Home > Funded Research > Funding Results > Funding Results of Other Schemes > Results of RGC Collaborative Research Fund 2012/2013 Released > RGC Collaborative Research Fund - Layman Summaries of Projects Funded in 2012/2013 Exercise

RGC Collaborative Research Fund - Layman Summaries of Projects Funded in 2012/2013 Exercise

Syndromic Surveillance and Modeling for Infectious Diseases
Project Coordinator: Prof Kwok-leung Tsui (CityU)

The outbreaks of SARS and swine flu have exposed the need for early outbreak detection and effective disease-spread simulation analysis for health resource management under pandemic outbreaks. Current surveillance systems lack the ability to interrogate disparate data and diverse datasets and sources, and are inaccurate in predicting infectious disease outbreaks and spread trends. This research will develop a radically new "syndromic surveillance" approach to enable reliable data-oriented infectious disease forecasting, simulation, and risk analysis. We shall:

  • Develop advanced data-mining methods to understand and extract disease transmission dynamics and mechanisms based on multiple infectious disease data sources.
  • Develop syndromic surveillance methods for analyzing public health related data for early detection of infectious disease outbreaks.
  • Develop stochastic influenza simulation and health economics models for mimicking disease-spread and risk assessment.
  • Validate the proposed research models through simulated outbreaks, clinical experiments and field experiments, and medical data from previous pandemic periods.

Functional Plasmonics with Energy Localization for Sensing, Nano-Actuation and Optoelectronics
Project Coordinator: Prof Ho Ho-pui (CUHK)

When an electromagnetic field impinges at the surface of a metal object, the field strength immediately becomes enhanced because of the induced oscillatory movement of the free electrons inside. These oscillations are also called surface plasmons. Plasmonics is a new term that collectively describes the science and technology of this effect. Surface plasmons have many desirable attributes, including amplification of intensity near the metal surface and strong field localization in the nanometer scale. Such properties are very attractive for a wide range of photonics applications. One excellent example is the plasmonic biosensor which is capable of detecting biomolecules with extremely high sensitivity. Because of plasmonics, optical traps for the manipulation of nanosized objects have become possible.

Physical exercise promotes vascular health: impact of mechano-transduction and novel endothelium-derived regulators
Project Coordinator: Prof Huang Yu (CUHK)

Cardiovascular disease (CVD), one of leading causes of mortality and disability in Hong Kong, is attributed primarily to the high prevalence of obesity and diabetes. Endothelial cell dysfunction is the key initiator in the development of vascular diseases including arteriosclerosis, thrombosis, and their complications. Current drug therapies only partially alleviate diabetic symptoms but cannot reverse the disease progression. It is therefore necessary to develop more effective strategies against diabetic vasculopathy.

Physical activity produces multiple benefits against CVD. Exercise increases blood flow and shear stress to the vessel wall, which is a key mechanism for exercise-induced vascular benefits. Different shear stress patterns have profound regulatory effects on gene expressions involved in atherosclerosis, vascular inflammation, remodeling, and regeneration processes. Our preliminary results indicate that increasing laminar shear stress by exercise in diabetic mice improves endothelial function through inhibition of vascular stress signaling involving several transcription factors. However, a series of scientific questions remain to be addressed before we can better appreciate the vascular and metabolic benefits of exercise.

This proposal shall be the first of its type in Hong Kong to address the benefits of physical exercise on vascular health. The findings from the proposed study shall provide new mechanistic insights into the identification of novel targets in CVD, and will arouse public awareness over the importance of physical activity in the quality of life, especially in our ageing population in Hong Kong. Our well-established expertise and focused efforts from three local institutes and the collaboration with leading vascular biologists in mainland China and Taiwan will help us to develop an integrated platform for studying diabetes and obesity-related vascular diseases.

