Home > Funded Research > Funding Results > Funding Results of Other Schemes > Results of RGC Collaborative Research Fund 2009/2010 Released > RGC Collaborative Research Fund - Layman Summaries of Projects Funded in 2009/2010 Exercise

RGC Collaborative Research Fund - Layman Summaries of Projects Funded in 2009/2010 Exercise

Self-Cognizant Prognostics for Electronics-Rich Systems
Project Coordinator: Prof Michael Pecht (CityU)

Current methods for reliability assessment of electronics-rich systems have fundamental flaws due to their inability to keep pace with new technologies, to account for complex usage profiles, and to address soft and intermittent faults which are common cause of failures.

This is especially problematic given the fact that these systems do commonly fail. Thus, this project is a radically new approach whose research goals include effective and efficient reliability prognostics and health management (PHM) for electronics-rich systems that continuously monitor themselves using algorithms that fuse sensor data, discriminate transient and false alarms from actual failure, correlate faults with relevant system events and mode change, and predict failures in advance. We shall:

  • Develop a unique world-class PHM test laboratory;
  • Develop fault identification and prognostics technologies and software;
  • Demonstrate our methods and algorithms using simulated data, experimental data and field data; and
  • Conduct applied engineering research and to address the impact of PHM implementation on business concerns, warranty issues, and return on investment.

    TGF-β Signaling in End-Stage Organ Diseases: Molecular Mechanisms and Therapeutic Implications
    Project Coordinator: Prof Hui-yao Lan (CUHK)

    Tissue scarring or fibrosis is a common pathway leading to the permanent loss of functional activities of the organ, called end-stage of organ diseases. These diseases are the most life-threatening, including chronic cardiovascular disease, liver cirrhosis, and chronic lung and kidney diseases. However, the pathogenic mechanisms of these diseases are largely unclear and treatments remain non-specific. Thus, the present study aims to establish an integrated basic and clinical research platform to investigate new molecular mechanisms and pathways of tissue scarring and to develop a novel, specific, and effective therapy for prevention and treatment of these end-stage of organ diseases.

    The Brain Mechanisms to Use Electronic "Bat Ears" to Replace Vision: From Human to Animal Users
    Project Coordinator: Prof Jufang He (PolyU)

    The proposed research program combines human and animal studies to investigate "where" and how cross-modal learning takes place. The cross-modal learning involves transformation of auditory signals which embed spatial information captured from the environment to visuo-spatial information which is to be processed for navigation in space. The neuroplastic and behavioural changes across various learning occasions with the ultrasonic "Bat Ears" device (www.rs.polyu.edu.hk/batears) will be captured by means of functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI). Physiological study would reveal the learning process as to how the auditory inputs ("Bat Ears" signals) trigger the visual responses and how the hippocampal system involves in the process. The results would advance our understanding of how cross-modal learning occurs and the role of existing memory in such process. The knowledge acquired can serve as the theoretical model for facilitating the regain of function in subjects with impaired sensory functions after stroke and brain injuries.

    Quantum Order in Novel Materials: Superconductivity and Topological Order
    Project Coordinator: Tai-kai Ng (HKUST)

    Iron-based (pnictides) superconductors and topological insulators are the most important discoveries in hard condensed matter physics in recent years. The two classes of materials exhibit the common feature of exotic quantum behaviors (quantum order). Elucidating the principles that govern the properties of these materials and exploring their technological implication are the goals of the physics community. The complexity in tackling the many intervening issues in this area calls for a collaborative approach. With the help of a previous Collaborative Research Grant, a research team to tackle this problem is ready. The proposal consolidates the team to study holistically the novel quantum order behind these materials and to explore the nature of general topological order, a key ingredient in quantum information science. Several team members have entered this new field with influential results already produced. The goal of the team is to continue the high-quality research and become internationally recognized.

    Study of Microglia and Acute Myeloid Leukemia in Zebrafish
    Project Coordinator: Prof Zilong Wen (HKUST)

    The human body generates millions of blood cells. These blood cells, which consist of red blood cells and white blood cells, play pivotal roles in numerous physiological processes including the transportation of oxygen and nutrients to the tissues, removal of waste and pathogen, organ formation, and tissue regeneration. Dysregulation of their development and function has been found to cause many human diseases. This collaborative project will investigate the molecular networks governing the development and function of microglia, a brain-resident blood-derived cell, and the onset and progression of myeloid leukemia, a subtype of white blood cell leukemia. The knowledge gained from our research will not only improve our understanding of the molecular basis underlying the development of microglia and myeloid leukemia but also provide new targets for future therapeutic treatments for a variety of relevant human diseases.

