Home > Funded Research > Funding Results > Funding Results of Other Schemes > Results of RGC Collaborative Research Fund 2011/2012 Released > RGC Collaborative Research Fund - Layman Summaries of Projects Funded in 2011/2012 Exercise

RGC Collaborative Research Fund - Layman Summaries of Projects Funded in 2011/2012 Exercise

Low-temperature, Ultrahigh-vacuum Glancing Angle Deposition (LT-UHV GLAD): Material and Morphology Engineering of Multi-dimensional Photonic Nanostructures for Fundamental and Applied Studies
Project Coordinator: Dr Zhifeng Huang (HKBU)

A low-temperature ultrahigh-vacuum glancing angle deposition (LT-UHV GLAD) system will be custom-designed at HKBU. In general, the GLAD technique is utilized to fabricate micro/nano "forests", the arrays composed of well separated micro/nano pillars (or "trees"), whose morphology (e.g. shape, dimension, periodicity, chirality, surface pillar density, and growth orientation) can be flexibly engineered. However, the morphology engineering is limited to dielectrics, which can be extended to metals using LT-UHV GLAD. A LT-UHV GLAD-based platform of material fabrication will be established in Hong Kong, aiming at the promotion of both fundamental studies in the morphology dependence of material properties and applied researches in, but not limited to, environmental protection and remediation, renewable energy, nano-biotechnology, nano-optics, nanophotonics, nanosensors, and nanoelectronics.

Defining the Regulatory Pathways Coupling Cell Division Timing and Cell Fate Differentiation During C. elegans Embryogenesis Using Automated Lineaging
Project Coordinator: Dr Zhongying Zhao (HKBU)

Propagation of a cellular organism from one generation to another requires both cell division and cell growth. Cell divisions of single-celled organisms are independent of each other while those of a multicellular organism require tight coordination among one another in order to form different cell types. Failure in the coordination frequently leads to abnormal cell death or tumorous growth. How the cell division paces are coordinated to ensure formation of proper cell types during animal development remains poorly understood. By a combination of biological and computing science, our previous group developed multiple tools allowing automatic tracing of cell division histories during C. elegans embryogenesis. We will apply these tools to identify genes that couple cell division paces with cell fate differentiation. The knowledge obtained will not only provide mechanistic insight into how cell division pace is tuned to accommodate tissue formation during animal development, but also shed light on how a cancer cell is originated in the first place.

EXPO (Exocyst-positive Organelle): Dynamics, Biogenesis and Function in Plants
Project Coordinator: Prof Liwen Jiang (CUHK)

We have recently identified a novel organelle termed EXPO (Exocyst-positive Organelle), which may mediate an unconventional cytosol to plasma membrane secretion pathway in plant cells. In this collaborative effort, using a combination of cellular, molecular, biochemical and genetic approaches, we

Genomic and Molecular Studies of a Salinity Tolerance Locus in the Wild Soybean Genome
Project Coordinator: Prof Hon-ming Lam (CUHK)

Soybean, an environmentally friendly crop with a high nutritional value, was first domesticated in China ~5,000 years ago. The wild soybean, adapted to grow in natural environments that are often suboptimal, is a vital genetic resource for studying how plants adapt to various adverse environments (such as high salinity), and therefore providing us with new insights into crop improvement.

This team has successfully obtained important genomic data and constructed unique genetic materials to identify a major salinity tolerance locus in the wild soybean genome. Subsequently, we will perform detailed functional analysis of candidate genes within this locus to unveil the tolerance mechanism.

Participating scientists have is a long-term collaborative relationship, constituting a team of complementary expertise. This proposed project is one of the very few attempts worldwide to combine the efforts of high-throughput sequencing and detailed molecular biology studies to address an important issue related to agriculture.

Memories and Monuments: Migration from South China to Chinese Cities in Different Colonial Settings, 1830-1930s
Project Coordinator: Prof Yuen-sang Leung (CUHK)

This collaborative research project, comprising four teams from the Shanghai, Taipei, Hong Kong and Singapore, aims at investigating, analyzing and comparing the Chinese migration experiences and their diasporic practices in the four cities during the period from 1830s to 1930s when these cities were either under direct colonial rule or indirect colonialism.

Our project focuses on a relatively under-researched aspect in Chinese migration history, i.e., Chinese-Chinese relations. This can be defined in terms of the Chinese immigrants' relation with the Chinese society from which they came, and with the Chinese early settlers in the places they were migrating to. Most research on Chinese migration seems to focus on Chinese migration to a foreign country and the processes of their adaptation and adjustment in a new environment, but our project will analyse the Chinese networks in the migration process and focus on the linkages and continuities, and find out how these linkages and continuities influenced the social and cultural practices of the Chinese in their new cities.

