驗和動物模型方法,分析和驗證所鑑定的新基因的功能和調節途徑。此外,我們還旨在將這些研究結果轉化為臨床應用,檢驗和分析這些新遺傳標記的臨床應用價值,以及遺傳標記與治療藥物相互作用對疾病轉歸的影響。最終,我們將利用現有的醫療基礎設施和詳細的臨床資料建立和擴展"香港糖尿病登記"和"生物樣本庫",同時聯合香港其它糖尿病研究中心,對所發現的新生物標記進行大規模的驗證,使之成為史無前例的資源。總之,把我們基因組研究的新成果轉化為臨床醫療應用,將進一步鞏固香港作為創新生物醫學研究和卓越醫療中心的地位。


主題2:建設可持續發展的環境
項目名稱:智能化太陽能技術:採集、存儲和應用
項目統籌人:汪正平教授(中大)

摘要
隨著人類對能源需求的快速增長以及使用傳統化石燃料所導致的全球氣候惡化,人類急需開發和利用潔淨可再生能源以代替化石燃料的使用。從太陽光獲取能源是一種非常有前途的方式來滿足這些需求。具體的實現途徑有光電轉換,光催化,人工光合作用和其他太陽能捕獲技術。其中,使用太陽能電池實現光電轉換是利用太陽能的一個主要方式。相對於傳統的矽基太陽能電池,真空沉積技術製造的銅銦鎵硒和銅鋅錫硫薄膜太陽能電池和基於溶液製作流程的無機和有機薄膜光伏電池使得低成本,高產量和大面積太陽能電池組件的生產成為可能。進而,為保障可靠的電力供應和增加太陽能利用的廣度與深度,高效及智慧化的能源存儲系統亟待發展。同時,為了可持續地利用太陽能,人們必須建立區域化的智慧配電系統以保障能源的產生和存儲,及低成本的使用。此外通過靈活的電網互聯調配和孤島運行模式之間的有效轉換,從而實現更為安全可靠的電力供給。所有這些研究目標都與香港特區政府於2005年擬定的可持續發展綱要密切相關。

我們所提出的研究計劃緊密圍繞香港特區政府的可持續發展綱要,亦即開發多種途徑以實現太陽能的有效轉換,可靠存儲和使用。總體而言,我們將研究在微電網互聯運行模式下實現校園選定建築物10%的電力供給。進一步,我們將在2017年底前探索微電網孤島運行模式下太陽能供電的區域安全性和獨立性。我們提出的微電網運行模式其優勢在於全方位地考慮太陽能的轉化,存儲和利用。本計劃擬研究如下課題:(1)開發高性能的真空沉積的薄膜太陽能電池結構和組件技術,著重於新材料(尤其基於自然界中富含元素的光吸收材料)和新的工藝技術。(2)建立跨學科研究平臺,開展無機和有機光伏活性材料,溶液工藝製作的太陽能電池和組件的基礎研究;同時開發新型的光採集形式以提高電池的光電轉換效率。(3)開發新型的金屬氧化物和有機染料分子, 從而在化學燃料的合成中實現高效的人工光合作用和光催化。(4)開發新材料和新工藝技術以實現高能量密度的蓄電池和超電容,及由此構建的混和存儲系統。(5)開發基於先進資訊和通訊技術基礎設施和傳輸協議的控制策略以實現集成,管理,和控制各種子系統,從而增強太陽能技術和微電網系統在各種運行模式下的性能和安全性(6)在實驗室和校園選定的建築物內進行基於智慧控制,一體化的太陽能組件,智慧存儲和電力使用,以及與其他技術相結合的微電網運行以及實際應用示範。在此,我們將試驗互聯和孤島兩種模式的微電網運行調配。


香港已經具備利用太陽能的獨特地理優勢以及高性能太陽能技術的開發和研究能力,但是在智慧電力存儲和智慧配電系統方面的研究仍為空白。我們的目標在於通過結合本研究計劃所開發的光伏組件技術和智慧集成系統來增強香港在太陽能技術方面的競爭能力和擴大其太陽能在能源領域的實際使用率。我們提出的基礎研究,技術開發,和實際應用的技術途徑,不僅能夠創建在太陽能採集,存儲和應用方面的跨學科研究平臺,也能夠促進面向工業技術轉化方面的應用研究,比如柔性光伏組件和微電網的開發。本研究計劃的影響力將表現在:優秀研發人員的培養,國際頂尖雜誌論文的發表,國際會議的邀請報告和講座,以及有助於發展高新科技產業的知識產權的獲取。總之,這些研究目標的最終實現將使香港成為一個在太陽能技術方面具有核心競爭力的區域,同時也期望在香港本土及全世界範圍實現可觀的太陽能技術的轉讓。