Home > Funded Research > Funding Results > Funding Results of Other Schemes > Results of RGC Collaborative Research Fund 2008/2009 Released > RGC Collaborative Research Fund - Layman Summaries of Projects Funded in 2008/2009 Exercise

RGC Collaborative Research Fund - Layman Summaries of Projects Funded in 2008/2009 Exercise

Algal Toxins: Development of Analytical and Bioassay Detection Methods and Assessment of Environmental Transfer in Marine Food Webs
Project Coordinator: Prof Paul Kwan-sing Lam (CityU)

The two major seafood-toxin illnesses in Hong Kong and Mainland China are paralytic shellfish poisoning (PSP) and ciguatera fish poisoning (CFP).  These illnesses occur due to consumption of seafood containing toxins produced by dinoflagellates, a type of marine algae. The occurrence of both PSP and CFP has increased in recent years with increasing international trade in seafood.  In this project, we will develop and standardize rapid methods for measuring CFP toxins in seafood to complement already-existing methods for PSP in order to protect human health.  We will also conduct experiments to determine how PSP and CFP toxins are transferred in the marine food chain in order to make predictions about where these illnesses may occur.

Study and Engineering of Surface-dependent Properties and Core-shell Composite Structures of Nanomaterials
Project Coordinator: Prof Shuit-tong Lee (CityU)

The surfaces of materials are drastically different from their bulk. Due to large surface-to-bulk ratios, surface properties play a dominant role in determining the overall properties of nanomaterials. Understanding and control of surface structures are essential to tailoring nanostructures and their applications.  The project aims at studying, controlling, and manipulating the structure and properties of single nano-objects based on the concept that any nanomaterials are essentially a core-shell structure with properties largely determined by the shell. The outcome of the project may lead to various novel nanostructured devices for renewable energy, sensors for food safety, toxins and diseases, targeted drug releases.

Studies of Fundamental Properties of Nanosurfaces and Selected Applications
Project Coordinator: Prof Michel Andre Van Hove (CityU)

The performance of nanoscale devices is often dominated by their surface properties. For example, surfaces introduce undesired electronic states in electronic and optoelectronic devices constructed from semiconducting nanostructures. By contrast, surface activity should be enhanced in nanostructures used as antibacterial agents. To improve such performance, our aim is to provide quantitative atomic-scale information about nanoscale surfaces.  Our project will achieve this by introducing a new methodology: we will intentionally design and fabricate novel and highly-controlled nanoplatforms that allow for the first time detailed determination of surface structure and modeling of their relevant surface properties.

Environmental Screening, Computational and Biological Characterization of Endocrine Disruptors, in Respect to Receptor Binding, Embryo and Gonad Physiology
Project Coordinator: Dr Chris Kong-chu Wong (HKBU)

Environmental pollutant poses potential risks to human health.  Among different kinds of environmental pollutants, endocrine-disrupting pollutants have been the focus of recent studies.  They share high structural and chemical similarities with those of endogenous hormones, leading to the modification of hormonal feedback circuitry and “DNA methylation and chromatin patterning” in the developing gametes and embryos.  Their potential hazardous effects on human health are one of the global concerns that can affect the propagation of human being.  The present study evaluates the risk of contaminated-fish consumption during pregnancy as well as to identify the possible pathological outcomes that may occur in the offspring.  An understanding on the extent of the effect and the mechanism of action of the pollutants would help the society to devise remedial strategy.

Interface Engineering for Organic Transistors: Materials, Fabrication, Characterization, and Application
Project Coordinator: Prof Jian-bin Xu (CUHK)

Organic semiconductors are of considerable scientific and technological significance. A fundamental understanding of electrical, mechanical, and optical properties of organic thin films is vital in many applications, including organic light emitting devices (OLEDs), organic field effect transistors (OFETs), RFID transceivers, biosensors and hybrid solar cells.  This project is focused on the interface engineering of organic transistors that are the key components of large area, flexible, and low-cost organic electronics.  Understanding the interface properties of OFETs is essential to device design and will lead to high performance and efficiency.  The project involves the collaboration among experts in synthetic chemistry, materials science, physical characterization and measurements, and device physics and engineering, from four Hong Kong universities.  It, if successful, will provide an excellent example of the interdisciplinary research.