The fact that the destination of the Chinese migration movement was a "Chinese city" would convey a sense of familiarity and security visa-a-vis that of "foreignness" and uncertainty at the beginning of the migration process, and that the Chinese elements in the receiving end would also shape their migration experience, this marks a clear difference for those who migrated to these cities and those who went abroad to a strange new world. But were these assumptions of familiarity-security and foreignness-uncertainty real? And how these different assumptions would translate into their diasporic practices? In this comparative study we attempt to analyze and compare the collective memory of the Chinese immigrants to the four "Chinese cities" of Shanghai, Taipei, Hong Kong, Taipei and Singapore by examining the sources (written, oral and material) that recorded or expressed their migration experiences, and in addition, to see how different colonial policies would affect their diasporic practices as Shanghai was governed primarily by the French and Anglo-American establishment in the settlements, Taipei was under Japanese occupation since 1894, and Hong Kong and Singapore were British colonies from the early nineteenth century onward.

Centre for MicroRNA Study - Basic Research and Clinical Potentials in Cancer
Project Coordinator: Prof Nathalie Wong (CUHK)

MicroRNAs (miRNAs) of cellular and viral origin have emerged as an important class of non?coding RNA that regulates gene expression by repressing translation of mRNA into protein. Supported by a Collaborative Research Fund in 2009, the present investigative team has reported on deregulated cellular and viral miRNAs of two locally prevalent cancers, namely Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma (NPC) and Hepatocellular Carcinoma (HCC), and the Epstein?Barr virus (EBV) which is a strong risk factor for the development of NPC. In this renewal fund, we propose to initiate new research areas that are vital in establishing firm understandings on the miRNA?modulated NPC and HCC biology. Recent studies have emphasized on miRNAs carriage in cell secreted exosomes in intercellular communications. Realizing EBV sequence variants can contribute to specific EBV miRNA expressions in NPC, it is also important that we assert comprehensive information on the viral sequence to fully apprehend the unique EBV miRNA biogenesis in NPC. Based on our experience in deciphering cellular and viral miRNAs, we propose to broaden our investigative scope in this project to include new research directions in NPC, HCC and EBV.

Controlling scattering and absorption cross sections using simple artificial structures
Project Coordinator: Prof Che Ting Chan (HKUST)

A wave is scattered if it encounters an object and the likelihood of it being scattered or absorbed is described by its scattering cross section (SCS) and the absorption cross section (ACS). Controlling these cross sections can result in many useful applications. For example, stealth technology works by coating an object to reduce its SCS. If a coating can enhance the ACS for light, it will facilitate light harvesting. If a coating can enhance the ACS for sound, it will facilitate sound absorption. We will design and build various structures and coating layers that can change the SCS or ACS of other objects, with emphasis on employing simple structures and materials that are easy to process. We will try to realize unusual effects by controlling the SCS or ACS. For example, we will see if we can use light beams to attract or rotate an object by manipulating its SCS.

Understanding the coupling of mass-transport and electrochemical reactions in the nanostructured fuel cell electrodes
Project Coordinator: Prof Tianshou Zhao (HKUST)

The direct methanol fuel cell (DMFC) promises to be a clean and efficient energy production technology as it offers many unique advantages including a low demand on electrochemical catalysts, a high energy density of fuel, facile fuel storage and handling, and simplicity, making it particularly suitable for mobile and transportation applications. However, the performance of the DMFC has yet to reach the expected level for widespread commercialization. The limiting factor is the efficiency of the DMFC electrodes, which have a complex micro/nanostructure involving interrelated electronic and ionic conducting phases, gas-phase porosity, and catalytically active surfaces. These electrodes are extremely difficult to optimize. The primary objectives of this project are to understand the coupled transport of protons, electrons, and mass species and the electrochemical reactions in nanostructured DMFC electrodes, and to create and optimize a new class of electrode structures that maximizes both the power yield and the utilization of precious metal catalysts.

Molecular mechanisms of innate antiviral response
Project Coordinator: Dr Dong-Yan Jin (HKU)

Host cells combat invading viruses by initiating an innate antiviral response. Detection of viruses by prototypic cytoplasmic sensor RIG-I in human and animal cells elicits a signal which ultimately switches on the production of antiviral proteins such as interferons. Our recent research work has revealed a new partner and activator of RIG-I called PACT. Understanding the mechanisms by which PACT activates RIG-I will substantially advance the field. In this group research project, we will pool our complementary expertise and resources to carry out molecular and structural biological studies to understand PACT-induced activation of RIG-I during viral infection in both cultured cells and mouse models. By strengthening the new concept that the function of virus sensor RIG-I requires a dsRNA-binding protein partner, our work will not only provides new avenues for studying viral and cellular regulators of innate immune response, but will also reveal novel strategies for developing antiviral and immunomodulatory drugs.

