Home > Funded Research > Layman Summaries > Areas of Excellence Scheme > Areas of Excellence Scheme - 1st Round

Areas of Excellence Scheme - 1st Round

First Round Exercise

  • Information Technology
    • Total Funding Approved : HK$51M
    • Indicative Project Time-Frame : 2000 - 2005
    • Co-ordinating Institution : The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (Prof Roland Chin)

    Building on the proven strengths of world-class researchers and the excellent facilities of each university in information technology, the project aims to put Hong Kong on the world map as one of the key players in information technology, thereby contributing to the transformation of Hong Kong into an information technology society with a strong value-added economy. This collaborative effort of The Chinese University of Hong Kong, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology and The University of Hong Kong will achieve its mission through the promotion of information technology education; the conduct of high impact research and development projects including networking technology, multi-media technology and Internet applications; and the transfer of relevant technology to the commercial world.


  • Hong Kong Institute of Economics and Business Strategy
    • Total Funding Approved : HK$36.2M
    • Indicative Project Time-Frame : 2000 - 2006
    • Co-ordinating Institution : The University of Hong Kong (Prof Richard Wong)

    HIEBS aims to become the leading international center for the study of economic policy and business strategy focusing on the dynamic role of Hong Kong in China and the Asia Pacific Region, as well as in the world. It also conducts independent and pioneering research studies, to advance the frontiers of both theoretical and applied knowledge in this area, to develop and deliver innovative educational programs to train researchers and practitioners for Hong Kong, Mainland China and the Asia-Pacific region, and to have an impact on the formulation of policy choices and business strategies. This new adventure is co-ordinated by The University of Hong Kong and benefits from cooperation with other local and overseas institutions.


  • Center for Plant and Agricultural Biotechnology (Previously known as Plant and Fungal Biotechnology)
    • Total Funding Approved : HK$63.823M (HK$38.823M (2000-2006) + HK$25M Sustained Funding (2007-2011))
    • Indicative Project Time-Frame : 2000 - 2011
    • Co-ordinating Institution : The Chinese University of Hong Kong (Prof Samuel Sun)

    To address the problems due to increasing population, shrinking and low-yielding cultivation lands that China and the region face, it is the mission of this project to increase crop production and enhance quality through biotechnology, by generating improved agricultural products, novel technological platforms and knowledge, and well-trained manpower in the field of biotechnology, to serve Hong Kong, China, and beyond.

    The main issues related to agricultural production include: (1) quality improvement (e.g. improved nutritional value), (2) per acreage yield enhancement (e.g. more effective utilization of solar energy); and (3) increase in stress tolerance (e.g. cultivation on marginal lands with adverse environmental conditions). This project selected special issues (related to these major agricultural problems) based on the emerging needs in China and the world. To boost the potential economic value of agriculture, the project team will also attempt to generate value-added products from crop plants.

    In summary, the overall strategy of this project is to build a pipeline for biotechnology crop production, through identification of useful genes from elite germplasms; transfer those genes into designated crops (e.g. rice) to produce new lines with improved agronomic performance; conduct field trials and safety assessment; and finally to deliver a set of carefully designed and assessed parental lines to traditional breeders.

主頁 > 獲資助研究項目 > 摘要 > 卓越學科領域計劃 > 卓越學科領域計劃 - 第一輪

卓越學科領域計劃 - 第一輪

第一輪計劃

  • 資訊科技
    • 撥款:5,100萬港元
    • 暫定研究時限:二○○○年至二○○五年
    • 統籌院校:香港科技大學(錢大康教授)

    這個項目建基於各所大學在資訊科技研究方面所擁有的世界級研究員及一流設施,旨在使香港晉身成為國際資訊科技領域中的重要一員,從而帶動香港轉型為一個資訊科技社會,發展高增值的經濟體系。香港中文大學、香港科技大學及香港大學將會攜手合作,透過推廣資訊科技教育,進行影響深遠的研究及發展項目 (例如聯網科技、多媒體科技及互聯網應用技術),並將有關技術轉移至商界,以達成上述使命。


  • 香港經濟與企業策略研究所
    • 撥款:3,620萬港元
    • 暫定研究時限:二○○○年至二○○六年
    • 統籌院校:香港大學(王于漸教授)

    香港經濟與企業策略研究所旨在成為國際首屈一指的經濟政策及企業策略研究中心,專門研究香港在中國、亞太地區、以至全球所扮演的互動角色。這個研究所亦會獨立地進行一些首創的調查研究,務求進一步掌握上述範疇的理論和應用知識,發展及舉辦嶄新的教學課程,培訓香港、中國內地及亞太地區的研究員及從業員,並在政策方案及企業策略的制訂上發揮影響力。這個新項目以香港大學為首,亦獲得其他本地及海外院校合作參與。


  • 植物及農業生物科技中心(前身為植物與真菌生物技術)
    • 撥款:6,382萬港元 (3,882萬港元(二○○○年至二○○六年) + 2,500萬港元持續撥款(二○○七年至二○一一年))
    • 暫定研究時限:二○○○年至二○一一年
    • 統籌院校:香港中文大學(辛世文教授)

    中國及周邊國家正面對人口增加與農耕地的流失及退化所引致的糧食穩定生產問題。這研究中心的使命是運用嶄新生物科技,改良及提升主要農作物的產量及質量。並通過農作物的改良,創新技術平台與知識的開發,以及人材的培訓,來服務香港中國及更多地方。

    主要的農作物生產問題包括: (1) 質量改良 (例如如何提升營養價值),(2) 畝產提升 (例如如何提高使用太陽能之效益) 與 (3) 增加抗逆性 (例如如何在邊緣土地的不利環境下耕種等)。這項目的課題(針對上述的主要農業問題)是基於中國及全球正面臨的需求而挑選的。為進一步提高農業的潛在經濟價值,研究小組更嘗試於作物植物中生產增值產品。

    總括而言,這個研究項目的策略是建立生產生物科技作物的渠道,由珍貴種質資源中鑑別有用基因,轉化該等基因進入目標作物 (如水稻) 以生產具備優化農藝成效的新品種,並通過田間試驗及安全測試,最終能遞交一系列經過嚴格篩選及測試的新農作物父母本,予傳統育種家去應用。