Centre for MicroRNA Study - Basic Research and Clinical Potentials in Cancer
Project Coordinator: Prof Nathalie Wong (CUHK)

MiRNA belongs to a family of small non-coding RNAs (~18-22nt) that regulates gene expression by either directing mRNA degradation or repressing post-transcriptional translation. It is now becoming apparent that specific miRNAs contribute to cellular transformation and tumorigenesis through influencing translation of multiple key cellular genes.  Though rare in the West, Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma (NPC) and Hepatocellular Carcinoma (HCC) are 2 cancers that prevail in Southeast Asia including Hong Kong.  Two viruses, Epstein-Barr virus and Hepatitis B virus, are major etiologic factors in the risk of NPC and HCC development, respectively.  We propose to undertake a comprehensive investigation on the changes of cellular and viral miRNA expressions in these two locally prevalent malignancies, which are also ideal cancer models for the study of viral-associated carcinogenesis.

Design and Realization of Structural Materials with High Strength and High Ductility
Project Coordinator: Prof Jian Lu (PolyU)

The research objective is to study the fundamental aspects of structural materials of high yield strength and yet high ductility.  We will address the four key problems emerged when integrating the nanostructured materials for structural applications:

(1) the poor ductility of nanostructured materials and the difficulty to produce such the material at a large scale;
(2) to develop advanced numerical simulation tools based on MD (Molecular Dynamics), PF (Phase Field) and EFGM (element-free Galerkin method) for the study of the combination of two highly conflicting key mechanical properties: Strength and Ductility;
(3) to develop advanced experimental methods including in-situ mechanical testing in TEM, the multiscale mechanical testing using nanoindentation-based bending and compression tests for investigating the fundamental fracture mechanisms;
(4) to develop joining technology for nanostructured materials using pulsed laser welding, and to optimize the welding conditions for conserving the nanostructures and the strength of the nanostructured materials.

Protein Trafficking: Mechanism and Diseases
Project Coordinator: Dr Jun Xia (HKUST)

Our bodies are made of billions of cells with elaborate membrane compartments.  Like in the logistics business, materials in our bodies need to be transported between different cell compartments.  The transportation of proteins between different cell compartments is called protein trafficking.  Protein trafficking is critical to cells and abnormal trafficking of proteins has been found to cause many human diseases.  This study will investigate the machineries that regulate protein trafficking, i.e., what controls the loading, transportation and unloading of cargos during protein trafficking.  We will also seek to understand how abnormal protein trafficking contributes to diseases such as diabetes and Parkinson’s disease.

Experimental and Theoretical Study of Carbon Nanotube Superconductivity and Nanostructured Graphene Characteristics
Project Coordinator: Prof Ping Sheng (HKUST)

Superconductivity is a state of matter in which electrical resistance is zero.  While superconductivity has been widely observed in many material systems, its existence in pure carbon, without the doping of other elements, has been an intriguing problem because many aspects of its superconducting behavior remain unknown.  This proposal is a follow-up study of our previous HKUST2/04C grant in which some preliminary results have confirmed the existence of the superconducting state in carbon nanotubes.  The significance of our research is that nanostructuring can convert a previously non-superconducting material into a superconductor, with potential implications for future nanotechnology.

Reactive Metal-Ligand Multiple Bonded Complexes.  From Biomimetic Reactions to Highly Efficient Chemical Synthesis
Project Coordinator: Prof Chi Ming Che (HKU)

Reactive metal-ligand multiple bonded complexes are a pillar of atom and group transfer reactions involved in both biological and chemical energy conversions.  In the last decade, atom and group transfer reactions have been successfully developed to practical organic catalysis.  However, the impact of reactive metal-ligand multiple bonded complexes and hence atom and group transfer catalysis in solving some of the fundamental problems of relevance to energy research and green chemistry has yet to be realized.  In this proposal, we aim to activate small molecules, and to selectively functionalize hydrocarbons under mild conditions for highly efficient chemical synthesis.  The outcomes would impact the existing technologies used in Fine Chemicals and Pharmaceutical Industries.

Liver Transplantation Research Centre: A Multidisciplinary Study for Liver Graft Injury
Project Coordinator: Prof CM Lo (HKU)

Liver transplantation is the best treatment for selected patients with end stage liver disease including liver cancer.  Because of the shortage of graft supply, liver grafts of marginal quality such as a fatty liver are frequently used.  In addition, living donor liver transplantation using a small-for-size partial liver graft has also been developed.  Such “marginal” liver grafts are more susceptible to injury after transplantation, resulting in initial poor graft function and subsequent liver cancer recurrence. We aim to perfect the outcome of liver transplantation by addressing the issue of graft injury through integrated clinical, basic and translational research.

