Home > Funded Research > Funding Results > Funding Results of Other Schemes > Results of RGC Collaborative Research Fund 2010/2011 Released > RGC Collaborative Research Fund - Layman Summaries of Projects Funded in 2010/2011 Exercise

RGC Collaborative Research Fund - Layman Summaries of Projects Funded in 2010/2011 Exercise

High Precision Measurement of Neutrino Oscillation at Daya Bay
Project Coordinator: Prof Ming Chung Chu (CUHK)

The recent discovery of neutrino oscillation -a neutrino travelling in space transforms from one type to another - has profound impacts on particle physics, astrophysics and cosmology. The Daya Bay Reactor Neutrino Oscillation Experiment aims to measure a key but yet unknown neutrino oscillation parameter, θ13, to an unprecedented precision of better than 3 degrees, which is critical to the design of future experimental tests of a possible explanation of why matter dominates anti-matter in the universe, a key condition for our existence.

The Hong Kong team has been an active member of the Daya Bay Collaboration, an international team with 38 institutions. We will contribute to the commissioning and monitoring of the experiment and analysis of data, with the help of a subsystem of the antineutrino detector built by our team. We will also design and construct a continuous radon monitoring system as well as a cover gas system to minimize radon contamination of the detectors.

Schematic Identification of Predictors of Treatment Non-Responders in Patients with Systolic Heart Failure
Project Coordinator: Prof Cheuk Man Yu (CUHK)

Chronic heart failure (CHF) is a major public health problem in Hong Kong. Data from our heart failure registry shows that 1-year mortality and readmission for heart failure (HF) is about 50%. Over the past two decades there have been significant advances in the treatment of systolic heart failure with the use of drugs that block the major neurohormonal responses to the initial injury. Recently cardiac devices such as biventricular pacing (or CRT) which rectify the abnormal conduction and contraction in CHF have also been used for CHF treatment. Although large scale clinical trials have demonstrated the efficacy and safety of the commonly used drugs for CHF, it is a common clinical observation that not all patients respond as well as others and some not at all. Our hypothesis is in that myocardial fibrosis and inflammation are key mediators of non-response to CHF treatment. We wish to undertake a large scale project to attempt to estimate the prevalence of non-response and how can we identify these patients. We will combine the use of advanced echocardiographic imaging techniques and novel biochemical and molecular (microRNAs) biomarkers to establish and validate an Assessment Model which identify treatment non-responders. Cardiac MRI will also be performed in a subgroup to determine the relationship between cardiac scar burden and echocardiographic function. The project also has the potential of identifying new diagnostic and prognostic markers for CHF (biomarkers and microRNA), pioneer new approaches to manage CHF, as well as geared towards the development of new treatment targets.

Identification of Redox-sensitive Proteins and Characterization of Their Functions in Regulating the Oxidative Stress Response in Arabidopsis
Project Coordinator: Dr Yiji Xia (HKBU)

Cellular redox status regulates a variety of biological pathways. Oxidative stress is linked to various human diseases. Similarly, cellular redox homeostasis is a common mediator of physiological responses to environmental stresses in plants. Oxidative stress signals are sensed by redox-sensitive proteins which then transduce the signals into physiological responses. We will develop redox proteomics approaches to identify redox-sensitive proteins in the model plant Arabidopsis and investigate their functions in regulating physiological responses to oxidative stress conditions. The knowledge from the study will be greatly helpful in improving crop productivity. The redox proteomics technology platform developed from the proposed research can also be applied to similar studies in other organisms including humans.