    Green Slope Engineering for Hong Kong
    Project Coordinator: Prof Charles Wang-wai Ng (HKUST)

    There has been an increasing demand from the public for environmentally friendly designs and for upgrading of slopes in Hong Kong in recent years. With Hong Kong's rugged topography and frequent rainstorms, landslides have always been an alarming problem. The prime objectives of this project are to investigate and improve our fundamental understanding of root-soil-water interactions and to develop an innovative and environmentally friendly reliability-based preliminary design framework for an "integrated bioengineered live slope cover" for shallow soil slopes in Hong Kong. This live cover will be self-regenerative and sustainable (almost maintenance free). Five major research tasks will be carried out including field monitoring and root system characterization, centrifuge and numerical modeling of bioengineered slopes, development of an integrated quality assurance scheme and a preliminary reliability-based design methodology for bioengineered slopes. Findings from this project will provide new insights into the behavior of bioengineered slopes in Hong Kong and the newly developed innovative reliability-based preliminary design guidelines will provide the basis for future laboratory simulations and field trials.

    To Establish a Metabolic Study Center in Hong Kong: Focusing on the Liver-derived Hormones
    Project Coordinator: Prof Karen S L Lam (HKU)

    Diabetes is a common disease worldwide and its occurrence is rapidly increasing. To develop more effective therapeutic strategies for this disease, the National Institute of Health, USA, has established six national Mouse Metabolic Phenotyping Centers at outstanding academic institutions, to facilitate collaborative research on diabetes. However, although over 10% of the local adults suffer from diabetes, there is no such collaborative research centre in diabetes in Hong Kong or Mainland China. We therefore propose to establish a Regional Metabolic Study Center to support laboratory and clinic-based diabetes research in Hong Kong and Southern China. This Centre will provide standardized methodologies and facilities for metabolic characterization of animal models of diabetes and its related disorders, as well as advance methods for the prediction and diagnosis of these disorders in humans. Employing the expertise and facilities available at this centre, we also plan to identify new methods for the prevention and treatment of diabetes, through research on two hormones secreted predominantly from the liver.

    Molecular Pathology of Liver Cancer - a Multidisciplinary Study
    Project Coordinator: Prof Irene Oi-lin Ng (HKU)

    Liver cancer is a major malignancy worldwide and particularly prevalent in Asia including Hong Kong. Although the risk factors for this cancer are well known, how this cancer forms remain obscure. New strategic treatment modalities for this cancer are much awaited. Knowledge of the molecular and cellular targets underlying the development and progression of liver cancer can help design new treatment modalities for patients.

    Development of liver cancer is a multistep process. The two key objectives of our proposal are centered on this theme of multistep hepatocarcinogenesis. The first of the two key objectives is to uncover the genetic and molecular alterations in the hepatitis B virus-associated multistep hepatocarcinogenesis. The role of microRNA in relation to the multi-step hepatocarcinogenesis, cancer metastasis, and liver cancer stem cells will be delineated. Our second key objective is to define the critical events in the wider network of the major Rho/ROCK cell signaling pathway in this multi-step hepatocarcinogenesis, particularly in HCC progression and metastasis.

    Our proposed work aims to significantly advance our understanding of the development of liver cancer, which may help design new, effective therapies for liver cancer.

    Pluripotent Human Stem Cell Platform for Tissue Regeneration and Drug Screening for Cardiovascular Diseases
    Project Coordinator: Prof Hung-fat Tse (HKU)

    Although many conventional cardiovascular therapeutic regimens have been proven effective for end-stage heart disease, treatment remains suboptimal due to the limited capacity for cardiac regeneration after injury. Recent advances in the identification of induced pluripotent stem-cells (iPSC) and the biomedical sciences have enabled clinicians and researchers to pursue the revolutionary paradigm of "Regenerative Medicine". Regenerative Medicine involves use of the human body's own stem-cells and growth factors to repair or replace damaged organs or tissues. This project will aim to deliver its objectives in translational medicine by building on a platform encompassing disciplines from discoveries in basic stem-cell biology to preclinical translations and human trials. We propose to generate a human patient-specific iPSC platform established in our team that can serve several purposes: i) novel disease models, ii) drug/cardiotoxicity-screening and iii) a platform to study the basic biology and multipotency of specific cell types, including heart muscle derived from hESC/iPSC.