Liver Transplantation Research Centre: A Multidisciplinary Study for Liver Graft Injury
Project Coordinator: Prof Chung Mau Lo (HKU)

Liver transplantation is a life-saving treatment for patients with end stage liver diseases including liver cancer. However, graft injury is the key issue, which may cause graft dysfunction and fibrosis and promote cancer recurrence. We aim to study the cellular and molecular mechanisms of liver graft injury. This will allow us to identify the novel circulating biomarkers indicating acute phase graft injury and predicting late phase tumor recurrence and metastasis after transplantation. The potentials of stem cell therapy for graft regeneration will be also explored. The findings from this project will perfect the outcome of liver transplantation by addressing the issue of graft injury through integrated clinical, basic and translational research.

Strategic research of hormones and their receptors in the water homeostatic axis: from molecular mechanisms to anti-hypertensive drug design
Project Coordinator: Prof Billy Kwok Chong Chow (HKU)

Hypertension is a global health threat with approximately 1 billion people worldwide being affected causing 7 million deaths annually. Despite the many therapeutic options available today, majority of patients receiving anti-hypertensive treatment, however, cannot control their blood pressures within the normal range. Hence, the development of new classes of anti-hypertensive drugs is urgently needed. We have recently identified secretin as a key factor in regulating water/salt balance as well as cardiovascular function. These novel functions of secretin indicate its potential in bypassing actions of some of the hypertensive medications available nowadays. The objective of this project is to comprehensively investigate the interactions of secretin with other hormones in our body in regulating blood pressure and water/salt balance, and eventually to develop secretin receptor analogs as a new class of drugs for the treatment of hypertension.

Quantum Control and Quantum Information Processing
Project Coordinator: Prof Zidan Wang (HKU)

Quantum control and quantum information processing using atomic optical systems and solid state systems are cutting edge sciences with applications in device science, communication, cryptography, and metrology. In this collaborative project, we bring together the existing research strength in these areas in Hong Kong to form a team to address important issues in these areas. In particular, we will concentrate on the experimental studies on quantum state control, quantum information processing, and quantum communications using systems including photons, atoms and artificial atoms in solids. These studies will be backed up by the theorists in our team. We expect that the collaborative research in this emerging interdisciplinary field will not only advance our understanding of the exotic quantum world, but also expand our imagination for tomorrow's quantum technological innovation.

主頁 > 獲資助研究項目 > 撥款結果 > 其他資助計劃撥款結果 > 2011/2012年度協作研究金公布結果 > 協作研究金:2011/2012年度獲資助之研究項目摘要

協作研究金:2011/2012年度獲資助之研究項目摘要

低溫超高真空大傾斜角物理沉積系統:材料與形貌可控的多維納米光子結構的製備以及基礎和應用研究
項目統籌者:黃陟峰博士 (香港浸會大學)

香港浸會大學將自行設計一套低溫超高真空大傾斜入射角物理沉積系統(LT-UHV GLAD)。普通的GLAD系統被用於製備微米或納米尺度的"樹林"結構:每棵"樹"為微米或納米柱,"樹"與"樹"是分離的。"樹"的結構(包括形狀、大小、週期結構、手性、表面密度以及生長方向)是可控的,但是主要局限于高熔點的介電材料。LT-UHV GLAD將把該結構調控特性拓展適用於金屬材料。以LT-UHV GLAD為基礎,我們將為香港建立一個新型材料製備平臺,旨在促進關於材料的結構與性能的基礎研究,並且推動在環境保護、可再生能源、納米生物技術、納米光學、納米傳感和檢測、納米電子學等一系列領域的應用性研究,推動各高校、研究機構、產業界的合作研究開發。

用自動化解析細胞分裂譜系技術來確立秀麗隱桿線蟲胚胎發育過程中協調細胞分裂速度和細胞命運分化的調控途徑
項目統籌者:趙中應博士 (香港浸會大學)