Nano-Spintronics - Quantum Control of Electron Spins in Semiconductors
Project Coordinator: Prof Fuchun Zhang (HKU)

Spin based electronics or spintronics as a new generation of electronics is an emerging field with a great promise to advance the semiconductor industry. Spintronics aims to use electron’s spin, a tiny magnet or compass, to replace the role of electric charge in electronics. Metallic spintronics has already had a lot of applications. One of the recent focuses is the generation, manipulation and detection of spin-current, a counterpart of charge current, which may open a new route in the future spintronics. In this group project we will consolidate the existing research strength in both experiment and theory to form a versatile team in Hong Kong to focus on the generation and detection of the spin current.

主頁 > 獲資助研究項目 > 撥款結果 > 其他資助計劃撥款結果 > 2008/2009 年度協作研究金公布結果 > 協作研究金:2008/2009年度獲資助之研究項目摘要

協作研究金:2008/2009年度獲資助之研究項目摘要

藻毒素:分析和生物檢測法的研究進展以及在海洋食物網中環境遷移的評估
項目統籌者:林群聲教授 (香港城市大學)

麻痺性貝類中毒(PSP)及肌肉毒魚類中毒(CFP)是在中港兩地常見的海鮮食物中毒,是透過進食一些含有雙鞭毛藻產生毒素的海鮮所引起。關注近年不斷上升的海鮮食物中毒事件,加上越來越多的國際海鮮貿易 ; 為保人類的健康,我們將發展一套統一化的快速測量方法,並同時進行各種試驗,來確定此類藻毒素在海洋食物網中傳遞的途徑,以便預測這些可能發生的中毒。

表面控制的納米材料性能及核殼複合結構的研究與設計
項目統籌者:李述湯教授 (香港城市大學)

材料的表面和體內部差異甚大,因而掌握和控制材料的表面結構對於納米材料的設計及其應用尤其重要。基於納米材料的核殼模型,本課題將研究單個納米物件結構及性質的控制和操作,成果將應用於可再新能源、食物安全、毒素及疾病檢測、及靶向藥物釋放等新型納米器件的設計和開發。

納米表面基本性質及其重要應用的研究
項目統籌者:Prof Michel Andre Van Hove (香港城市大學)

納米器件的性能常常由其表面性質決定。本項目將提供納米表面原子水準的定量資訊。我們將引入一個新方法,即設計和製造一些新穎的高度可控的納米平臺,用之進行第一時間詳細確定表面結構,並類比它們的相關表面特性。

就受體結合,胚胎及生殖腺生理方面對內分泌干擾素進行環境檢查,計算機及生物學的描述
項目統籌者:黃港住博士 (香港浸會大學)

環境污染物對人體健康潛在著危害。在各種各樣的環境污染物中,內分泌干擾素已經成為近期科研的重點。內分泌干擾素在化學結構與性質上與體內激素的高度相似性,可導致體內激素反饋回路的改變以及配子與胚胎發育過程中的DNA甲基化及染色體模式的改變。其潛在的危害性能影響到人類的繁衍,因而受到全球的廣泛關注。本研究對懷孕期間從魚類產品攝入污染物可能造成的危害進行評估,同時對後代中可能出現的病理現象進行鑒定與識別。對污染物的作用機理以及其危害程度的深入理解,有助於社會建立生態環境的復原計劃。

有機晶體管的界面工程:材料,制備,表徵,與應用
項目統籌者:許建斌教授 (香港中文大學)

有機半導體具有重要的科學研究價值和應用前景。關於有機半導體薄膜的電學、力學及光學特性的研究對很多應用領域,如有機發光器件、有機場效應電晶體管、射頻電子標簽、生物傳感器及混合式太陽能電池至關重要。本項目主要集中於製作大面積、柔性、低成本有機電子學的關鍵構件 - 有機半導體晶體管, 開展界面工程研究與設計。深入理解有機電晶體的界面特性是器件設計的關鍵,從而能够實現高性能、高效率的器件。本項目將聯合香港四所大學的合成化學、材料科學、物理表徵及測試、器件物理與工程等領域的專家共同合作完成。該項目如果能够得以順利實施,將會成爲交叉學科領域合作研究的範例。

微核醣核酸 (MicroRNA) 研究中心 - 癌症的基礎及臨床應用研究
項目統籌者:王昭春教授 (香港中文大學)