主頁 > 獲資助研究項目 > 撥款結果 > 其他資助計劃撥款結果 > 2009/2010 年度協作研究金公布結果 > 協作研究金:2009/2010年度獲資助之研究項目摘要

協作研究金:2009/2010年度獲資助之研究項目摘要

電子主導系統的自我認知故障預測
項目統籌者: Prof Michael Pecht (香港城市大學)

當前對大型複雜電子系統進行可靠性評估的方法普遍存在以下不足及存在基本上的問題:不能跟上日益更新的技術,缺乏考慮實際的複雜使用環境,以及無法分辨間歇性故障,而這些都是系統失效最常見的原因。鑒於系統普遍失效這一問題特別嚴重,本項目旨在研究一種全新的方法,通過感測器資料融合演算法,識別瞬態和虛警的方法,以及分析與故障相關的系統事件和模式變化,提前預測系統失效,為大型複雜電子系統提供一種有效的可靠性預測和系統健康管理方法。
我們將

  • 發展世界級PHM測試實驗室
  • 研究故障識別和預測技術,開發相應的軟體平臺
  • 通過模擬數據、實驗數據以及實際工程數據對方法和演算法進行驗證
  • 開展工程應用研究,重點研究採用PHM的商業效應,保養問題以及投資回報率

    TGF-β信號通路在終末期器官疾病的發病機制及治療的探討
    項目統籌者:藍輝耀教授 (香港中文大學)

    組織和器官硬化或纖維化是導致器官機能活動永久性喪失的一條常見共同的通路。這些疾病也稱為終末期器官疾病,是嚴重威脅生命的常見疾病。這些疾病包括慢性心血管疾病,肝臟硬化,慢性肺病和慢性腎臟病。然而,其致病性机制仍不明,並且治療依然無特效。因此,在這項研究中,我們打算建立一個聯合基礎和臨床研究平臺,研究新的組織和器官硬化發病機制,開發新穎,有效的抗纖維化療法。目標在開創和提高終末期器官疾病的預防和治療新水準。

    從人到動物學用電子蝙蝠耳替代視覺的神經機理
    項目統籌者:賀菊芳教授 (香港理工大學)

    該研究項目將以人和動物為研究對象探討交叉模態學習是在哪裡以及如何產生的。交叉模態學習把從外界環境中獲得的具有方位信息的聽覺信號轉化成具有空間導航作用的視覺空間信號。通過"蝙蝠耳" (www.rs.polyu.edu.hk/batears) 進行各種學習所產生的神經元可塑性和個體行為改變可以由功能性核磁共振成像 (fMRI) 技術捕獲。生理學研究將揭示通過"蝙蝠耳"獲得的聽覺信息誘發的視覺響應的學習過程是怎樣產生的,以及海馬系統是如何參與到這個過程中的。研究結果將提高我們對交叉模態學習如何產生的認識,增進我們對現存的記憶在這個過程中所起的作用的理解。這些研究所獲得信息可以作為研究由中風和腦損傷導致的感覺功能受損的快速恢復的一個理論模型。

    新型材料中的量子序:超導體和拓樸絕緣體
    項目統籌者:吳大琪教授 (香港科技大學)

    這是一個基礎科學探究課題。目標是近年在凝聚態物理學界的兩項重要發現:鐵基超導體和拓樸絕緣體。這兩種物質都表現出獨特的電子量子行為﹝量子序﹞,鐵基超導體的多電子能帶及自旋效應,令它顯露有異於一般超導體的特質。拓樸絕緣體有源於能帶非平凡拓樸結構的特殊表面電子態。要明白兩種物質獨特量子性質背後的科學原理和其可能導致的科技應用是物理研究的目標。目前我們對它們了解不多,材料本身的複雜性令我們需要一個大型而有組織的合作研究計劃去解決問題。幸運地源於年前一個合作研究計劃的資助,我們已組織了一個相當成熟的理論物理科研隊伍。研究計劃讓我們可以團結起來全面地去研究了解兩種物質背後的量子運作原理,進而更深一層地去了解﹝量子﹞拓樸序的內在意義。我們團隊的好幾位成員已經獨自在這些題目上開展研究,並已取得一些有影響力的成果。我們希望我們的合作計劃能帶來更進一步的發現,令我們成為在國際上有影響力的研究隊伍,進一步帶動香港的科研。

    斑馬魚小膠質細胞和急性髓系白血病的研究
    項目統籌者:溫子龍教授 (香港科技大學)

    人體產生幾百萬個血液細胞。這些血液細胞,包括紅細胞和白細胞在氧氣和營養物質到組織的輸送、廢物和病原的排除、器官的形成與再生等很多生理過程中起著非常重要的作用。已經發現人類這些血液細胞發育和功能的異常可以導致很多疾病的發生。本合作課題將探索調控一種起源於血液組織而定居於腦組織的小膠質細胞發育與功能的分子網絡和一種白血病亞型 - 粒細胞性白血病的發生和發展過程。該課題的研究成果不但可以加深我們對小膠質細胞發育的分子機制和粒細胞性白血病的了解,而且有望為相關人類疾病的治療提供新的靶點。