細胞生物的繁殖同時需要細胞分裂和細胞生長。單細胞生物的細胞分裂彼此相互獨立,而多細胞生物的細胞分裂需要彼此間緊密協調從而確保不同類型細胞的形成。此種協調一旦失敗經常會造成不正常的細胞死亡或腫瘤生長。有關動物體內如何控制細胞分裂的速度從而形成不同類型的細胞了解甚少。通過結合生物學和計算機科學的技術,我們以前的研究小組開發了多個技術平台從而能夠在C. elegans胚胎發育過程中自動追蹤每一個細胞的分裂曆史。我們將用這些技術來尋找偶聯細胞分裂速度和細胞命運分化的基因。找到這些基因將不僅有助於解讀動物發育過程中如何通過調節細胞分裂速度來控制不同組織形成的機理,而且將有助於闡明癌症細胞的最初來源。

植物EXPO細胞器的動力學,生物起源與功能的研究
項目統籌者:姜里文教授 (香港中文大學)

我們的近期研究發現了一個新的植物細胞器,它可以調節植物細胞從細胞質到細胞膜的非傳統分泌途徑。我們將該新細胞器命名為 EXPO (Exocyst-positive Organelle)。在該項合作研究中,我們將運用一系列細胞生物學、分子生物學、生物化學以及遺傳學的方法,來研究 EXPO的動態運動、生物形成以及在植物中生理功能的分子機理。

野生大豆內一個耐鹽位點的基因組及分子生物學研究
項目統籌者:林漢明教授 (香港中文大學)

大豆是一種具高營養價值且對環境友善的作物, 它的人工栽種約起源自五千年前的中國。野生大豆能適應在條件較差的自然環境中生長, 因此它是一種珍貴的遺傳材料, 有助我們研究植物如何適應惡劣環境 (例如高鹽份), 從而為農業改良提供新的見解。研究隊伍成功獲得重要的基因組數據和建立獨特的遺傳材料, 發現了一個耐鹽的主效位點。接著我們會對這位點的候選基因進行詳細功能分析, 闡明其中的耐逆機理。參與是次研究的科學家有長期的合作經驗, 組成專業知識互補的團隊。本課題是世界上少數能結合高通量基因測序及深入的分子生物學研究來針對一個農業中重要課題的嘗試。

記憶與追念:華南移民與不同殖民地背景下的城市文化,1830-1930s
項目統籌者:梁元生教授 (香港中文大學)

此一聯合研究計劃把香港、上海、台北及新加坡四地之學術人員,組成一研究小隊,集中研究十九世紀初期至二十世紀三十年代中國華南移民往四地遷移所產生之各種問題,並且對華人在四個城市之社區發展及文化交融方面進行比較研究,對移民與家鄉、四城華人之間的往來,包括血緣與商業的關係等,皆會涉及。由於這些華人移民聚居的城市在過去個多世紀中都或長或短受過殖民地統治或外國文化的影響,本研究計劃的其中一個重點,就是比較華人遷民社會對不同殖民政府和文化的反應。

微核醣核酸 (MicroRNA) 研究中心 - 癌症的基礎及?床應用研究
項目統籌者:王昭春教授 (香港中文大學)

細胞和病毒來源的微核醣核酸(MicroRNA)是一類重要的非編碼核醣核酸,它們通過抑制信使核醣核酸(mRNA)翻譯成蛋白質進而調控基因表達水平。在2009年度合作研究基金的支持下,本研究小組在鼻咽癌和肝細胞癌這兩類本地常見的癌症中均發現了細胞內源性的MicroRNA表達失調的現象,同時也證明了EB病毒的MicroRNA是鼻咽癌發生過程中的重要風險因子。在後續計劃中,我們建議開展多個新的研究領域,以加深對MicroRNA在鼻咽癌和肝細胞癌發展中的角色。最近研究發現,細胞外吐小體(exosome)中MicroRNA是細胞間聯系的重要輸送機制。EB病毒序列突變可導致鼻咽癌中特定的病毒MicroRNA表達,因此研究病毒序列信息可加深對EB病毒引致鼻咽癌的了解。基於我們在細胞和病毒MicroRNA的研究經驗,新的研究方向將促進我們對致癌機制瞭解。

使用簡單人造結構來控制散射及吸收截面
項目統籌者:陳子亭教授 (香港科技大學)

聲波或光波遇到一個物體可能被散射或吸收;而被散射或吸收的可能性是用物體的"散射/吸收截面"來描述的。控制這些截面可以引發許多應用。例如,"隱形"技術,通過特別的結構和塗層使物體減少散射截面。另外,如果一些塗層能增強光的吸收截面,這將促進光的採集。如果這些塗層可以提高聲音的吸收截面,這將是一個有力的聲音吸收方法。我們尋求設計各種結構和塗層,改變物體的散射/吸收截面。特別是採用簡單的結構和易於加工的材料,我們將努力實現控制物體的散射/吸收截面來實現不尋常的效果。例如,我們將看到,通過改變散射截面,我們可以用光束來吸引物體或令到物體旋轉。