Mass spectrometry-based metabolomics for the characterization of cellular metabolic pathways associated with the development of hepatocellular carcinoma
Project Coordinator: Prof Zongwei Cai (HKBU)

We will develop and apply mass spectrometry (MS)-based metabolomics for investigating hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) that is one of the common diseases posing major threat on human health in Hong Kong. Systems-level metabolic profiling of different cell lines will be analyzed for deciphering the functions of eIF-5A2 and PDSS2. Furthermore, cancer stem cells (CSCs) will also be investigated by metabolomic approach. The use of CSCs marked by CD133 surface phenotype and bearing features would provide new insight for metabolic programming associated with HCC development. The differentiating metabolites will be highlighted and identified to localize the metabolic pathways associated with HCC development by using non-targeted and targeted metabolomic approaches. For the validation, analytical techniques will be applied for the determination of enzymatic mutations or abnormally enzymatic activities in cancer cell lines. The metabolic networks will be simulated for opening a novel systemic insight into the development of HCC.

Development of efficient luminogenic materials in the aggregate state: fundamental understanding and practical applications
Project Coordinator: Prof Ben Zhong Tang (HKUST)

The development of new light-emitting materials has allowed us to gain new knowledge of the world around us by opening a new avenue to scientific achievement and societal development. Thanks to the enthusiastic efforts of scientists, a large number of luminescent molecules have been prepared. These materials emit intense light in solutions but they emit weakly or even not at all in the solid state. This problem must be solved because for most real-world applications, luminescent materials are used as solid films. In this project, we discovered the phenomenon of aggregation-induced emission in some molecules. These materials show stronger emissions in the solid state than in solutions. We identified its cause, based on which, we prepared diverse materials, ranging from small molecules, to organometallic complexes, to high-molecular weight polymers. We explored their high-technological applications as fluorescent chemosensors for as example explosives, as biological probes for imaging, diagnosis and therapy, and as solid-state emitters for organic light-emitting diodes.

Protein-phosphoinositides Interactions in Neuronal Signaling
Project Coordinator: Prof Mingjie Zhang (HKUST)

Phosphoinositides (PIPs) are important signaling lipids that are distributed in various cellular membranes. PIPs, via binding to proteins, actively regulate numerous cellular processes. In this project, we will continue to investigate the structures and functions of a series of protein-lipid interactions that are implicated in both normal functions as well as the etiology of brain and heart muscle cells. We aim to elucidate the biochemical and structural basis of the interactions between PIPs and these proteins and to uncover the physiological significance of these newly identified protein-lipid interactions. The outcome of this project is expected to make important contributions in understanding a number of human diseases including neurodegenerative diseases and cancers.

Programming the Second Generation Tumor-targeting Bacteria
Project Coordinator: Dr Jiandong Huang (HKU)

Cancer remains a leading cause of death with current therapeutic methods. Novel therapies are therefore in urgent needs. One potential method is to use bacteria as cancer therapeutic agent. Since bacteria can sense their environment, distinguish between cell types, synthesize and deliver drugs into cancer cells, attempts are made to program bacteria to attack tumors. Current advances in synthetic biology technology offer great opportunities in refining this approach. In this project, we will establish a stepwise approach to program bacterial strains that are able to detect tumor microenvironment, effective in killing cancer cells and safe to normal tissues, so that they can ultimately be used clinically to treat cancer patients.

A Multi-disciplinary Approach to Investigate Vascular Dysfunction in Obesity and Diabetes: From Molecular Mechanism to Therapeutic Intervention
Project Coordinator: Dr Aimin Xu (HKU)

Cardiovascular disease (CVD), including stroke, heart attack and periphery artery disease, is the major cause of death and hospitalization in the ageing population worldwide. Much of the high incidence of CVD is attributed to the epidemic of obesity and diabetes. Unfortunately, none of the current therapies can reverse the progression of CVD. To develop more effective medications, it is of great importance to understand the pathological pathways that link obesity, diabetes and vascular disease. With the support from our previous RGC Collaborative Research Fund (CRF), we have identified three fat-derived circulating factors as a key mediator of obesity-related CVD in mice. The objective of this collaborative project is to comprehensively investigate the pathological roles and clinical relevance of these circulating factors in the development of CVD in both large animals and humans. The results will help us to develop new diagnostic tools and better therapeutics for risk prediction and prevention of CVD.