    香港斜坡生態工程
    項目統籌者:吳宏偉教授 (香港科技大學)

    近年來,香港民眾對於斜坡環保設計和斜坡改善的需求與日俱增。由於香港地形崎嶇、暴雨頻繁,滑坡問題一直令人擔憂。本項目的主要目的是研究和提高我們對於植物根莖-土-水之間相互作用的根本認知,並開發一套創新的、環保的、可靠的"綜合植物被覆蓋層"、初步設計方案將針對及先試用於香港淺層土坡。這種植物被覆蓋層可以自我再生。本項目將執行五個主要研究任務,包括:現場監測、根莖系統的特徵研究、植物被覆蓋邊坡的離心機及數值模擬、建立一個完整的質量保證體系和一套基於可靠度分析的植物被覆蓋邊坡的初步設計準則。本項目的成果將會提升對香港植物覆蓋層對斜坡穩定性的認識;新建的基於可靠度分析的初步設計準則也將為今後實驗室模擬及現場測試提供依據。

    創立香港代謝疾病研究中心:對肝源性激素的基礎及臨床研究
    項目統籌者:林小玲教授 (香港大學
    )

    糖尿病是當今世界最常見的代謝性疾病,其發病率正逐年增加,並成為老年化社會主要的致殘及致死的病因。為發展更有效的防治糖尿病的新方法,美國國立衛生研究院最近在北美頂尖大學中建立了六個小鼠代謝表型鑑定中心,用以促進糖尿病方面的合作研究。在香港,糖尿病的發病率目前大約有10%,其糖尿病患病人數很快就會超過100萬。為了應付糖尿病對當地健康及經濟帶來的嚴峻挑戰,本項目旨在建立一個跨學科的代謝疾病研究中心,以對香港及中國南部的糖尿病基礎及臨床研究提供技術平台,並促進科研成果的商業化。我們將利用這個平台對最近鑑定的兩種肝源性代謝激素的生理功能,分子作用機理及臨床意義進行系統研究。研究成果將為發展有效的糖尿病診療方法提供理論依據。

    肝癌分子病理的多學科研究
    項目統籌者:吳呂愛蓮博士 (香港大學)

    肝癌是最常見的腫瘤之一,亞洲與香港是其高發區。雖然肝癌的風險因素已為人所知,但其形成的分子機制仍未明。此外, 嶄新的肝癌治療療法是令人期待的,認識肝癌分子和細胞標靶能促進設計治療肝癌的新療法。

    肝癌的發生是一個多步驟漸進過程,我們兩個主要目標就是圍繞這一特點制定的。我們首要的目標是通過對不同分期的肝癌標本進行分析,掌握微核醣核酸 (microRNA) 在肝癌發生的過程,癌腫瘤轉移,及肝癌幹細胞的角色。

    我們的另一目標是了解細胞信號傳導的異常如何導致肝細胞癌變。我們擬將我們前期的研究, 作進一步、深入的分析一個重要的致癌細胞信號傳導通路 (Rho/ROCK) 在肝癌的作用,以及這條通路與其他重要基因的協調和干擾。

    本項目旨在有效地促進我們對肝癌發生過程的了解,及幫助制訂肝癌的全新有效的治療措施。


    人類萬能幹細胞之心臟再生及藥物測試平台
    項目統籌者:謝鴻發教授 (香港大學)

    雖然許多常規心血管疾病治療的方法已經證實對治療終末期心臟病有效,但是由於這些方法對損傷後心臟的再生能力作用有限,所以未能達到最理想的治療效果。近來隨著人工誘導的多功能幹細胞 (iPSC) 鑒定技術和生物醫學科學的發展,使臨床醫生和研究人員能夠進行革命性的"再生醫學"示範研究。再生醫學包括應用人類身體自己的幹細胞和生長因子修復或取代損壞的器官或組織。本項計劃將通過建立一個平台,致力於實現轉化醫學的目標,即包含從基礎的幹細胞生物學發現到臨床前期的轉化和人類試驗。我們提議在我們的研究隊伍中建立一個病者特異 iPSC 平台,以滿足以下幾個目標:i) 製備疾病模型,ii) 藥物/心臟毒性測試,iii) 成為研究基礎生物學和特定細胞類型 (人類胚胎幹細胞/人工誘導的多功能幹細胞衍生的心肌細胞) 多能性的平台。