Macrophage-Myofibroblast-Transition in Organ Fibrosis: Molecular Mechanisms and Clinical Implications
Project Coordinator: Prof Lan Hui-yao (CUHK)

Tissue scarring or fibrosis is a final common pathway leading to end-stage organ failure in many life-threatening diseases, including cardiovascular disease, chronic kidney disease, liver disease, and pulmonary disorder. Myofibroblasts are key scar-producing cells leading to end-stage organ scarring. However, their origin remains controversial. Thus, the ultimate goals of this project are to further strengthen the established research expertise in tissue scarring in Hong Kong, to conduct a pioneering study to identify macrophage-myofibroblast- transition (MMT) as a new pathway in organ fibrosis, to delineate the new mechanisms that regulate MMT, and to develop novel anti-fibrosis therapies by targeting MMT.

Multifunctional ultrasensitive sensing with hybrid gold-diamond nano-systems
Project Coordinator: Prof Liu Ren-bao (CUHK)

Magnetic resonance spectroscopy has a broad range of applications such as NMR and MRI used in hospitals. A new opportunity in this field is the emergence of optically detected magnetic resonance using paramagnetic color centers in diamond, which has potential of monitoring chemical, biological and thermal processes with nanometer resolution. In this project, we will develop nano-sensors based on hybrid systems of nanodiamond and gold nanoparticles for enhanced optically detected magnetic resonance. We will employ the nano-sensors to study in-depth microscopic mechanisms in nano-chemical systems and in cells.

Development of New Methodologies for New Carborane Materials
Project Coordinator: Prof Xie Zuo-wei (CUHK)

The aim of this project is to conduct research into developing new efficient synthetic methodologies for the preparation of new functionalized carborane-containing materials for possible applications in BNCT and organic semiconductors.

Carboranes are a class of boron hydride clusters in which one or more of the BH vertices are replaced by CH units. They are thermally and chemically very stable molecules, and they are being applied in medicine as agents for boron neutron capture therapy (BNCT), and in materials science as building blocks, and in organometallic/coordination chemistry as ligands. However, there are limited efficient synthetic methods known for the preparation of functional carborane materials because of their unique structure, which has restricted the applications to within a narrow scope. To address these challenges, we have assembled a team with complementary expertise in the research areas of carboranes, organometallics, catalysis, computational chemistry, chemical biology, and organic materials.

Our previous work on carborane chemistry shows that the cage C-H behaves as an electron-deficient aliphatic moiety, whereas the cage B-H has more of an aromatic character. In this connection, we plan to actively explore transition metal-mediated or catalyzed cage B-H/C-H activation and to develop new methodologies for assembling complex molecules from simple ones in a single operation. The reaction mechanisms involved will be investigated by a combination of computational and experimental methods.

The new synthetic methods developed in this research will be used for the generation of novel organic semiconductors incorporating functional carborane moieties and new BNCT agents. It is expected that this research will not only enhance our basic understanding of cage carbon and boron chemistry, but that it will also generate new carborane-containing materials.

Study of Microglia and Myeloid Leukemia in Zebrafish
Project Coordinator: Prof Zilong WEN (HKUST)

Microglia are resident macrophages in the brain and spinal cord, and play critical roles in the generation of immune response, clearance of damaged cells and plaques, and regulation of neural circuit plasticity and activity in the central nervous system (CNS). Irregularities in microglia functions are associated with the onset and progression of a variety of CNS diseases and neurodegenerative disorders. In this proposal, we will utilize zebrafish, a popular model for studying many aspects of vertebrate development and human diseases, to dissect the development and function of microglia in the developing and adult CNS. We anticipate that the knowledge gained from the proposed study will not only provide new insights into the role of microglia in neural development and neural function, but also open up a new arena for exploring novel strategies for the treatment of neurodegenerative disorders.