Self-Assembled Synthetic Ion Channels: Design, Characterization and Biomedical Applications
Project Coordinator: Prof Dan Yang (HKU)

Ion transport across membranes in cells is controlled by ion channel proteins. Dysfunction of ion channels has been associated with many severe human diseases such as cystic fibrosis, asthma, hypertension, epilepsy and myocardial infarction. Therefore, developing drugs that modulate the functions of ion channels or regulate ion transport have received significant attentions in pharmaceutical industry.
In our previous research work supported by RGC Competitive Earmarked Research Grants (CERG) (HKU7367/03M) and RGC Collaborative Research Fund (CRF) (HKU 2/06C), we have discovered a novel class of small molecules that self-assemble in the lipid membranes of living cells into synthetic chloride channels, which increase chloride conductance in human epithelial cells, modulate membrane potentials, and even can initiate relaxation of smooth muscles.
In this proposed research, we plan to continue our inter-disciplinary collaborations by combining the expertise in chemistry, physiology, cardiology and pharmacology to discover synthetic ion channels that selectively transport small anions or cations across biological membranes and explore their potential biomedical applications in the treatment of human diseases associated with channel dysfunction, such as cystic fibrosis, asthma, hypertension, and myocardial infarction.

Smart Grid
Project Coordinator: Prof Victor On Kwok Li (HKU)

Concerns with global warming prompted governments throughout the world to pursue policies aiming at increasing renewable energy generation so as to reduce greenhouse gases due to electricity generation with fossil fuels. However, due to the intermittent characteristics of renewable energy sources such as wind and solar, it is a challenge for a system with large renewable generation capacities to implement real-time power balance. Recently, many countries have announced smart grid research programs to re-vitalize their electricity generation and distribution infrastructures using modern technologies such as communication network, sensor network, power electronics, and control technologies to manage the power grid more effectively, and to cope with such complexities as fluctuating energy sources and consumption. The key objective of this proposed project is the integration of information technologies and electric energy generation and distribution technologies to design innovative means to manage and control the electricity generation and distribution network. A novel hybrid simulation laboratory will be built to test our research results in innovative designs for efficient communication, computing and control of smart grids.

主頁 > 獲資助研究項目 > 撥款結果 > 其他資助計劃撥款結果 > 2010/2011年度協作研究金公布結果 > 協作研究金:2010/2011年度獲資助之研究項目摘要

協作研究金:2010/2011年度獲資助之研究項目摘要

大亞灣實驗: 中微子振蕩的高精密測量
項目統籌者:朱明中教授 (香港中文大學)

中微子振蕩是近年發現的一個重要物理現象。自然界有三類中微子( νe,νμ,ντ ), 當一粒中微子在空間傳播時,它會不斷由一類轉化成另外兩類。這個發現,不但開啓了超越粒子物理標準模型的窗囗,亦對宇宙學及天體物理學中眾多領域有舉足輕重的影響。大亞灣中微子實驗的目標,是以前所未有的高精密度(高於0.01)量度中微子振蕩的一個基本卻未知的參數θ13的數值。這對於中微子物理的發展至為重要。
本港兩所大學的研究人員,自開始便積極參予這項由國際三十八所科研單位合作的重要研究工作。利用我們設計及建造的子系统,我們將參予實驗監控及數據分析。我們亦將設計及建造一個連續的氡氣監測系统,以及中微子探測器的密封氮氣系统,以確保探測器不受汚染。

收縮性心力衰竭治療無反應患者建立預測指標確認系統
項目統籌者:余卓文教授 (香港中文大學)