燃料電池納米結構電極中傳質與電化學反應藕合問題的研究
項目統籌者:趙天壽教授 (香港科技大學)

由於直接甲醇燃料電池(DMFC)具有許多獨特的優點,它被認為是一種潔淨、高效的能源生產技術。這些優點包括,對電化學催化劑要求較低,燃料的能量密度高,燃料便於儲存和操作,系統簡單等等,因此,它特別適合在移動和運輸設備上應用。儘管如此,DMFC的性能還未達到大規模商業化的要求。其中,最主要的限制因素是DMFC的電極效率。通常,DMFC電極具有複雜的微米或納米結構,它包含相互連通的電子導體相、離子導體相、氣體多孔相以及催化活性表面,所以電極的優化非常困難。本項目的主要目的是通過理解DMFC納米結構電極中質子、電子、質量的傳輸與電化學反應的耦合問題,提出和優化一種新型的、可最大化功率和貴金屬催化劑利用效率的電極結構。

天然抗病毒反應的分子機理
項目統籌者:金冬雁博士 (香港大學)

宿主細胞通過天然抗病毒反應來對抗入侵的病毒。人及高等動物細胞主要由RIG-I蛋白負責偵測病毒,以發出信號指令細胞?生各種抗病毒蛋白,包括干擾素。我們最近的研究發現PACT是RIG-I的一個新的輔助蛋白,進一步闡明PACT激活RIG-I的機理具有重要的意義。本課題將進行分子生物學、結構生物學、病毒學和免疫學等方面的合作研究,了解PACT如何在病毒感染的細胞培養物及小鼠中激活RIG-I,引致干擾素的?生。我們的研究可為細胞對病毒的識別提供新的見解,從而了解病毒和細胞的相互作用對天然抗病毒免疫反應的影響,並為設計和研制新的抗病毒和免疫調節藥物提供新的思路。

肝臟移植研究中心- 移植肝損傷的綜合性研究
項目統籌者:盧寵茂教授 (香港大學)

肝臟移植是挽救終末期肝病包括肝癌病人生命的最佳治療方法。但是移植肝損傷是肝臟移植後至關重要的問題,它會導致移植肝失功能和腫瘤復發。在這項綜合性研究中, 我們致力於研究有關急性期移植肝損傷的機理,包括循環中免疫細胞的調節手術後肝癌的復發, 以及非酒精性脂肪性肝炎和肝硬化的形成。我們也將篩選和鎖定有關預測急性期移植肝損傷和遠期肝癌復發的新型循環生物標記物。我們會進一步開發幹細胞治療用來促進移植肝增生的潛能。此項研究將通過結合臨床,基礎和動物實驗的研究來闡明移植肝損傷的機理,從而完善肝臟移植的結果。

體內水平衡相關的激素及其受體之策略研究:從分子機制到抗高血壓藥物的開發
項目統籌者:鄒國昌教授 (香港大學)

作為全球性的健康威脅,高血壓影響約十億人的生活,其相關疾病每年更造成近七百萬人死亡。儘管已有多種治療選擇,但大部分病人即使服用降壓藥物後,仍不能有效地控制血壓至正常水平,因此新一代抗高血壓藥物的研發十分迫切。我們的近期研究確認了胰泌素在調控體內水鹽平衡以及心血管功能起關鍵作用。由胰泌素這些新發現的作用,可以看到利用胰泌素繞過現有高血壓藥物的作用機制,從而作為高血壓藥物的潛力。總結而言,我們這一研究項目將著重全面探索胰泌素和體內其他激素在調控血壓和水鹽平衡的相互作用,並最終希望研發胰泌素類似物作為新一代的抗高血壓藥物。

量子調控和量子信息處理
項目統籌者:汪子丹教授 (香港大學)

基於原子光學系統以及固態系統的量子調控和量子信息處理處於當今科學的最前沿。這個領域的研究成果能廣泛應用於開發新器件,通信,加密技術和測量科學。在這一合作項目中,我們的研究團隊聚集了香港在這些領域達到高水平的研究員,形成合力來解決這個領域的一些重要問題。我們將主要致力於在原子光學系統及固態系統中開展包括量子態調控,量子信息處理,和量子通信等跟實驗相關的研究。我們團隊的理論家將為這些研究提供理論基礎。我們期望這些合作研究不但能夠幫助深化理解奇妙的量子世界,也能夠帶來基於量子理論的技術上的革新。