Green Slope Engineering: Bioengineered, Live Cover Systems for Man-made Fill Slopes and Landfill Capillary Barriers in Hong Kong
Project Coordinator: Prof Charles W.W. Ng (HKUST)

According to the Geotechnical Engineering Office of HKSAR, thousands of sub-standard man-made fill slopes are required to be upgraded urgently. The Office spends about HK$100 million on upgrading slopes every year. The current upgrading methods do not consider the use of vegetation as a part of stabilisation measures in the design of slope stability. In addition, the man-made capping design for the restoration of thirteen small, closed and three large, active "strategic" landfills does not consider the use of vegetation for enhancing slope stability and minimising rainfall infiltration and gas emission integrally. Vegetation is essentially used for aesthetic purposes. A novel, durable and environmentally friendly self-regenerating live landfill capping system, such as capillary barriers, is urgently needed.

The prime objectives of this project are to investigate and improve our fundamental understanding of root-soil-water interactions and to develop an innovative and environmentally friendly reliability-based preliminary design framework for "an integrated bioengineered live cover for man-made fill slopes and landfill capillary barriers" in Hong Kong. A capillary barrier is an earth layered system, which makes use of unsaturated hydraulic characteristics of different types of soils to minimize rainfall infiltration and to drain away infiltrated water quickly. This live cover will be self-regenerative and sustainable (almost maintenance free). Five major research tasks will be carried out by a multi-disciplinary research team. The five research tasks are field monitoring and site characterization of man-made fill slopes and landfills, centrifuge and numerical modelling of bioengineered fill slopes and landfill capillary barrier systems, development of an integrated quality assurance scheme and a preliminary reliability-based design methodology for bioengineered slopes.

Findings from this project will provide new insights into the behaviour of bioengineered slopes and landfills in Hong Kong. A novel, specific reliability-based preliminary design guideline will be developed for the design, construction, management and restoration of bioengineered live cover systems on both man-made fill slopes and landfill capillary barriers. The guideline will set out performance standards, technical information, procedural mechanisms (integrated design, construction and operational phases), and will provide necessary supporting data.

Protein Trafficking: Mechanism and Diseases
Project Coordinator: Prof Jun Xia (HKUST)

Our bodies are made of billions of cells with elaborate membrane compartments. Like in the logistics business, materials in our bodies need to be transported between different cell compartments. The transportation of proteins between different cell compartments is called protein trafficking. Protein trafficking is critical to cells and abnormal trafficking of proteins has been found to cause many human diseases. This study will investigate the machineries that regulate protein trafficking, i.e., what controls the loading, transportation and unloading of cargos during protein trafficking. We will also seek to understand how abnormal protein trafficking contributes to diseases such as diabetes and Parkinson's disease.

To Establish a Metabolic Study Centre in Hong Kong: Focusing on the Emerging Metabolic Hormones
Project Coordinator: Prof. Lam, Karen Siu Ling (HKU)

Diabetes has become a widespread disease causing heavy public health and economic burden. Unfortunately, effective treatments for diabetes and its many complications are still out of grasp despite decades of basic and clinical research. As a result, the quality of life of most diabetic patients remains unsatisfactory. To improve the situation, it is crucial to gain full understanding on how the causes of diabetes happen and how diabetes leads to its complications. Such knowledge would enable us to drive novel and more effective preventative measures and treatment for the diseases. The objective of this project is to combine the strength of several basic and clinical research teams in our local institutes to establish an integrated platform for metabolic studies in Hong Kong. This platform will facilitate researchers and pharmaceutical companies in Southern China to comprehensively investigate the roles of metabolic hormones in the illness of diabetes. These investigations will provide a solid foundation for developing new diabetes therapeutics.