在香港,慢性心臟衰竭是一個主要的公共衛生問題。我們進行的心臟衰竭註冊研究顯示,心臟衰竭的病人一年死亡率和因心臟衰竭再住院率為50%左右。過去二十年,由於阻斷造成心臟損傷的神經荷爾蒙作用的药物的應用,心臟衰竭的治療取得重大進展。近年來,心臟器械治療,如心臟同步化治療(或CRT),通過糾正心臟傳導和收縮異常,也被用於治療慢性心臟衰竭。雖然大規模的臨床試驗已證實治療心臟衰竭常用藥物的療效和安全性,但是,臨床觀察普遍發現,不是所有病人對治療的反應都好像其他病人那麼好,甚至有些病人對治療無反應。我們認為,心肌纖維化和炎症是引起心臟衰竭治療無反應的主要介質。我們擬進行一項大規模的研究,旨在調查對心臟衰竭治療無反應的病人的比例,以及嘗試找出確認這部分病人的方法。我們將結合先進的心臟超聲波技術和新型分子生物學標誌物微小RNA(microRNAs),去建立並驗證一個評估模型,以選出對治療無反應的病人。我們也會利用心臟磁力共振(MRI)進行一個亞組研究,以確定心臟瘢痕負荷和心臟超聲波評估的心臟功能之間的關係。該研究還在尋找新的診斷心臟衰竭和判斷預後的標誌物(包括生物標誌物和microRNAs),開辟管理心臟衰竭的新途徑以及開創新的心臟衰竭治療方法等方面具有潛在價值。

氧化還原敏感蛋白的鑒定以及對它們在調控擬南芥氧化脅迫應答中所起功能的研究
項目統籌者:夏亦薺博士 (香港浸會大學)

細胞內的氧化還原狀態調控各種各樣的生物途徑。氧化脅迫和人類多種疾病息息相關。植物在環境脅迫下的生理反應也常常通過細胞內氧化還原狀態來調控。氧化脅迫信號被一些氧化還原敏感蛋白質感知到,這些蛋白質再激活相應的生理反應。我們將建立氧化還原蛋白質組學方法,在模式植物-擬南芥中找出氧化還原敏感蛋白質,並且研究它們如何在氧化脅迫條件下調控生理反應。本研究所獲得的知識將對可用於提高作物産量。項目中所建立的氧化還原蛋白質組學的技術平臺也可以應用於涉及人類在內的其他生物的類似研究中。

基于質譜分析的代謝組學應用于肝細胞癌變相關的細胞代謝通路的表徵
項目統籌者:蔡宗葦教授 (香港浸會大學)

肝細胞癌是香港最常見的惡性腫瘤之一。代謝組學作為系統生物學的下游,重點研究小分子代謝物由於遺傳或環境因素而引起的改變及其規律。在這個研究課題中,我們將採用質譜作為分析工具,來考察肝細胞癌發生發展的代謝途徑異常。我們將利用不同的細胞系考察癌基因eIF-5A2和抑癌基因PDSS2的功能。我們還將進一步探索肝癌幹細胞代謝程序問題。因此,基於質譜的非目標性與目標性分析將找出有差異的代謝物,并進一步鑒定,判斷出是哪些代謝通路異常。更為重要的是,通過代謝通路的改變,利用質譜等分析技術考察肝癌中的相關酶活性異常或突變。我們還將模擬出跟肝細胞癌相關的代謝網絡,瞭解肝細胞癌的發生發展。

聚集態高效發光材料的開發:基礎研究和實際應用
項目統籌者:唐本忠教授(香港科技大學)

發光材料在光學、電子學和生物學領域有巨大的應用前景。傳統的有機發光團在溶液裏發光很強但是在聚集狀態不發光以致呈現出聚集淬滅現象。因為發光材料大多以聚集態形式在實際中應用,這個棘手的問題必須且亟待解決。我們研究團隊致力於發展突破傳統的聚集誘導發光增強的材料。這種新穎的發光體系對科學理論的發展和實際應用皆有重要的意義。通過本項研究,我們將建立新的發光物理理論來解釋異常的聚集誘導發光效應。同時我們將把這些材料應用於化學監測、生物探針、免疫標記、刺激回應材料和高效有機發光器件。

蛋白質和磷酸肌醇的相互作用對神經細胞信號傳導的調控
項目統籌者:張明傑教授 (香港科技大學)

磷酸肌醇家族通過與各種脂膜蛋白結合而調控著多項重要的生命活動。本項目將繼續對一系列神經系統細胞信號傳導蛋白與磷酸肌醇及細胞膜的結合機制開展詳細的結構與功能研究。以期為相關的多種人類重大疾病的預防和治療上提供理論基礎。