MicroRNA屬於一個長度約為18-22nt的小型非編碼RNA家族,它們可以通過誘導mRNA的降解或者抑制轉錄後的翻譯活動來調控基因表達。越來越多的證據表明特定的MicroRNA可以影響多種關鍵性的細胞基因的翻譯活動從而促進細胞的惡性轉化以及參與腫瘤的形成過程。儘管鼻咽癌和肝細胞癌這兩種癌症在西方國家的發生率很低(比較罕見),它們在包括香港在內的東南亞地區卻非常普遍。兩種病毒包括艾伯斯坦-巴爾病毒和乙型肝炎病毒則分別是罹患鼻咽癌和肝細胞癌的主要的病原性因素。我們計劃對於細胞和病毒的MicroRNA在這兩種區域高發性腫瘤中表達水平的變化情況進行一項廣泛而深入的研究,這也會成為我們研究病毒相關的癌症發生的理想的腫瘤學模型。

高強度高韌性結構材料的設計與研究
項目統籌者:呂堅教授 (香港理工大學)

本計劃的目的是從事高强高韌結構材料的基礎研究,我們將研討納米材料在結構中應用所産生的四個關鍵問題:
(1) 納米材料的低韌性和大規模製造這些材料的困難;
(2) 發展將强度和韌性兩個矛盾的關鍵力學性能都提高的先進的分子動力學,相場和無網格數值計算工具;
(3) 發展用以研究包括在電子透射顯微鏡中進行的,用納米壓痕法進行壓和彎曲等材料基本斷裂機制的先進實驗力學方法;
(4) 發展納米材料的脉衝激光焊接幷優化焊接條件以保持納米組織結構和度。

蛋白質轉運:機制與功能
項目統籌者:夏軍博士 (香港科技大學)

我們的身體由成千上萬個細胞組成。這些細胞被精細的膜分隔成許多獨立的區域。類似物流運輸業,我們身體內的物質也需要在不同的細胞區域之間轉運。蛋白質在不同的細胞區域之間的運輸叫做蛋白質轉運。蛋白質轉運對於細胞很重要,異常的蛋白質轉運可以導致多種人類疾病。本項目旨在研究蛋白質轉運的調控機制,即是如何實現蛋白質轉運中貨物的裝載,運輸,及卸載。我們也將嘗試理解異常的蛋白質轉運如何導致糖尿病和帕金遜病。

納米炭管超導及石墨層性能的實驗及理論研究
項目統籌者:沈平教授 (香港科技大學)

超導態是固體材料無電阻的一種特殊電子狀態。雖然在許多材料體系中發現了超導態的存在,但未經摻雜的純碳體系中的超導態一直是個迷,因爲純碳材料被認爲是一種非超導材料。在前一項HKUST2/04C研究課題中,我們已經初步證實純納米碳管體系中超導現象的存在,但純碳結構中表現出的異常超導行爲仍然不是很清楚。本研究課題將在前一項課題研究的基礎上,進一步研究純碳結構中不尋常的超導行爲,闡明納米結構是怎樣將一種非超導材料轉變爲超導材料的。我們的研究成果,對納米技術的發展,將具有指標性的意義。

活性金屬-配體多重鍵配合物 - 從仿生反應至高效化學合成
項目統籌者:支志明教授 (香港大學)

活性金屬-配體多重鍵配合物是生物和化學能量轉換中原子及基團轉移反應的支柱之一。本研究旨在活化小分子及在溫和條件下選擇性功能化碳氫化合物,使其用于高效能化學合成。所獲成果將對精細化工和制藥工業現用技術產生影響力。

肝臟移植研究中心 - 移植肝損傷的綜合性研究
項目統籌者:盧寵茂教授 (香港大學)

肝臓移植是終末期肝病包括肝癌的最佳治療方法。由於供體的嚴重缺乏,邊緣品質的供肝包括脂肪肝會經常被採用。此外,利用小體積供肝的活體肝臓移植也已開展。這些邊緣性供肝在移植後發生損傷的機會大大增加,以致造成原發性肝功能受損和肝癌復發。我們的研究目的是通過結合臨床,基礎和轉化實驗的研究來闡明移植肝損傷的機理,從而完善肝臓移植的結果。

自旋電子學 - 半導體中的電子自旋的量子調控
項目統籌者:張富春教授 (香港大學)

自旋電子學旨在利用固體中電子自旋來替代電子器件中的電荷作用,實現新一代的電子器件。它的核心問題之一是自旋流(相對應電流)的產生,調控和探測。本專案將整合香港地區實驗和理論研究人員,探討在半導體中自旋流的產生及探測的有效方法,為進一步實現自旋電子器件打下基礎。