Ecology and biodiversity of benthic marine ecosystems before and after the trawling ban in Hong Kong coastal waters
Project Coordinator: Dr. K.M.Y. Leung (HKU)

Fisheries resources in Hong Kong (HK) have been overexploited since the 1970s. Yet, approximately 400 bottom trawlers still operate in our coastal waters, accounting for 80% of the total fishing effort, nearly double the environmentally-sustainable level. These bottom trawlers capture fishes, shrimps and crabs unselectively, irrespective of their commercial or ecological value, and have demonstrably overexploited many stocks. The process of bottom trawling also leads to severe and repeated physical damage to marine benthic ecosystems, with negative effects on biodiversity. To mitigate these impacts, the HK SAR Government will impose a territory-wide ban on bottom trawling from 31 December 2012; this is intended to allow recovery of the seabed and associated marine resources.

Our project team will test the overarching hypothesis that the trawl-ban will result in the recovery of HK's benthic marine ecosystems and associated fisheries. We will determine this by investigation, over time, of the catch-per-unit-effort of commercially important fish and invertebrate species, the biodiversity of benthic marine animals, and the mean trophic level of consumers in different guilds (i.e., food-web structure). We will also examine the effects of changing environmental characteristics on benthic biodiversity following the trawl-ban. This proposed project is undoubtedly timely and essential to verify if the trawling ban effectively facilitates ecosystem rehabilitation or recovery.

To ensure a holistic approach and build synergy, we have assembled a team (including one overseas member) with expertise in marine biodiversity, benthic ecology, trophodynamics, fisheries, sedimentology, statistics and ecological modelling. We will use a unique dataset on the condition of local fisheries and benthic biodiversity collected by our team and the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department of HK SAR Government prior to the ban coming into force. This dataset puts our team in an exclusive position to be able to compare the health of HK's marine environment before and after the trawl-ban.

The study findings will be valuable for the HK SAR Government and essential for long-term monitoring and the sustainable management of marine biodiversity, which is among HK's obligations under the international Convention on Biological Diversity. The findings will inform environmental managers and economists, and will represent an example of 'good practice' for inshore fisheries management and ecosystem rehabilitation. Finally, our results will shed light on the processes influencing benthic marine ecosystems in tropical Asia and provide information for assessing future ecological impacts of coastal development projects (e.g. the 3rd airport runway) and global climate change.

Ventilation of a High-Rise Compact City
Project Coordinator: Prof Yuguo Li (HKU)

More than 50% of the world's population now lives in cities. The ventilation of these cities- particularly "mega-cities" with large populations and high concentrations of tall buildings-is fundamental for removing heat and airborne pollutants. Hong Kong's air has become increasingly stagnant. For example, wind speed has reduced by 0.6 m/s per decade since 1968 and 0.35 m/s per decade since 1995. This worrying trend continues, but no research exists to explain it and no strategy to stop it. The same decreasing trend is also observed in some other mega-cities. Reduced city ventilation and wind flow is a major cause of the heat island effect and a determinant of urban air quality. Our objectives are to systematically understand the physics and mechanisms of city ventilation when the synoptic wind is strong or weak, and the interaction of wind with buoyancy driven flows; and then determine the roles of major urban morphological, environmental and meteorological parameters in city ventilation.

主頁 > 獲資助研究項目 > 撥款結果 > 其他資助計劃撥款結果 > 2012/2013年度協作研究金公布結果 > 協作研究金:2012/2013年度獲資助之研究項目摘要

協作研究金:2012/2013年度獲資助之研究項目摘要

傳染病的症候群監察及建模
項目統籌者:徐國良教授 (香港城市大學)

近年SARS和豬流感的暴發,暴露了疾病暴發早期檢測和疾病傳播仿真分析在流行病暴發時的健康資源管理需要。目前的監測系統缺乏處理不同類型和不同來源數據的能力,並且不足以準確預測傳染病暴發和蔓延趨勢。本研究將開發一種全新的"症狀監測"的方法,以可靠的數據為基礎,準確預測、模擬傳染病暴發,並進行風險分析。我們會:

  • 開發先進的基於多種傳染性疾病數據源的數據挖掘方法來理解和提取疾病傳播的動態機制。
  • 建立症狀監測方法,分析公共健康相關的數據,以便及早發現傳染病疫情。
  • 開發動態傳染仿真模型和衛生經濟學模型來模擬疾病傳播和風險評估。

通過模擬暴發、臨床實驗、現場實驗和流感暴發的歷史醫療數據來驗證所提出的研究模型。

具有能量定域效應的功能化等離子體光子學及其在檢測, 納米操控和光電子中的應用
項目統籌者:何浩培教授 (香港中文大學)

當電磁場入射在金屬物體的表面時,由於金屬內部的自由電子的共振,金屬表面的電場會立即增強。這些共振也被稱為表面等離子激元。 Plasmonics是一個新名詞,其是概括的描述上述這種效應的科學和技術。表面等離子體有許多特性,包括金屬表面的場增強特性及其增強場在納米尺度的局域特性。這些性能使得其在光子學領域有廣泛的應用。一個很好的例子是等離子生物傳感器,其在檢測生物分子方面,具有極高的靈敏度。表面等離子體的這些特性使得光學陷阱在納米尺度的物體操作方面的應用成為可能。

在這個項目中,我們將設計一些等離子器件的結構來產生一些場強的"熱點"區域,以實現接近單分子水平的生物檢測,同時也可進一步提高生物太陽能電池和發光器件的效率。該項目將涉及系統的理論研究和實驗研究。採用的金屬結構包括納米粒子,週期或隨機的納米陣列,薄膜材料,以及以上幾種的混合結構。

等離子生物檢測的獨特之處在於"無標記"的信號生成方式(即無需熒光標記)和實時的檢測能力。我們將開發一個"等離子生物芯片",即在特定的位置創建"熱點"區域,用於捕獲生物分子並進行信號放大。 "熱點"工程的方法將可以進一步應用在有機太陽能電池以及發光二極管中。在這樣的系統中,主要面對的挑戰在於如何增加光-電或電-光轉換的效率。對於有機太陽能電池,其典型的的厚度大概是幾百納米。具有光子能量局域特性的等離子納米結構可以對這方面的現狀有顯著的改善。同樣的光捕獲方法確實也適用於發光器件,其較短的等離子衰變週期可以提高發光二極管的發光量。

我們提出的等離子激元增強的太陽能電池和發光二極管的應用同全球範圍的綠色能源方面的探索有著直接關聯。同時,我們的"陷阱-傳感"的概念可以提供一個性能超越傳統方法的生物傳感技術。此外,通過這個項目上獲得的電磁場操控方面的知識將會對許多應用領域有影響,尤其是那些光與物質的相互作用在其中是最重要因素的領域。

探討力學傳導及新的內皮細胞信號因子對運動促進血管健康的關鍵作用
項目統籌者:黃聿教授(香港中文大學)

在香港,由於人群中肥胖和糖尿病的高患病率,心血管疾病已成為最主要的死亡和致殘原因。包括動脈粥樣硬化,血栓形成以及其並發症在內的心血管疾病的發展過程中,血管內皮細胞功能失調是關鍵的疾病引髮劑。治療學上,現有的藥物治療只能部分緩解糖尿病症狀,但並不能逆轉糖尿病血管疾病的惡化。因此,有必要製定更有效的治療策略來對抗糖尿病血管病變。

運動能產生對抗心血管疾病的多重有益效應。因為運動可以增加血液流動以及血液對血管壁的剪切應力,這是運動保護血管功能的一個關鍵機制。不同的剪切應力對多種心血管事件,包括對動脈粥樣硬化,血管炎症與重構,血管再生過程,有重要的調節基因表達效應。我們的預實驗結果表明,糖尿病小鼠通過運動後,層流切應力增加,涉及血管"危險"信號轉錄因子信號轉導通路得到抑制,血管內皮細胞功能得到改善。然而,在更好的感激運動帶來的血管保護與代謝益處之前,尚有一些科學問題有待解決。