編碼設計第二代瞄準腫瘤的細菌
項目統籌者:黃建東博士 (香港大學)

儘管已經有了很多治療手段,癌症依然是最主要的死亡原因之一。因此我們迫切需要開發新的癌症治療方法。一個有潛力的方法是使用細菌來攻擊癌細胞。由於細菌能探測它們所處的環境,區分不同類型的細胞,合成並傳遞治療癌症的藥物,所以目前有很多科學家在努力編碼細菌去治療腫瘤。合成生物學技術的最新進展提供了完善這一做法的機會。在這個項目中,我們將建立一個循序漸進的辦法來編碼細菌使之能夠檢測腫瘤微環境,有效地殺死腫瘤細胞同時保證正常組織的安全,使這些人工編碼的細菌最終能被用於癌症患者的臨床治療。

對肥胖、糖尿病相關血管病變的跨學科研究: 從分子機制到幹預治療
項目統籌者:徐愛民博士 (香港大學)

心血管疾病(包括中風、心功能衰竭和外周血管疾病)是全世界老年人群中引起致殘及死亡的頭號殺手。肥胖和糖尿病是心血管疾病的最常見誘發因素。遺憾的是,目前的治療手段均不能逆轉心血管疾病的進展。爲了開發更為有效的治療藥物,瞭解肥胖、糖尿病及心血管疾病之間的病理聯繫尤為重要。在我們之前獲得的研究資助局協作研究金合作研究項目資助下,我們在小鼠中鑒定了三種脂肪來源的循環因子,其在肥胖相關的心血管疾病中發揮重要的聯結作用。本合作項目的主要目的是在大型動物和人體中,集中研究上述循環因子在心血管疾病發展中的病理作用和臨床意義。該研究結果將有助於開發新的診療手段用於防治與肥胖和糖尿病相關的心血管疾病。

自組裝合成離子通道的設計、表徵及生物醫學應用
項目統籌者:楊丹教授 (香港大學)

人體細胞中離子的進出由細胞膜上的離子通道蛋白控制,而離子通道蛋白缺陷導致許多人類疾病(如囊腫性纖維化、高血壓、癲癇症及心臟病)。因此開發可調控離子通道蛋白或離子傳輸藥物將有著重大的科研意義和應用前景。我們在已完成的研究資助局角逐研究用途補助金計劃(HKU7367/03M)及協作研究金合作研究項目(HKU 2/06C)中已經發現一系列小分子能在細胞膜上自組裝形成氯離子通道,重新恢復氯離子在肺部上皮細胞中的進出活動,並能調節細胞膜電壓,引起平滑肌鬆弛。
在此課題中,我們將繼續結合化學、生理學、藥理學、及醫學方面的專長,利用多學科交叉的優勢來開發能選擇性傳輸陽離子或陰離子的人工離子通道,並探討這些人工離子通道在生物醫學領域中的應用前景,為治療與離子通道蛋白缺陷有關的疾病(如囊纖維化、哮喘、高血壓、及心肌梗塞)尋求新方法。

智能電網
項目統籌者:李安國教授 (香港大學)

全球暖化迫使各國政府加緊推動使用可再生能源替代化石能源,從而減少溫室氣體的排放。但是,風能、太陽能等可再生能源的波動性使得實時電力平衡成為大規模使用可再生能源的一大難題。近來,許多國家已經宣布展開智能電網的研究以實現對現有發電、配電等基礎設施的升級換代, 以期通過採用諸如通訊網絡、傳感器網絡、電力電子器件和控制技術等多種現代技術,實現對電網更加高效的管理,同時解決發電和用電的波動問題。本課題的核心目標是通過結合信息技術與電力技術來設計實現能有效控制和管理發電與配電網絡的創新方法。並且,我們將創建一個混合仿真實驗室以驗證和測試這些用於智能電網的通訊、計算與控制的創新設計。