Home > About the RGC > Organisation

Organisation

The RGC operates through subject panels and committees responsible for considering applications for research grants and fellowship applications :

  1. Subject Panels
    There are two pools of panel members, one focuses on the evaluation of proposals in General Research Fund and other funding schemes for individual research and the other on Joint Research Schemes proposals. Five subject panels namely Biology & Medicine, Business Studies, Engineering, Humanities & Social Sciences and Physical Sciences are set up under each pool. A Mechanical, Civil & Materials Engineering and System Design Sub-Panel is formed under the Engineering Panel to handle the applications relating to this area whilst five sub-panels are also formed under the Humanities & Social Sciences Panel to handle the applications in the respective disciplines. These panels consist of local and non-local academics. In assessing applications for research grants on the basis of peer review, the panels work through a network of reviewers, comprising international experts in their fields both in Hong Kong and other regions.

  2. Collaborative Research Fund Committee gives advice to the RGC on the Collaborative Research Fund, including selection and monitoring of the approved projects.

  3. Hong Kong PhD Fellowship Scheme Steering Committee gives advice to the RGC on the Hong Kong PhD Fellowship Scheme, including selection and monitoring of the approved fellowships.

  4. Major Projects Steering Committee gives advice to the RGC on the Theme-based Research and the Areas of Excellence Scheme, including prioritizing proposals for funding and monitoring of approved projects.

  5. The Steering Committee on Competitive Research Funding for the Self-financing Degree Sector gives advice to the RGC on the three Competitive Research Funding Schemes for the Local Self-financing Degree Sector, including overseeing the implementation details of the Faculty Development Scheme, Institutional Development Scheme and Inter-Institutional Development Scheme, prioritizing proposals for funding and monitoring of approved projects. The Assessment Panel is responsible for evaluation and assessment of the three Competitive Research Funding Schemes for the Local Self-financing Degree Sector.

  6. There are three Disciplinary Committees (DC) namely the DC (Investigation), DC (Penalty) and the DC (Appeal). The DC (Investigation) gives advice to the RGC on the investigation procedures in handling alleged improprieties and make recommendations to the RGC on whether the alleged cases are substantiated or not; the DC (Penalty) gives advice to the RGC on principles and guidelines in determining the level of penalty and make recommendations to the RGC on the level of penalty to be imposed on substantiated cases; and the DC (Appeal) gives advice to the RGC on the procedures in handling appeal cases concerning research improprieties and make recommendations to the RGC on whether previous decisions on the appeal cases should be upheld, overturned or modified.

Current membership of the RGC and its panels / committees are as follows :

  http://www.ugc.edu.hk/doc/eng/rgc/about/membership/orgchart.pdf

架構

研資局轄下設有學科小組及委員會,負責審核研究資助及獎學金申請:

  1. 學科小組
    研究資助局設有兩組學科小組成員,其中一組負責評審優配研究金及其他個人研究資助計劃的建議書;另一組負責評審合作研究計劃的建議書。每組各有五個學科小組,即生物學及醫學商學工程學人文學及社會科學;以及自然科學。工程學小組下,設有機械、土木、物料工程及系統設計學科分組,審批有關範疇的申請;而人文學及社會科學小組下亦設五個分組,專責處理其所屬範疇的申請。學科小組的成員均為本地和非本地學者。小組在評審研究資助申請時,會採用學者評審機制,邀請本港及其他地區在相關學科領域的國際專家擔任評審員。

  2. 協作研究金委員會為研究資助局提供協作研究金的意見,包括甄選及監察獲資助項目。

  3. 香港博士研究生獎學金計劃督導委員會為研究資助局提供香港博士研究生獎學金計劃的意見,包括甄選及監察獲頒授的獎學金得主。
  4. 大型研究項目督導委員會為研究資助局提供主題研究計劃及卓越學科領域計劃的意見,包括區分建議書的優先次序及監察獲資助項目。
  5. 自資學位界別競逐研究資助督導委員會為研究資助局就三項供本地自資學位界別競逐的研究資助計劃提供意見,包括教員發展計劃院校發展計劃跨院校發展計劃。督導委員會將監察計劃的執行情況、區分建議書的優先次序及監察獲資助項目。評審委員會負責評審三項供本地自資學位界別競逐的研究資助計劃的建議書。
  6. 紀律委員會共設有三個委員會,即紀律委員會(調查)紀律委員會(罰則)紀律委員會(上訴)紀律委員會(調查)就處理涉及不當研究行為的調查程序向研資局提供意見,並就個案的指控是否成立向研資局作出建議﹔紀律委員會(罰則)就決定刑罰水平的原則和指引向研資局提供意見,並就指控成立的個案的刑罰水平向研資局作出建議﹔而紀律委員會(上訴)就不當研究行為的上訴個案的處理程序向研資局提供意見,並就上訴個案先前的裁決是否應予維持、推翻或修改向研資局作出建議。

以下是研資局現時的架構及學科小組/委員會名單:

  http://www.ugc.edu.hk/doc/big5/rgc/about/membership/orgchart.pdf