此項研究提議將是本港第一次提出的來探究運動鍛煉對血管健康益處的提議。從機制上,擬進行的研究結果將為心血管疾病治療靶點提供新的觀點。同時,在公眾中,尤其是本港的老年群體,我們的研究結果將引起他們意識到運動鍛煉提高生活質量重要之處。我們優秀的專業知識,以及我們與本港三所大學以及與中國大陸和台灣一流的血管生物學家的集中合作,將幫助我們建立一個研究糖尿病和肥胖相關的血管疾病綜合平台。

巨噬細胞-肌纖維母細胞轉分化在器官纖維化的致病機制與臨床幹預
項目統籌者:藍輝耀教授 (香港中文大學)

組織和器官硬化或纖維化是導致器官機能活動永久性喪失的一條常見共同的通路,並嚴重威脅生命。是慢性心血管疾病,慢性肺病,肝臟硬化,和慢性腎臟病的重要致病原因。肌成纖維細胞是產生瘢痕,導致終末期器官硬化的重要細胞。然而,它們的起源仍然存在很大爭議。因此,本研究項目的是彙集基礎和臨床研究專才,進行開拓性的研究,以確定巨噬細胞-肌成纖維細胞轉化(MMT)作為一種新的致器官纖維化的主要途徑為研究目標,揭示其機制,並開發新的有效抗纖維化治療藥物和方法。

基於金-鑽石複合納米系統的多功能超靈敏探測
項目統籌者:劉仁保教授 (香港中文大學)

磁共振譜在科學研究和生產生活中有廣泛應用。醫院裏用的核磁共振和磁共振成像便是很好的例子。近年來該領域有一個新的機會。那就是鑽石中的磁性發光中心可用作光探測磁共振,有望實現對物理、化學及生物過程達到納米精度的監測。在本項目中,我們將合成鑽石納米顆粒和金納米顆粒,利用該合成系統增強的光探測磁共振實現納米傳感器。我們將利用此納米傳感器深入研究納米化學系統和細胞中的微觀過程。

發展新方法學用于製備碳硼烷新材料
項目統籌者:謝作偉教授 (香港中文大學)

本項目的目的是發展新的合成碳硼烷功能材料的有效方法,以使其可在硼中子俘獲療法和有機半導體材料領域得到應用。

碳硼烷是一類由硼和碳形成的簇合物,這類化合物擁有良好的熱穩定性和化學穩定性,幷在許多領域得到應用。例如作爲硼中子俘獲療法的試劑應用于醫學,作?獨特的結構單元在材料科學得到應用,作爲特殊配體廣泛應用于金屬有機和配位化學。然而由于碳硼烷特有的結構,行而有效的合成碳硼烷功能分子的方法很少,從而限制了它的應用範圍。爲了解决這些難題,我們組建了一支集碳硼烷、金屬有機、催化、計算化學、化學生物學、以及有機材料爲一體的專業互補的團隊。

我們之前的研究表明碳硼烷籠子上的碳氫官能團具有缺電子脂肪族化合物的性質,而硼氫官能團則更傾向于表現出芳香性。就此,我們將積極探索過渡金屬參與或催化的籠硼氫鍵或碳氫鍵活化,幷且發展從簡單分子一步合成複雜分子的新方法,通過理論計算和實驗方法對相關反應機理展開研究。

這項研究所發展的方法學將用于合成新的含有碳硼烷官能團的有機半導體材料和硼中子俘獲療法的試劑。研究成果不僅將增進我們對碳硼簇合物基本化學性質的瞭解,也將獲得新的碳硼烷功能材料。

斑馬魚小膠質細胞和急性髓系白血病的研究
項目統籌者:温子龍教授 (香港科技大學)

小膠質細胞是位於大腦和脊髓中的駐留型巨噬細胞,在產生免疫應答、清除受損神經細胞和斑塊以及調節中樞神經系統神經迴路的可塑性和活動性等方面發揮關鍵作用。小膠質細胞的功能失常與各種中樞神經系統疾病以及神經退行性疾病的發病和進展緊密相關。在這個研究方案中,我們將利用斑馬魚,一種在脊椎動物發育和人類疾病研究等諸多方面廣泛應用的生物模型,分別分析在未成年和成年中樞神經系統中小膠質細胞的發育和功能。我們預計,這份研究方案所獲得的進展,不僅可以為小膠質細胞在神經發育和功能上的作用提供新的見解,同時也將在治療神經退行性疾病的探索策略上開闢新的平台。

香港斜坡生態工程: 填方斜坡生態覆蓋系統及堆填區毛細覆蓋層
項目統籌者:吳宏偉講座教授 (香港科技大學)

香港特別行政區土力工程處的資料?示,香港有數以千計不合標準的填方斜坡迫切需要加固。土力工程處每年投入約1億港幣用於邊坡加固。但目前的加固方法尚未將植被作為一個穩定措施。此外,13座已封場的小型填埋場和3座正在服役的大型 "策略性"填埋場的覆蓋層設計,也沒有考慮利用植被提高邊坡的穩定性以及最大限度地減少雨水入滲和填埋氣體的排放。植被通常只用作美觀的目的。目前迫切需要一种新穎、耐用、環保而且基本不需要維護的生態垃圾填埋場覆蓋層,如毛細阻滯覆蓋層。該科研項目的主要目的是研究并提高我們對植被的根-土-水相互作用的基本認識,提出一個新穎、環保且基於可靠性理論的"香港填方斜坡生態覆蓋系統及堆填區毛細阻滯覆蓋層"初步設計框架。毛細阻滯覆蓋層是由多層土組成,利用不同種類土非飽和滲透性的差異,減少雨水入滲,並快速排走已入滲的積水。生態覆蓋層可自我生長發育,持久耐用,基本不需要維護。

本研究項目由一個跨學科的研究團隊承擔,將開展5個主要的研究任務:填方斜坡和填埋場的現場勘查和監測,生態填方斜坡和填埋場的毛細阻滯覆蓋層的離心機實驗和數值模擬,針對斜坡生態工程建立一個完善的質量保證體系和一套基於可靠性的初步設計方法。

本項目的研究成果將為香港的生態斜坡和填埋場工程提供新的認識。該項目還將編寫一套新的,專門基於可靠性的初步設計準則,為填方斜坡覆蓋系統及堆填區生態毛細阻滯覆蓋層的設計、施工、管理和修復提供依據。該設計準則將包含性能標準、技術資訊和程序機制(綜合設計、施工和運營各階段),並提供必要的支持數據。

蛋白質轉運:機制與功能
項目統籌者:夏軍博士 (香港科技大學)

我們的身體是由成千上萬個細胞組成的。這些細胞被精細的膜隔成許多獨立的區域。類似物流運輸業,我們身體內的物質也需要在不同的細胞區域之間轉運。蛋白質在不同的細胞區域之間的運輸叫做蛋白質轉運。蛋白質轉運對於細胞很重要。不正常的蛋白質轉運可以導致多種人類疾病。本項目旨在研究蛋白質轉運的調控機制,即蛋白質轉運中貨物的裝載,運輸,及卸載是如何實現的。我們也將嘗試理解不正常的蛋白質轉運如何導致糖尿病和帕金森氏病。

創立香港代謝疾病研究中心:對新型代謝激素的基礎及臨床研究
項目統籌者:林小玲教授 (香港大學)

糖尿病現已在全世界蔓延,並且已達到流行病的程度,對全球經濟及公眾健康構成重大威脅。遺憾的是,現有的藥物尚無法徹底逆轉或治愈糖尿病,以至大多數糖尿病患者終生都不能擺脫藥物治療。深入探索、理解和研究糖尿病的發病機制對開發更有效的療法極其重要。本研究計劃的目標是集合本地相關領域的基礎研究專家和臨床醫學團隊,在本港建立一個配備先進設備的代謝疾病研究中心。本中心將為華南地區的科研人員和製藥公司提供對動物疾病模型和人類代謝激素的全面研究和分析, 為糖尿病等代謝性疾病開發新的療法和標靶藥物提供重要的科學依據。

研究禁止拖網捕魚對香港水域海洋底棲生態系統及生物多樣性之影響
項目統籌者:梁美儀副教授(香港大學)

香港漁業資源自20世紀70年代起已被過度開發。但至今香港沿海仍有約400艘進行拖網捕撈作業的漁船,其捕撈量佔總捕撈量的8成,已超過海洋可持續發展水平近雙倍。這些拖網作業的漁船無選擇性地捕撈各種類的魚、蝦和蟹,嚴重損害了生態平衡。拖網過程亦反覆地對海洋底棲生態系統造成了嚴重的物理損害,為生物多樣性帶來負面影響。為了減少類似損害,香港政府頒布條例,自2012年12月31日起禁止漁船在香港領土範圍內進行拖網作業。該條例將對香港沿岸海床和相關的海洋資源修復起著積極的作用。

我們的研究團隊將驗證該拖網捕魚禁令對香港的海洋底棲生態系統和相關漁業資源的修復作用。我們將對該總體假設進行長時間的驗證,驗證指標包括:具重要商業價值的魚類和無脊椎動物的單位努力漁獲量、海洋底棲動物的多樣性和生物鏈各消費者的平均營養位階(即食物網結構)。我們亦會考核禁令頒布後環境的變動對底棲生物多樣性的影響。若拖網捕魚禁令能有效地促進生態系統的修復或恢復,本研究項目將能進行及時而有效的驗證。

我們的科研團隊由各領域專家組成(當中包括一名海外學者),所涵蓋的專業包括海洋生物多樣性、底棲生態學、營養動力學、漁業學、沉積學、統計學和生態建模。本研究將使用一個由我們的科研團隊和香港政府的漁農自然護理署在禁令頒布之前共同建立的特有數據庫(當中包含了本港漁業和底棲生物多樣性的數據),為拖網禁令實施前和實施後的香港海洋狀況作比較。

基於國際『生物多樣性公約』,香港政府須履行保育生物多樣性的責任。本研究結果不但對香港海洋的長期監測和海洋生物多樣性的可持續管理提供寶貴建議,亦給環境管理者和經濟學家提供相關資料。同時,更為國際提供一個沿岸漁業管理和生態修復的"良好實踐"例子。最後,研究結果將為影響亞洲熱帶海洋底棲生態系統的機制提供理論基礎。亦為將來香港的沿海開發項目(如第3條機場跑道)的生態影響評估和全球氣候變化對海洋生態的影響提供參考。

超高密集型城市的通風機制
項目統籌者:李玉國教授 (香港大學)

目前世界50%以上的人口居住在城市中。城市通風,尤其是人口?多、高層建築高度密集的"特大城市"的通風,?定排除城市中熱量和空氣汙染物的能力。香港的空氣已變得越來越停滯。例如,1968年以來風速以每12年0.6 m/s的速度降低,1995年以來平均每12年降低0.35 m/s。這種讓人堪憂的趨勢還在繼續,然而,目前還沒有研究能夠解釋這種現象,更沒有應對策略來阻止這種趨勢的繼續。在某些其它超大城市中也觀察到了這種風速降低的趨勢。城市通風和風速的降低是熱島效應的一個主要原因,也是城市空氣質量的一個決定性因素。我們的研究目的,就是系統的理解氣象風很強或很弱的情況下城市通風的物理機理,以及風和浮力驅動流的相互作用;在此基礎上研究出主要的城市形態、環境和氣候等方面的因素在城市通風中的作用。